We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sage - CLOSED

Cafe Sage
267 Wallasey Village, Wallasey CH45 3LR, England
0151 345 3595
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wirral
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

First visit here on a Sunday. Excellent value for money 2 courses 10.95, 3 courses 12.95-13.95. Food was lovely.
But the visit was let down by poor service long wait for drinks order, always had to wave a waiter/waitress over for drinks they werent attentive, didn't clear empty bottles or glasses so they filled the table.
Took ages to clear plates between courses and it wasn't that busy.
Didn't bring spoons with starters then couldn't get anyones attention to get them.
Didn't offer any sauces with main courses & we could have done with more gravy but again couldn't get anyones attention to ask.
I will try here again because the food was excellent and it's really good value, hopefully today was just a bad day for staff.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    11
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice, very nice indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went for a family do and the menu was small yet very tasty and highly seasonal, which is always a bonus. Reasonably priced and service was great (we had a large table of 10 in), even though the waitress corrected our pronunciation of Estrella ('Estrel-la, not estreya'... we had a chortle). Very good night indeed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Happy Mondays!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Monday evening offer from this excellent restaurant offers phenomenal quality and value for money. A colleague and I recently ate here and had some very well cooked and presented food which would grace a high end establishment. The shock came with the bill - £28 for 3 courses plus a bottle of house wine which represents phenomenal value for money. OK, so the house wine was average but the food was really good. I am sure the food quality is maintained on other nights but the cost will rise a bit. I do recommend a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton, Wirral
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely little restauraunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went to Cafe sage with family for the first time. There were 15 of us and we were well looked after from start to finish. The waiter even brought our birthday cake to the table and later cut it and served it.
We all had the Sunday menu of 3 courses and there was a good, if limited selection to choose from, but it was all freshly cooked so we waited a little longer and it could of been hotter but I suppose cooking for 15 to be served at the same time is difficult even for the best chef.
The drinks were a bit on the pricey side but this will be where they make up for for the lower priced food.
All in all, a very pleasant afternoon was had by all. I would return but only as a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went to cafe sage for the first time, there was a group of 15. Online you can look at the menus and they do deals on some nights, we had the Sunday menu were you can get 2 or 3 courses up to £13.95. I had the 3 courses and there was a great selection to choose from, the food is amazing! The only thing I'd say was the food could of been a little hotter but as we were in such a big group that probably was the reason why but in all really good would defiantly go again. Service is friendly and there is a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sage also viewed

 
Wallasey, Wirral
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.