We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hallingbury Manor - Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Tilekiln Green, Great Hallingbury CM22 7TJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Stansted, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hallingbury Manor - Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My (now) husband and I got married at this hotel in September this year and couldn't have asked for a better day which was due in no small part to this beautiful venue and the fantastic staff. We had a few hiccups to start with as our original wedding planner left shortly after we confirmed our booking, but Rose quickly took over and was a constant source of support, help and efficient planning! The day itself was perfect, and Rose and her team were amazing. Whilst I don't think I was quite "Bridezilla", as the date came closer I was focussed entirely on getting all the details right, and this extended to emailing Rose countless lists and instructions. On the day, these were followed to the letter and everything looked beautiful - even better than I imagined it would. The food was incredible - we have eaten at the hotel on a few occasions so knew it would be good, and we weren't disappointed. Each course was a hit - with us and with the guests, service was attentive and friendly and the wine was kept flowing. All the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly throughout the day and into the evening - even providing us with one of their black ties for the photos when one of our guests arrived (to our "black tie" wedding) in a bright pink one!

The rooms are lovely - the honeymoon suite in particular is gorgeous. Slight issue with the planes flying over so low - they do start early so a lie in really isn't on the cards but this is honestly the only fault I have to mention.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    80
    51
    28
    12
See reviews for
54
127
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Visited on business so after a very long day it was nice to actually get to our hotel and first impressions were excellent. Character and quality oozed from every facet of this building. We were allocated our Rooms quickly and professionally and by staff who were friendly and efficient. Our rooms were across the road in cottages. The road was a little scary as it was not well lit and cars were passing quite frequently. This hotel is very close to the airport so if planes offend you do not book. That said I can't say that the noise was offensive and you soon become used to it. Food was excellent and served quickly. The interior of the building is extremely clean and bright. Lasting memory would be that the general manager and his Team were exemplary in their attention to detail, constantly looking to provide for our every need, this is most welcome and not the norm. I would recommend this venue for any occasion and we will certainly be stopping again soon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed one night - it was hellish. Very close to Stanstead with planes landing about every minute (fine if you want close access to the airport). I had asked for a quiet room on booking but we were allocated a room directly opposite an access door which banged throughout the night as people accessed the area leading to their rooms. Mattress needed replacement as suffered from 'roll to middle'. Boiler had failed and morning showers were with completely cold water. Duty Manager listened to our complaint and suggestion that they use a 'soft close' on the noisy door, reduced our bill and was helpful with maps - we were told Manager would phone to discuss but he didn't. Breakfast was good with excellent porridge and full English. However, we would not recommend or visit again.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, General Manager at Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review which you wrote on trip advisor. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience which was caused during your stay at The Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel. This is most certainly not the high standard of service that we wish to be remembered for.

I am sorry that you were not allocated a quiet room as requested and that you had a disturbed night’s sleep due to the planes and the banging doors. Your feedback has been shared with our maintenance team who are looking at the door closes of all our doors in the hotel to try and improve the sound proofing. Our Housekeeping department continually look at the standard of the mattresses in the bedrooms and I am sorry that the mattress in this room was missed by them. In regards to the lack of hot water in the morning, this was due to a technical problem with one of our boilers which failed in the morning and took a couple of hours to reheat again. I was very pleased that our Duty Manager did listen to your concerns about your stay and did his best by offering you a good will gesture on your bill and assisted you where ever he could. Our duty manager felt that your complaint was dealt with in the most professional way and I am sorry if you were waiting for me to get back to you. Again, I was pleased to read that you did enjoy your breakfast in the morning.

I would like to thank you for your feedback as it is only by receiving feedback both positive and negative that we can hope and strive to improve the service and quality that we offer our guests.

Should you wish to discuss your review in more detail, please kindly contact me at the hotel on 01279506475. Once again please accept our apologies for not delivering on this occasion and I do hope to speak with you soon.

Many thanks

Kind Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we had our wedding in sept 2012 and the venue was just what we wanted, lovely grounds and lovely inside too. we had a lovely sunny day so made the most of it by having pics in lots of different places, the staff did everything they could to make the day itself run smoothly and helped us lots in the run up to the day. the bridal suite is beautiful , as are all the other guest rooms (we block booked), all in all, you wont regret choosing GHM for your venue, thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a fantastic wedding at GHM (ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening reception). From start to finish (planning to execution) the staff (particularly Rose and Jill) were helpful, experienced, professional, efficient, responsive, accommodating and a real pleasure to deal with. The entire day ran smoothly and Jill was on hand to support us, co-ordinate and supervise every step of the way. Ash, the resident DJ, was superb. The Bridal Suite is fantastic (large, modern and comfortable). Thanks GHM.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had our wedding at Great Hallingbury on 13th October. The venue itself was absolutely stunning and the staff were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for them; they went out of their way to make things easier for my Dad (who is severely disabled) and they were extremely friendly and helpful to all our guests.

The food for the reception was spot on - everybody loved the buffet and the hog roast went down a treat. The inclusive breakfast is well worth it - service is fantastic and the choice is just right.

The rooms themselves were brilliant - the Bridal Suite was simply breathtaking. We hope to return on our anniversary to that very suite to enjoy the glorious setting without the hectic backdrop of a wedding going on!

Highly recommended - a real gem of a hotel in an unlikely location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We got married here early September and everything was perfect. We had our ceremony in the Oak room and our wedding breakfast in the Riverside restaurant. Both rooms are lovely. All of the staff worked really hard on the day to make sure everything ran smoothly and they did such a fantastic job of setting everything up for us. The manager also introduced himself on the Sunday morning after our wedding to check that everything was ok, this was very nice. All of our guests said on the day that the venue was beautiful and the food was delicious, our guests are still commenting on how nice the whole day/venue was.
The Bridal Suite which we stayed in was absolutely stunning!!!

We would love to go back for our anniversary!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you're going to moan about plane noise then book somewhere that is not near an airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel

Address: Tilekiln Green, Great Hallingbury CM22 7TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Hallingbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Great Hallingbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Great Hallingbury Manor
Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.