We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely felt unwanted in the morning!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Birch Hotel

Save Saved
You added Birch Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birch Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heywood
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely felt unwanted in the morning!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very helpful young lady when we checked in and room clean and spacious. BUT, shower luke warm at best, towels small, no milk for tea and coffee in the room.
The worst was yet to come though - We were told that breakfast was from 8.30 until 10 but when we arrived in dining room at 9.40 it was clear that the staff were annoyed that we had arrived 'so late'! We were made to feel very unwelcome by all the staff we encountered. Cooked breakfast was virtually thrown in front of us and noone came to offer us top ups for drinks or any toast, although this was apparently included! In fact they were clearing away around us, including shifting tables about!
A real shame because this could be a really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    14
    11
    9
See reviews for
13
22
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Looked nothing much like the photos on here & smelt of stale smoke ... That's why they have plug in air freshness everywhere. At 50 quid was cheap but not for what you got ...!! Sheets were clean, towels were small and rooms in need of new decor. The one I was in certainly did.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heywood hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed over after a party in the function room at the same hotel. Welcomed by a very helpful young lady at reception who changed our room to a twin with no extra charge, as I was staying with a friend and had booked a double online as it was cheaper.
The corridors looked a bit tired but the room was fantastic. Very clean and modern looking. The staff working in the bar were also very friendly. They happily swapped my wine as I wasnt keen on the taste.
The hotel is on a main road but you can not hear the traffic from the room. Very pleasant hotel and would definitely stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Very dirty ! I don't want to talk about it , I think I'll walk out in the morning with more than I came in with , pubic hair on a clean bed , and same in shower .!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful. Nice breakfast in the morning .
Cheery & helpful staff.
Rooms a bit tired, but it was a bed for the night after the greatest gig ever.
Would stay again if needed .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here as a last minuet plan for £50. Although the hotel is a little tired, for example the bedroom doors, carpets etc look old and worn we had a very pleasent stay. The staff were very helpful and overall the hotel is in a nice location and very easy to get to from the M62. There is also a nice pub over the road which serves food till 9pm.
The room was large with a lovely modern bathroom and everything was very clean. The towels were white and fluffy and warmed on the towel rail which made my stay very cosy. I must also say that the bed was very comfy. I didn't want to get up:-)
I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We Booked a One night stop,and stayed a week.
Lovely quiet surroundings at the side of the M60.unbeleivable !!
Gardens beautiful,staff very helpful and friendly, food very good Accommodation outstanding.

Room Tip: all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Hotel

Address: Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Heywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Birch Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two turns from J19 on M62, ideal place to stay over if you visiting Manchester or Greater Manchester destinations. Relax in our cozy lounge. If you fancy a swim or work out we have an arrangement with The Heywood Village Centre which guests can use for free.Free Wifi & Free Car Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Hotel Manchester
Birch Hotel Heywood, Greater Manchester, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.