We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired, understaffed hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Birch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Birch Hotel to your Saves list
Birch Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heywood
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very tired, understaffed hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days and found it to be a budget level accomodation. Had no heat for 3 of the four days, carpeting was old and soiled, draperies were not hung properly and were difficult to close completely. Staff were friendly but filled several roles (tending bar as well as front desk and taking dinner orders). Some renovation taking place which caused clutter in the halls. Maintenance person was loudly arguing with waitstaff in the dining room making an unpleasant atmoshere for guests. It appeared to be a place for business travelers (workmen) who are on a tight budget. One positive was the quality of meals---- the included breakfast as well as the dinners. Nice selection, well-prepared and nicely served. Price quoted was for a king room but the bed was barely a queen.
I would not recommend this hotel or stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    21
    20
    13
See reviews for
17
36
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Appalling. Smelt. Booked a double room for 1 night, shower didn't work so offered a derelict room in another part of the hotel. Staff were apologetic but management not interested and side stepped the complaint - but still took the full cost for the room. Rooms were grubby and very, very tired - don't trust the photographs at all! Breakfast was OK. Fire door had a 3-4cm gap below it and wouldn't stop a thing, so be concerned for safety as well.

Room Tip: Steer clear - don't trust the photo's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heywood hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After two previous nights of awful sleep at Travel Lodge on my journey up North I stayed at the Birch on 7th and 8th September - I requested a quiet room and explained the reasons why - they gave me a lovely room - clean , smart - and quiet ! even thought there was a wedding reception going on in the hotel you would not have known it. Finally got a good nights sleep. Breakfast was great - not very often can you order poached eggs and they come properly done ! Thank you the staff at the Birch I will be using your services again !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rtskine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Food was amazing,I was working in the area for the week. We were so impressed with the varied choice on the menu and the quality , we asked to meet the chef Amil,he was so enthusiastic about his craft.We will definitely visit the Birch again!!!.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Never been to stayed at this hotel before we decided to have our reception here on the 11th of August this year could not of asked for a better day! Our wedding co-ordinater Heidi was fantastic the reception room was exactly how we wanted it so much time and effort was put in and not to mention the food was amazing every single guest commented on how delicious it was we had the fillet steak and chicken in white wine sauce with vegatable soup to start and the dessert was also to die for.The buffet at the evening reception was delicious looked and tasted so nice and the chef certainly knows his curries.We had a wedding reception sit down meal with 95 people and everyone had there meals served at the same time was so organised.
The DJ was also brilliant.
We stayed in room 22 on our wedding night it was spacious light and airy bed was comfortable and en suite was nice i cannot comment on the breakfast as we didnt have it.
overall a really great place well run and organised the day went without so much as a hiccup absolutely fab!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very helpful young lady when we checked in and room clean and spacious. BUT, shower luke warm at best, towels small, no milk for tea and coffee in the room.
The worst was yet to come though - We were told that breakfast was from 8.30 until 10 but when we arrived in dining room at 9.40 it was clear that the staff were annoyed that we had arrived 'so late'! We were made to feel very unwelcome by all the staff we encountered. Cooked breakfast was virtually thrown in front of us and noone came to offer us top ups for drinks or any toast, although this was apparently included! In fact they were clearing away around us, including shifting tables about!
A real shame because this could be a really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Looked nothing much like the photos on here & smelt of stale smoke ... That's why they have plug in air freshness everywhere. At 50 quid was cheap but not for what you got ...!! Sheets were clean, towels were small and rooms in need of new decor. The one I was in certainly did.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heywood
2.1 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale
Premier Inn Rochdale
#1 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Hotel

Address: Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Heywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two turns from J19 on M62, ideal place to stay over if you visiting Manchester or Greater Manchester destinations. Relax in our cozy lounge. If you fancy a swim or work out we have an arrangement with The Heywood Village Centre which guests can use for free.Free Wifi & Free Car Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Hotel Manchester
Birch Hotel Heywood, Greater Manchester, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.