We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine food at fine food prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermit of Redcoats

Hermit of Redcoats
Todds Green | Stevenage, Little Wymondley, Hitchin SG4 7JR, England
01438 747333
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Hermit of Redcoats has undergone a complete refurbishment to return it to its original rustic country style. We aim to provide a traditional pub atmosphere with great ales, wines and a hearty menu. We pride ourselves on serving quintessentially British food; locally sourced recipes from our country's culinary history made exceptionally well. Our team of chefs are passionate and talented so come and visit our gorgeous pub and gardens to sample a true taste of English country life. We hope to see you soon.
stevenage
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“fine food at fine food prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We dined here on a friday afternoon and it was very busy, the staff were efficient and friendly. The food was well cooked and presented. Two of our party had the prawns as a starter and found there was not much flavour, they were very bland. We were disapointed when we ordered a cheese board and found they had run out of cheese (tesco, Waitrose & Sainsbury were within 10 min). The main courses were well cooked and presented. The menu is quite limited, 1 type of steak 1 fish choice, perhaps other choices could be offered as specials.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    53
    16
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dog and family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We went here with 2 children and a dog and the staff we very friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious and even the dog got some treats.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pricey for Stevenage.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Attended here for Sundays lunch which was good if not exceptional, however, if you have children on a Sundays the selection is limited to say the least. The surrounding are very nice but very much the barbour set and felt who I believe the owner looked down on our party. Would I attend again, perhaps but other places are better and cheaper.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Very Nice Interior & Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We visited to Sunday lunch, our first visit here since the refurbishment and change of ownership and certainly not our last. Food was excellent (I especially recommend the soft shell crab first course which was delicious) and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. A real pleasure to find such a treasure so close to home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Family dinner one Friday evening in October.
A good meal, comfortable surroundings, good staff with intrusive piped music which they kindly turned down when we asked. We would go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermit of Redcoats also viewed

Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Hermit of Redcoats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermit of Redcoats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.