We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Nice Parkland Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norton Park - A QHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Norton Park - A QHotel to your Saves list
Norton Park - A QHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sutton Scotney | Hampshire, Sutton Scotney SO21 3ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Nice Parkland Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at Norton Park overnight for a conference the following day. The hotel is at the end of a long drive in a rural parkland setting away from roads and noise. Be prepared for a long walk to your room depending on which room block you end up in - but this is a fairly minor point. the rooms themselves are modern and spacious with a nice bathroom. The hotel has a pool and leisure facilities.

Breakfast was good, and also the lunch that was served during the conference.

Would recommend this hotel, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 260+ range are almost a 5 minute walk from reception - so just depends if this is an ss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the tranquility that the hotel has to offer.

Hopefully we will see you here for a leisure break in the warmer months when you can make the most of the land that surrounds the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    514
    240
    90
    58
See reviews for
182
607
27
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had a weekend deal here in mid-February. I must admit that
I have never seen such a positive reaction to the room &
setting from my wife, ever. It was in the Manor House, the real
deal. Oak panelling & history you could cut with a knife.
Much of the rest of the complex was ultra-modern & set
in 54 acres of wonderful grounds with views over the lakes &
woods. The included evening meal was good & both breakfasts
excellent. The staff seemed especially happy & helpful. The
Spa, Pool & Gym were to a high standard & the location was
handy for visiting the towns of rural North Hampshire.
What-What-don'tcahknow?

Room Tip: Get a room in The Manor if possible... I don't believe that they cost more... BUT they & th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Norton Park.

The 16th Century Manor House is a gem for the hotel. Very suitable for a special treat for couples and families. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future when you can make the most of the grounds we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Just spent three nights here that felt like much longer but for all the right reasons! This hotel is an ideal base to explore so many places, from the Hampshire downs to the coastal cities and the New Forest. It's in a tranquil position, even though close to the A34, the M3, the A303 and the London-Southampton main line. We visited Portsmouth and Winchester this time, including the Spinnaker Tower on a clear, sunny day, for an unrivalled view of the Solent. The staff at this hotel are always willing to go the extra mile, especially at reception and the only reason for the four stars was the somewhat slow service at dinner time; that said, the food was fabulous. We were also on a spa break and both thoroughly enjoyed our treatments and would willingly do the same package again - it represents good value for money. We'll be back soon, I'm sure!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments following your stay at Norton Park.

All staff at the hotel pride themselves on the service they provide and if the service is good then our guests are happy, as your comments show. As you mentioned the hotel in very secluded but at the same time has quick and easy access to all the local major roads.

We hope to be able welcome you back to Norton Park in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Only stayed one night but the staff were so friendly and the customer service excellent.

The meal we had in the restaurant was of a high standard and the waiter was very attentive. The room was a good size, my only disappoint was the bed which was rather soft and the pillows felt cheap.

Winchester nearby for shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for you feed back following your recent stay at Norton Park.

Our staff take pride in the work they do at the hotel and I think that shows through their customer relations.

I am very pleased to hear you had a nice stay and would hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have come for a spa break, one night stay. Arrived to a fabulous buffet lunch and then off to the spa for our treatments. I had a Fit For Business back ritual by Becky and it was the best massage I've ever had - and I've had a few! Spa facilities perfect, steam room and sauna hot stuff! Relaxation room after your treatment is the perfect touch. If I could add one thing it would be a jacuzzi. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Dinner was delicious as was the buffet breakfast. Back into the spa today to make the most of our time. Having a little snooze poolside...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Norton Park.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your massage and I will be sure to pass on the comments to Becky. We do not have a jacuzzi as we are making way for more loungers to be in place to ensure all guests can lounge about the pool as they wish. I hope the steam room and sauna go a little way for making up for this.

We hope to welcome you back to Norton Park in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Business stay but would definitely visit for leisure too
Staff were very friendly helpful and kind - fantastic poached egg for breakfast, now why can't I do that at home? Actually breakfast felt very healthy and a wonderful selection
Very good location and lovely grounds though chilly this time of year
Bed very comfortable, would have liked a bath but can say the shower was very good so cannot knock bedroom facilities
Wifi worked and was fast! Hooray
Only slight downside was could hear neighbours tele :o(
Swam early morning and evening - lovely and super steam room and sauna
All facilities were clean and well presented -loved the duvet and sheets -crisp and clean

Room Tip: Did not get to see other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Norton Park.

We are lucky that the hotel and it's grounds are beautiful all year round and attractive to both business and leisure guests. On a beautiful summers/winters day it is a lovely place to walk both within the grounds and the local area.

We try to accommodate all requirements when it comes to the food we serve and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your restaurant experience.

We hope to welcome you back for a leisure stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

For christmas i recieved a gift for a day at the spa with a friend. We chose a date as a reward/incentive and i telephoned to make the arrangements, they advised us on the phone we didn't need to book in to use the spa but we made a booking for the treatments. Upon arrival i was greeted by a busy reception, they seemed a little put out we hadn't booked to use the spa(?) but it didn't appear to be a problem. A group arrived just after us and as we were filling out our questionnaires the slippers, robes and towels came out, but not for us, i had to ask for a towel. The idea was to feel a little pampered for the day and this wasn't the best start. The actual facilities were good, the favourite of mine was the steam room, with little lights and a quiet atmosphere. The pool was great until a little kid thew up in it (which of course is not the hotels fault). This is what i think the hotel must struggle with, offering staying guest the use of the pool and providing a spa like environment, as kids running around and trying to get into the sauna etc isn't particularly relaxing. The treatmeant rooms and the massage was lovely and you can see that the money was spent here. The voucher included a drink and a pastry which was not offered. I think perhaps my expectations were high. The experience was enjoyable and i wouldn't not go again i just perhaps would know what to expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your visit to Norton Park. The date you visited was particularly busy due to the bad weather outside meant that hotel guests also stayed in the hotel.

Every day of the week we give children's swim time so I am sorry if this disturbed your visit. I am sure we sorted out the pool mishap as soon as possible. I am sorry that you didn't get your pastry and coffee. This is available from the bar area but the spa reception would have been happy to place your order on your behalf.

We hope to welcome you back to Norton Park later this year when you can enjoy the quiet surroundings that the hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norton Park - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Park - A QHotel

Address: Sutton Scotney | Hampshire, Sutton Scotney SO21 3ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Sutton Scotney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton Park - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outskirts of Winchester, Norton Park is a sumptuous four star hotel blending beautiful contemporary chic with historical elegance all set within 54 acres of peaceful grounds. No matter what your reason for visiting, on business, a family trip or a spa break, the hotel has all the facilities to surpass your expectations. For those visiting on business, be it for a board meeting, a residential conference, training seminar or annual dinner the state-of-the-art facilities are exceptional. Norton Park offers 16 conference and meeting rooms for up to 340 delegates within the main hotel, the Manor House and for something a little different the 17th century Tythe Barn. On the doorstep to all that Hampshire has to offer including historic Winchester with its magnificent cathedral and the coastal cities of Southampton and Portsmouth, Norton Park is an ideal base for a leisure break with family and friends. The hotel has 166 modern bedrooms, a large leisure complex and spa, a great restaurant and beautiful landscaped gardens to stroll around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Norton Park - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton Park - a q Hotel Sutton Scotney
Norton Park a Qhotel Winchester
Norton Park - A QHotel Sutton Scotney, Hampshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton Park - A QHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.