We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in a nice setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calamidoro Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Calamidoro Hotel to your Saves list
Calamidoro Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Tiglio 143, 56030 Calcinaia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcinaia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in a nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Rooms with lots of character but could be a bit cold in winter. Good breakfast with home made croissants to die for! Friendly staff speaking english which always helps when you are in italy. Ladies, avoid high heels as there is gravel all around the hotel, so you even cannot wheel your suitcase

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    69
    15
    14
    8
See reviews for
29
53
6
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My partner and i were in need of a rest and the Calamidoro was great. A real old building which oozes character and charm set in some lovely grounds. No its not in the country, no its not by the sea... but as a base to explore Tuscany, you are right in the middle. Very nice and attentive staff.. who did go the extra mile.. beware of the Breakfast Waiter though... WIERD GUY (Tall silver haired), WHO JUST MAKES YOU FEEL UNEASY!! Lovely private small pool, and their A la carte gives you 20% discount as a resident.Really great food too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is about 20 min drive from the airport. Yes it was in the middle of an industrial park (but you have fields of sunflowers out back and a mini driving range as well as beautiful gardens). I loved being close to shops as we had lovely places close by to go out and eat and the jazz bar over the road was really great. Excellent music and affordable cocktails and food. This is fine ONLY IF YOU HAVE A CAR TO GET AROUND like we did, as we drove into the Tuscan vineyards etc. Downside:

1)They do not keep brining out food at breakfast, so get up early or "no eggs, sorry - finito"
2)If you have a room close to the club in the complex its noisy

Upside:
1)Lovely rooms and hotel - very Tuscan
2)2 pools. One with a slide which the kids will enjoy
3)Local restauraunt - good food
4)Friendly staff

Room Tip: Away from the disco, close to the main reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Gated community, villa style accommodations, staff very accommodating and helpful, gave us wine and mutchies while we waited on our rooms to be readied. Good breakfast variety. Excellent experience at the their restaurant - great food, great service, beautiful decor...we went back several times. The pizzeria was a disappointment however. Only one wait staff for the whole room and we waited a very long time to be waited on and later, to be served. Wait staff did not speak good English and we had trouble understanding menu options. One family member ordered a Pizza Americana and got cut up wieners and french fries on it! That was different and not appreciated. Noisy atmosphere, kids running unsupervised through the restuarant, slamming glass doors by our table. The management seemed oblivious to our situation and never came over to check on us. Would not recommend. Worst restaurant experience in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We spent one night at the Calamidoro Hotel.
It is in the weirdest location ever! you are right in the middle of a run down industrial area with no view whatsoever and it does not look like Tuscany at all!
The Hotel is part of a larger development with a small shopping mall, a disco club and a petrol station.

Once you access the property you are welcomed by a horrible and smelly swamp. In their plans, it was meant to be some sort of artificial lake, but something went wrong and the water turned into mud! Hence mosquitos are everywhere.

The rooms are ill conceived to say the least. Poor lightin, waste of space, funny showers difficult to access and with no light at all.

Breakfast buffet is a huge disappointment, with limited choice and a very limited seating area.
The hotels does not have an inside restaurant, but one in the shopping mall behind the petrol station.

There is a pool, which looks nice, but everytime a car passes by you are covered with dust.

Stay away from it, it is a four star mess!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011 via mobile

Maybe, if I had stayed there on a private vacation, I'd have been happier with the hotel. It is in an old villa, very charming.
However, there were quitena lotnof things I did not like - it was impossible to switch off the air conditioning, there was music playing all the time in the corridors which you could hear in your rooms so it woke me up when I wanted to sleep, the location is right in an commercial area, and the service was not friendly at all.
We were there as a large group for a business meeting, and this was really not a conference venue.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

This was a lovely Hotel, picked at random, but we were very pleased with our choice. We had a private ground floor self contained 'apartment' with a mezzanine bedroom, not like a conventional hotel room on a dull corridor. Outside our front door there was a patio where we could sit in the sun. The room was cool, the bedroom had a window overlooking the pool. The pool was small but adequate - we loved to cool down in it after a hot day out and about. There were ample loungers around the pool along with ample towels. Bar would bring a tray of tea and biscuits to poolside if requested! We also loved the outside table tennis. Breakfast was varied and plentiful each day. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Calamidoro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamidoro Hotel

Address: Via del Tiglio 143, 56030 Calcinaia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Calcinaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcinaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calamidoro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Calamidoro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calamidoro Hotel Pisa
Calamidoro Hotel Calcinaia, Province Of Pisa, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calamidoro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.