We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norton Park - A QHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Norton Park - A QHotel to your Saves list
Norton Park - A QHotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr Winchester | Hampshire, Sutton Scotney SO21 3ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Norton Park a number of times now (12 nights from the top of my head) and have generally had a very good experience. The rooms are of a high standard with good toiletries and all the comforts you would expect. The gym is small but functional and the pool area is good. The food in the restaurant is very good but the food served in the bar for whatever reason has always been a bit basic (granted it is a bar menu but the quality seems to be lacking). Obviously I have stayed a few times so would be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is nice to see a post on here from a regular guest.

The staff have pride working for this hotel and I feel that is reflected in the service and quality provided. Your comment about the bar meals I will take to the Chef to ensure the bar meals are of the same standard as the restaurant meals.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    465
    222
    85
    54
See reviews for
170
564
27
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tel aviv
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A very relaxing weekend . The room was very large and the bathroom was modern and in a relaxing colour. The pol area was very nice and clean and relaxing .
We had a wonderful meal in the evening which was included in the price of the weekend the meal was a la carte the service was 5 star I couldn't fault it the staff was so helpful and the food was excellent . I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world but this restaurant was far better than most of the restaurants I have eaten in .
The check in and check out was quick and efficient a very nice weekend was had by all our only complaint was that our room was in the third building and we had to walk outside twice and. It was very cold and we were a long way from the reception

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building if its winter or someone is disabled This isn't such a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and you enjoyed the facilities and food whilst you were here.

Unfortunately we were unable to have the hotel totally concealed nor built on several levels due to planning regulations. Therefore the hotel was build to the best of the guidelines that were in place.

We hope to welcome you back in the summer months when you can make the most of the grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Q hotels are offer good value for money for a relaxing weekend. All the rooms are the same and the spa treatment and food is excellent except the breakfast was a bit disorganised and had to wait for the hot foods to come out. Our room was too far away from the reception and I did ask for adjoining rooms and also for a special room as my mother is registered disabled which I didn't get.

Room Tip: Ask for near reception or main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Norton Park.

I am sorry to hear that you were unable to get an adjoining room. I can only assume this is because there were none available as we try to accommodate all guests requests as often as possible.

I hope to welcome you back to Norton Park in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights for a conference on a VERY snowy weekend. We were under the impression it was in Winchester however it is ten miles away, up a very long drive in the middle of a 54 acre estate. I am sure it is very nice when the sun shines however you feel very cut off in the winter weather.
The room was very good but in order to get to it we had to take two lifts and negotiate two partly covered outside walkways. The snow had drifted across the wooden floors which made them slippy....in evening dress and high heels they were very cold and difficult to walk across. You need to take everything with you when you leave your room as its quite a hike to get back there. Suggest that you book a room near reception if you are staying there.
The breakfast was good, unfortunately we could not say the same about the dinner on each evening. The bar prices are very expensive ( they have captive customers as there is nowhere within walking distance to get a drink) as is a sandwich.
The staff are helpful but the building is their worst enemy, you need a sat nav to find your way around!

Room Tip: As I mentioned before get a room near reception, if you have one in the old manor house there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are correct that the weather was extremely winter like when you were with us but the hotel is ready to cope with these extreme conditions and the driveway was cleared by 1000 when most people were leaving from the previous night. At the time we had 175 rooms checking out and your conference taking the hotel over for the weekend.

The hotel is not ideally laid out for this weather but nearly all visitors still enjoy their stay. The organizer of your event has scored the hotel 10 out of 10 in his meeting and food satisfaction survey and his holding space again at the same time next year to repeat the event as it was such a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was my first visit here and I had always stayed elsewhere when in this area. Not any more: Norton Park is where I will return to. Others have complained about the distance to the rooms and the unheated sections between buildings. I found it just as quick to move around the horizontal design of this hotel as I have done in the vertical design of other hotels with all the waiting and time wasted in lifts.
The service at Norton Park was very good from reception desk to restaurant and bar. The room was quite spacious, and very clean. the bed comfortable and the shower was good. I didn't use the gym or pool, but they looked OK. Dinner and breakfast were fine. The starter of chicken ceasar salad was mediocre but the main course of Beef Wellington was good. Breakfast was OK too in a spacious setting and was relaxed.
My only gripe was the cost of the booze. The pint of beer I had was £4.50 and I noted that the cheapest bottle of wine was just over £23. The wine we had at dinner was overpriced. But then, having alcohol is discretionary. All in all, a comfortable overnight stay and we left relaxed and happy. I will return.

