We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermit of Redcoats

Hermit of Redcoats
Todds Green | Stevenage, Little Wymondley, Hitchin SG4 7JR, England
01438 747333
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Hermit of Redcoats has undergone a complete refurbishment to return it to its original rustic country style. We aim to provide a traditional pub atmosphere with great ales, wines and a hearty menu. We pride ourselves on serving quintessentially British food; locally sourced recipes from our country's culinary history made exceptionally well. Our team of chefs are passionate and talented so come and visit our gorgeous pub and gardens to sample a true taste of English country life. We hope to see you soon.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Much improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Has changed management, excellent new chef, totally worth giving a try. The food was faultless. Lovely flavours, beautifully presented. Enjoyed the whole evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    41
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lecthworth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Professional service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location, the service was very professional and friendly and rather than the blank is everything ok, you got the sense that they cared about the food and service offered. The food choice was good locally sourced products. Food presentation good and all full of flavour. The prices look a bit higher than other pubs but did feel it was appropriate for food quality and service standards

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin,UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch with friends, service was great and friendly . The environment and atmosphere was superb our food was was delious hot and very well presented. My only criticism would be make extra yorkshires for those wh have a roast but not the beef they are cheap as chips and every one loves a yorkie . Our starters were great and the deserts were divine just a shame no cheese board but assured it will be on the menu soon . Can't wait to go back and try the evening menu. We all enjoyed our experience .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went to my friend's 60th Birthday Party, and was very impressed by this pub. The food was excellent, lovely and hot, which is important to me, and service to match. The decor was simple and very pleasing, lots of outdoor seating too. I will definitely recommend this to my friends and family, and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We decided we would eat out for a change, we knew the hermit had been under a major refurb, so we thought we'd give it a try. We had previously been in the pub under the previous management, we wasn't impressed with the food or service back then.
How fantastic it was to see such a massive improvement, the manager was so friendly and accommodating, they where fully booked but he found us a table, the food was served promptly by a very pleasant waitress. The food was delightful, the nicest food we'd eaten in a pub for a long time. We are looking forward to trying their Sunday roast in the near future.

Nice to experience such good customer service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermit of Redcoats also viewed

Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Hermit of Redcoats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermit of Redcoats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.