We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Turkish BBQ Restaurant

Amara Turkish BBQ Restaurant
Wallasey Village, Wallasey CH 45 3LR, England
0151 792 5358
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 72 Restaurants in Wallasey
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Mediterranean, Dessert, Barbecue, Turkish, Greek, Vegetarian, Grill, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unreal Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The food here is what I would say unreal, from the starters to the mains and to the treatment of the staff, always available and ensuring our meals are more than satisfying. Very generous with their portions and the food is cooked with perfection. Great atmosphere with the family and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys their food as it is purely tender. Amazing and Unreal experience overall!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    21
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Turkey in Wallasey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Went on girlie night out Food was excellent and service great Will be returning soon the food transported us back to Turkey where we have enjoyed many holidays

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant in Wallasey Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

At long last a brilliant restaurant in Wallasey Village! Friendly staff, hugely large portions. Try not to fill up on the gorgeous bread you get with the starters! We have been a couple of times mid week and it is never empty. A great place all round.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, huge portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Since it opened we have been to the Amara several times with family and friends. The first time we went we found out how big the main courses were. They are massive. AND good quality.
The last time we went, just over a week ago, the portions haven't got any smaller. The meat is fantastic, well flavoured with spices and tender.
If anything, there's too much food! But we're glad we can take away the remaining meat. Wouldn't want to waste any of it.
The staff are very friendly and it has a nice atmosphere. The grill as you go in gives off some awesome smells as the food is being cooked.
Great value and service!
If you're really hungry, order the special (last one in the grill section)
Its like a man vs food episode! And it all tastes amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been to Amara before and were amongst its first customers on opening night some months ago. We've always thoroughly enjoyed both the food & atmosphere, however on this occasion this past weekend, we were very disappointed with the overall standard of service. Such a shame as we had a friend visiting from Australia & had sung the restaurant's praises. The service was slow and whilst the food, when it did arrive was good, the fact that the main courses were not served all together somewhat marred the experience. The restaurant wasn't even particularly busy either which could have explained the delay. There was also an issue with our bill which I spoke to Lilley the manager about - however she was most unapologetic& stubborn over the matter, although it was resolved to our satisfaction. Through the course of the conversation I mentioned her colleague who has always been extremely friendly and helpful whenever we've visited before - apparently he is her cousin & she could learn a lot from him regarding the hospitality industry as he really could not be faulted.
So basically the food is great but the service needs to improve dramatically in order to retain repeat business.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amara Turkish BBQ Restaurant also viewed

Wallasey, Wirral
Wallasey, Wirral
 
Wallasey, Wirral
 

Been to Amara Turkish BBQ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Turkish BBQ Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.