We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Bites for a Quick Pub Lunch !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach & Horses

The Coach & Horses
Oxford Rd,, Sutton Scotney SO21 3JH, England
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quick Bites for a Quick Pub Lunch !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just popped into here for a lunch snack and was tempted by the 'Light Bites' Lunch advert. A nice Pint of trad Hampshire Ale and a lunch time snack portion of Gammon, Egg, Pineapple & Chips was swiftly delivered. I think it was just right for an easy swift lunchtime snack. Great prompt service , will be back again !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    14
    21
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What I calls a Pub is this my lover...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stopped in on Friday afternoon of our weekend away. Beer good.
Booked for Saturday Eve. meal. Lots of atmosphere... there was
a family 'Do' at one end. The menu was on the huge blackboard,
a proper 'no messin' affair which somehow made it hard to choose.
Plumped for the Battered Cod'n'chips whilst the Memsahb had Scampi.
Delicious & lots of it... we were actually surprised to be served so
quickly. The place was full & most were eating. Shame I had to drive
as I would happily have stayed 'til closing. Any visitors to our shores
looking for the 'Pub' experience... it can be found here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Clean toilets to start with! Very powerful hand drier but only cold water provided.

You order everything from the bar and pay by cash or card. Min for card is 5£ however.

I had a ribeye steak (13.95£) which was cooked to perfection. Excellent meat provided with generous selection of sauces: mayo, ketchup, french mustard, english mustard, brown sauce all provided for free.

Fries were excellent. Couldn't tell if they were home made or not. I would say cooked from frozen but good anyway.

Rustic place with honest pub food. Wouldn't go there in a gastronomic trip but otherwise, if you are driving by, it's a good option. They also offer a few rooms to spend the night if needed.

As for the service at the bar, it seems they are enforcing a zero smile policy.

Large parking lot and nice fireplace also. Quiet atmosphere. No background music (well, they started the music at 8:00pm and stopped it at 8:04. The music was loud and we couldn't hear each other when it played. We felt that it was the time to go anyway).

Bottom line, good place but not memorable.

PS: Post code SO21 3JH in the Tomtom will get you there very accurately.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A locals pub !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

On the positive side the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was freshly cooked with very decent portions ! It's not a trendy "gastro pub" but more of a locals pub with a darts board. Not a pub to take the wife out for a special occasion meal. It was let down by the decoration. Both inside and out look very tired and I am sure this would put people off from going in. With a coat of paint and a bit of TLC this could be a very good pub !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Honest Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited the Coach & Horses recently and although initially we weren't keen we ended up spending the evening there and had dinner. The menu is 'pub grub' but the portions looked good. We had fish and chips which was lovely. There is a log fire and plenty of good seating. It doesn't strike me that this pub would ever get particularly lively. We were there on a Saturday night and there was only 6 or 7 people in there. It was nice and if I am to find myself in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to pop in for a pint and some food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coach & Horses also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
 
Barton Stacey, Hampshire
 

Been to The Coach & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach & Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.