We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leasowe Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Leasowe Castle to your Saves list
Leasowe Castle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leasowe Road | Moreton, Merseyside, Wallasey CH46 3RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wallasey
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have just stayed at this place for one night and thought it very good value for money. My room was not the Ritz but it was clean and perfectly adequate. I found the staff friendly and helpful especially the lovely breakfast waitress. The only slight negative comment was the shower (room 10) kept suddenly going red hot for a few seconds every couple of minutes which could be dangerous for a child. However overall I was really pleased with my stay and would definitely return if I was in the area again. Thanks to all that made my stay pleasant !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeasoweCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at Leasowe Castle, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
So sorry about the shower. This has now been sorted out. The problem was the result of a pump failure; it's now been replaced. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    89
    56
    36
    43
See reviews for
86
136
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

this was our third visit to the castle and to be quite honest was a little dissapointed with things,receptionist not very helpful at all,was charged £85 for room on arrival plus credit card fee of 2%,a little over the top,i think, went to room to find TV did not work, no milk coffee or tea in room, reported to reception,tea & coffee provided,but no TV fix,and then to add insult to injury was told a extra £10 was to be charged as we had not paid enough for the room. im afraid we wont be coming back,loved this place before,but upset about being charged extra considering the service we got, tina powell

Room Tip: top floor to avoid party noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullion, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Looking at previous reviews I did not experience some of the negative issues expressed.The clue is in the name castle you are not going to get a modern premier inn type of building it is what it is.We had no conception of the hotel until arrival ok a few cosmetic issues exist however we found dinner,breakfast ok,staff pleasant enough we all have off days.This hotel is on the right track and we would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievably disappointed with this hotel. Receptionist not very informative. Outside and lobby lovely until you get to your room. Outdated, dirty ceiling and curtains. Poor quality furniture and doors. Shower broken. Would avoid staying here. Very poor value for money!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeasoweCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at Leasowe Castle, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We're sorry that you were disappointed with your room on this occasion. We have a programme of refurbishment and have recently completed six bedrooms to a standard beyond that required of a three star hotel. This will continue on a rolling basis to ensue that we continue to lift standards. At the last AA inspection we were credited with our highest ever percentage rating and we compared very favourably with other similar hotels. However, we do not intend to be complacent and acknowledge the need to continually improve and update.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A big thank you to Leasowe Castle for helping to make our special day so special! The venue is beautiful, it's a fantastic place, and looks great on the wedding photos - much nicer than a modern hotel. Considering it was November and raining on and off, we were really lucky to get some nice photos in the grounds outside - I loved the pergola, so pretty when it's lit up at night. Maybe some of the bedrooms are a little dated, but they're ok - not really a deciding factor in our choice of place to get married. We stayed in the Edward Cust suite on the wedding night and this was really nice. From the initial meeting with the staff to begin organisation of the wedding, through to the very end we couldn't fault anything. The whole day ran as we had hoped it would. All of the food throughout the day was lovely. I stayed the night before our wedding with my Mum and had a really nice meal in the restaurant then too (which was a relief as we hadn't actually sampled our wedding menu or eaten there at all before!) Breakfast both mornings was very nice. We used the hotel DJ (can't remember his name now) but he was great and played whatever requests anybody asked for. Overall we would highly recommend it as a wedding venue, obviously there are better hotels around, but you would pay a lot more for them. Having read some of the negative reviews on this site, we can't believe they're talking about the same place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeasoweCastleHotel, Manager at Leasowe Castle, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we're very pleased that every aspect of your Wedding Day was exactly as you hoped and even the weather didn't spoil anything. Thanks for choosing to have your wedding at Leasowe Castle, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel has to be one of the worst I've stayed in! May look nice on the outside but inside whole different story!
First of all staff are very rude, not a friendly welcome! They was very in helpful when asking for help!
Then I got to my room where they was dated, small and cold! This was in expectable when you pay for the opposite!
During the night the sleep was not pleasant very loud, still cold and uncomfortable beds!
In the morning went down for breakfast and it was cold and not palatable! Didn't fill me up one bit! Yet again staff were rude and un helpful!
So overall not a good stay so this hotel may look nice on the outside but on the inside far the opposite! Don't waste your money!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I'm not normally one to write a review but feel I had to mention this place as I found the experience troubled,the event itself was nice but the meal was awful you had one bread Roll on your table and you couldn't ask for another it was put up and shut up and then we had to wait an hour for our meal in the end my wife had to knock on the kitchen door to ask where our meal was it seem we had been totally forgotten as the staff were all standing there talking seems there was a problem in the kitchen mmmmm likely story.once our meal arrived we was not aloud any extra veg because the staff was being watched by the event manager,I feel like i was made to feel like a second class citizen the event manager was not very accommodating at all just a smile would go a long way My friends had a good day in all but I would not recommend this place unless it changes how it runs it's meals,the staff were nice but under strict order which let's the place down terribly

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeasoweCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at Leasowe Castle, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We're not sure how you got the impression that there were no additional items available, but we will look into this. It is certainly not the experience that we wish any guests to have and not the experience of other reviewers attending weddings. .we're sorry that you got this impression,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leasowe Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leasowe Castle

Address: Leasowe Road | Moreton, Merseyside, Wallasey CH46 3RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Wallasey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wallasey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leasowe Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leasowe Castle offers a stunning venue with extensive facilities. The castle is a unique grade II listed building overlooking the stunning Wirral coastline and Leasowe golf course. Set amongst beautiful, tranquil gardens it offers a peaceful retreat for both work and leisure, yet is only minutes from the M53 offering quick access to Liverpool, Chester and the glorious Cheshire countryside. It is one of the most historic hotels in Wirral.Leasowe rail station is only a few minutes walk away and the airports of Liverpool and Manchester are easily reached. Such an enviable location is hard to find. It is an ideal location if you are looking for hotels near Liverpool and hotels near Merseyside.This romantic 16th century castle provides the perfect setting for weddings and special events. It is Wirral's only castle wedding venue. Offering a choice of function rooms and banqueting facilities we cater for parties of all sizes. Our attention to detail and impeccable service are guaranteed to make your special day simply perfect. If you are looking for a conference hotel in Wirral, the hotel also provide a unique and inspirational setting for meetings and conferences. Its convenient location combined with ample free parking, state-of-the-art conference facilities and comfortable accommodation, offers everything you need to focus, reflect and plan ahead. All guests have free access to the ‘Castle Club’ leisure facilities which offer a great way to unwind. You can workout in the fully equipped gym, join one of the exercise classes, or simply relax in the sauna and steam room. Afterwards, what better way to reward yourself than enjoying a sumptuous meal in the elegant Portcullis restaurant? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leasowe Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leasowe Castle Wallasey, United Kingdom
Leasowe Castle Hotel Wallasey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leasowe Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.