We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leasowe Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Leasowe Castle to your Saves list
Leasowe Castle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leasowe Road | Moreton, Merseyside, Wallasey CH46 3RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wallasey
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just spent a night at Leasowe Castle, the was a family party of 14 of us all staying over night, from first arriving till leaving the following morning the staff where very helpful and pleasant with all of us, The meal that was served to us was exceptional, Me and my partner have just return from a week on board the Qneen Mary, the meal was as good as what we where served on board and a lot cheaper!!! We had no problem with the room we where given, Well done to all the staff for make are stay very relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeasoweCastleHotel, Owner at Leasowe Castle, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are so delighted to hear that our food compares favourably with the Queen Mary! Thank you for letting others know that our efforts are paying off. We have recently refurbished the restaurant and combined with our excellent food, we believe that it creates a wonderful environment for a memorable evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    83
    51
    31
    37
See reviews for
80
127
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the beautiful leasowe castle on the 1St December for a family get together and must say I had a wonderful time here.

Upon arrival I was taken back by how beautiful the building is, inside and out. To think it is only 20 minutes drive from house I was surprised. checked in to our rooms promptly and headed up to our rooms. Lovely and comfortable with everything you need. After getting settled in we headed down to the bar to wait for the rest of the family as we had been first to arrive. Maria who worked in the bar was lovely, very chatty and welcoming and looked after us very well throughout the whole evening. The operations manager Sharon even came in to see us and introduced herself, gave us all a copy of the menu for our meal that evening and made us feel very welcome indeed.

The food was so delicious and service was second to none, Jan who was looking after us was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble even as a table of 14 guests. Working in a restaurant myself I usually find fault with something but couldn't fault it one little bit. I must say I have not enjoyed a meal so much in a long time and even my mother and her partner who have not long returned from a cruise on the queen Mary commented that the food and service was on par if not better than the ship. We had another visit from Sharon during our meal to see how things were going and shortly after all recieved Christmas crackers.

I could go on and on as to how wonderful and beautiful leasowe castle is and the staff all so welcoming, but I have gone on enough. I will just finish by saying I will definitely be returning and hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeasoweCastleHotel, Owner at Leasowe Castle, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing to hold your celebration at Leasowe Castle.

We are delighted that it exceeded your expectations and thank you for taking the time to let others know that our efforts are worthwhile!

Look out for some special offers in 2013, especially in our refurbished Restaurant.

We're looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Words cannot convey the utter thanks and happiness I have in my heart for Leasowe Castle. My beautiful wedding was there on November 9th 2012 after months of careful preparation, and as you can imagine, I was very nervous and controlling the night b4, but Leasowe's Judy (wedding coordinator) was absolute grace, patient and comforting. Then there's Lynsey who also decorated the castle to the highest standard I was so happy, and then there's the rest of the team, from the rooms being outstanding high spec, to all the minor details and how curteous and accomodating they were on my big day. I would recommend any bride to have their wedding at Leasowe, I had my whole day here and I would do it all over again, food was incredible and I cant fault anything Leasowe did. They really gave me a fantastic day and my family ♥ ♥ 100% effort goes to Leasowe Castle ♥ ♥

Room Tip: Triple rooms are well stocked and double rooms are warm and cleanly. Id stay in any of these rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeasoweCastleHotel, Manager at Leasowe Castle, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you Heather for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to plan your wedding and to look after you on the day and we're delighted that it was just the special occasion that it should be for you.
We wish you lots of happiness and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just returned from Leasowe Castle after staying for 2 nights for a family wedding, we found all the staff we came in contact with very friendly and would do anything they could for you. The breakfast was buffet style and was exceptional with plenty of choice, we didnt feel rushed either.
The staff involved in the wedding where fantastic, the service was great too.
We stayed in a family room, the only downside was that we didnt have any facilities for ironing or hairdryer even though the hotel advertise that these items come in the room but i'm sure if we'd have asked they would have got them for us. We actually wondered if this room had been made up for us coming, the room had a double bed and 2 single beds, the double bed being one that actually folded up.
All in all though we had a fantastic weekend and wouldnt hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Here with 28 folks from TX. They do a great job feeding a large group. The food is good and comes to the table hot. If room size is important, check before you come. Some of the group had very large rooms; I had a room that can barely hold two people with suitcases. Beautiful scenery. Right on the water.

Room Tip: Check on the size before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting relatives and everything was excellent.
Check in was smooth, the room was very good, warm, clean, good bathroom and shower, tea making facilities etc.
There were a couple of wedding parties but they went after the receptions so it was quiet.
There are a lot of nice public rooms at Leasowe, lovely gardens, ideal for a weding or other function.
The breakfast was first class, buffet selection, but toast was served to the table.plenty of cereals and fruit and a good selection of hot food. Coffee was nice as well, makes a change in hotels.
Overall a very comfortable stay in a nice hotel in a god location. The front part of the building was an old castle so yes, it may look a bit faded, but old castles are. Our room was certainly not faded.
Now that we have found it we will use it again when we visit the Wirral.

Room Tip: High ones will be quieter, rooms at the back have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I know so of the other reviews went on about how dated it is but it is an old castle after all. It was a shame the ceiling in the room was covered, I'm sure they would be lovely restored (assuming there is something lovely behind them. However, our friends wedding was hosted beautifully and the intimate meal in the same room as the cerermony was really lovely. The food was really nice and we like the bar, quite plain but very easy to settle into. The staff were all very good , very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was ok, but enough to choose from to still have a reasonable sitting, it was probably hampered by most people arriving at the same time. Check in and out was really straightforward, just a note, there is a small credit card charge, but nothing to write home about. Overall, it does need a bit more TLC, but still really nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leasowe Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leasowe Castle

Address: Leasowe Road | Moreton, Merseyside, Wallasey CH46 3RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Wallasey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wallasey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leasowe Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leasowe Castle offers a stunning venue with extensive facilities. The castle is a unique grade II listed building overlooking the stunning Wirral coastline and Leasowe golf course. Set amongst beautiful, tranquil gardens it offers a peaceful retreat for both work and leisure, yet is only minutes from the M53 offering quick access to Liverpool, Chester and the glorious Cheshire countryside. It is one of the most historic hotels in Wirral.Leasowe rail station is only a few minutes walk away and the airports of Liverpool and Manchester are easily reached. Such an enviable location is hard to find. It is an ideal location if you are looking for hotels near Liverpool and hotels near Merseyside.This romantic 16th century castle provides the perfect setting for weddings and special events. It is Wirral's only castle wedding venue. Offering a choice of function rooms and banqueting facilities we cater for parties of all sizes. Our attention to detail and impeccable service are guaranteed to make your special day simply perfect. If you are looking for a conference hotel in Wirral, the hotel also provide a unique and inspirational setting for meetings and conferences. Its convenient location combined with ample free parking, state-of-the-art conference facilities and comfortable accommodation, offers everything you need to focus, reflect and plan ahead. All guests have free access to the ‘Castle Club’ leisure facilities which offer a great way to unwind. You can workout in the fully equipped gym, join one of the exercise classes, or simply relax in the sauna and steam room. Afterwards, what better way to reward yourself than enjoying a sumptuous meal in the elegant Portcullis restaurant? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Leasowe Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leasowe Castle Wallasey, United Kingdom
Leasowe Castle Hotel Wallasey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leasowe Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.