Room Tip: some rooms have only a bath and others a shower. State what you want when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Many thanks for your comments in Trip Advisor. We appreciate our guests taking the time to complete to ensure we keep our standards as expected.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is nice to hear that you felt walking around the hotel was not that time consuming compared to waiting at lifts in other hotels.

The drinks we offer a priced in line with the other hotels within the QHotel chain so unfortunately we are unable to change them.

I hope that you may return in the future when you can make the most of the spa and leisure facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Some 8 miles out of Winchester and a £22 taxi ride out into the country and down a long, long lane to the hotel ( nearest pub at least 20 mins away). Its business is Conferences, which it handles quite well , with a large conference room and plenty of break out space.
There was a buffer lunch with both hot and cold items, ( a haddock tartlet with sweet pastry ...no, no!). Conference dinner was reasonable food, well served and presented.
Rooms were very good, but the blocks are joined by open air covered corridors, making a warm then cold convoluted trip to the room , that snaked around the spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to add your comments on Trip Advisor.

The hotel is situated just minutes from major roads and Winchester is the nearest town, 15 minutes away. We find that a lot of visitors enjoy the hotel as it is secluded enough but still easily accessible to main roads if they wish to leave the property to visit local attractions. The local local pub in 5 minutes in the car in the village of Sutton Scotney, where we are located.

Unfortunately due to planning regulations we were unable to completely conceal the walk ways from one building to the other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Visited as part of a 2 day business conference of around 150 people.

The staff were very friendly and the whole conference was very efficiently run. Tea/coffee, cakes and pastries were provided throughout the day.

We also ate a buffet lunch on arrival - excellent quality and a good selection. Dinner was not great, but better than a lot of mass catering I have experienced. Breakfast was also very good.

The rooms were very nicely decorated and spacious. However, most of the rooms were a good 5 - 10 minute walk from reception in 3 separate buildings connected by covered walkways.

This hotel was excellent for our business conference, however I would hate to be staying in the hotel as a leisure/romantic trip if 150 of us rocked up!

Room Tip: The nearer the reception you can get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom186284, General Manager at Norton Park - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent conference stay.

The main area of the hotel is suited to conference facilities and therefore most of the conference guests are in this area during the day. This allows for leisure guests to make the most of the quieter areas within the hotel. On your particular visit we were busy but managed to accommodate all guests both business and leisure with no issues. This was down to very good planning and staffing.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and perhaps we can welcome you back for a leisure visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norton Park - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton Park - A QHotel

Address: Nr Winchester | Hampshire, Sutton Scotney SO21 3ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Sutton Scotney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Scotney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton Park - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outskirts of Winchester, Norton Park is a sumptuous four star hotel blending beautiful contemporary chic with historical elegance all set within 54 acres of peaceful grounds. No matter what your reason for visiting, on business, a family trip or a spa break, the hotel has all the facilities to surpass your expectations. For those visiting on business, be it for a board meeting, a residential conference, training seminar or annual dinner the state-of-the-art facilities are exceptional. Norton Park offers 16 conference and meeting rooms for up to 340 delegates within the main hotel, the Manor House and for something a little different the 17th century Tythe Barn. On the doorstep to all that Hampshire has to offer including historic Winchester with its magnificent cathedral and the coastal cities of Southampton and Portsmouth, Norton Park is an ideal base for a leisure break with family and friends. The hotel has 166 modern bedrooms, a large leisure complex and spa, a great restaurant and beautiful landscaped gardens to stroll around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Norton Park - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton Park - a q Hotel Sutton Scotney
Norton Park a Qhotel Winchester
Norton Park - A QHotel Sutton Scotney, Hampshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norton Park - A QHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.