We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting a high standard.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermit of Redcoats

Hermit of Redcoats
Todds Green | Stevenage, Little Wymondley, Hitchin SG4 7JR, England
01438 747333
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Hermit of Redcoats has undergone a complete refurbishment to return it to its original rustic country style. We aim to provide a traditional pub atmosphere with great ales, wines and a hearty menu. We pride ourselves on serving quintessentially British food; locally sourced recipes from our country's culinary history made exceptionally well. Our team of chefs are passionate and talented so come and visit our gorgeous pub and gardens to sample a true taste of English country life. We hope to see you soon.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Setting a high standard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Hermit of Redcoats has been recently refurbished to a particularly high standard, being both warm and inviting.
Forget the review by the illiterate MUPPET who only gave 1 star perhaps he should stick to KFC.
Very good food and service to match. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    41
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The Pheonix rises from the flames”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Hermit of Redcoats is one of our closest decent Pub restaurants, and has for some years seen a sad decline to such an extent that we stopped going there. Then it closed and was refurbished and new management took over. It is an absolutely night / day experience.
The food was excellent, the staff friendly and service super, and a decent price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This place is going to make me bankrupt, great selection of ales and lagers, friendly staff and the changing menu with locally sourced ingredients forces me to keep going back. It is lovely to be able to take the dog in with you while your eating a meal and walk in with your muddy boots. Would highly recommend a visit for a drink and dinner, i would advise to book as it gets booked up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great service :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Really lovely food and great menu at reasonable prices :) The staff are all friendly and it has a brilliant atmosphere. One of my favourite restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“not what it should be ???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

when it opened ,food great,went back some thing not right.??? from stlye with flavour to muck on a plate.??? has the chef left .has owner changed ? food wow yuck service sad and faces looking glum,a cool feel when you walk in.never again a waste of a trip out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermit123, Owner at Hermit of Redcoats, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Good evening Spikler. It was a great shame to read your review today as we take great pride in our food, service and atmosphere. We take negative feedback very seriously so it would be very helpful if you could please expand on your review so that we can act on the feedback you have left. Could you possibly tell us when you came in, what dish you described as 'muck on a plate', and who served you. We would be very grateful, Many thanks, Phillip Tirrell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermit of Redcoats also viewed

Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Hermit of Redcoats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermit of Redcoats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.