We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and scones tasty.....but not special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leverhulme Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Leverhulme Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Port Sunlight Village, Port Sunlight, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sunlight
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Europe
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Coffee and scones tasty.....but not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Have heard mixed comments so decided to form own opinion so called in for coffee and afternoon snack. No other customers evident when we arrived and asked at reception if coffee and snacks available. We're told yes and taken to small seating alcove off the main corridor it..was comfortable but nothing special we could hear dishes being clattered nearby Politely asked what we wanted. Problem is we didnt know and asked for menu. Server said she would get some and meanwhile we asked for coffee. Shortly after another lady arrived and asked if she could get us anything, afternoon tea, sandwich, cakes.....again we asked for menu and were fetched one from where the original server had walked past......we thought the prices on the high side but ordered cream scones to have with our coffee. Coffee arrived first in smallish cups . We enjoyed this for a couple of minutes when scones arrived nicely presented....we were then asked if we wanted to move to the restaurant ......we declined this offer as wanted to relax for half an hour not move mid consumption....anyway cake stand was placed on small table for us, We then had to ask for plates which were quickly bought. Scones with jam and cream were lovely. Coffee nice but small . Ambience lacking.. Staff pleasant but couldn't help the impression they were surprised to see people call in......was surprised to have to request menu twice..........so nice but for me not special......may be tempted to try restaurant in evening but will monitor reviews first as felt rather alone on this visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    31
    11
    14
    20
See reviews for
32
64
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I was a guest at the Leverhulme Hotel & Spa on Easter Sunday for the wedding of Chloe Johnson and Mark Ward. I had already been to view the venue a few weeks beforehand and was immediately struck by the stunning Art Deco design of the lobby and grand ballroom. On that occasion we stayed for Afternoon Tea which was served by very polite and professional waiters and the cakes were simply divine :)
The grounds are of the typical picturesque Port Sunlight style, with an immaculately kept garden and a very traditional exterior to the building. The lobby and corridors are adorned with intriguing artwork, glittering chandeliers and sumptuous furnishings. The ballroom was absolutely perfect for a wedding reception, with a very spacious gleaming dancefloor and high quality silver and glassware. The food was presented beautifully; my salmon starter was the nicest I have ever tasted to date.
A surprise highlight of the evening courtesy of the barstaff was when my boyfriend asked for a round of Sambucca shots (an unlikely choice admittedly) and they were served to him in wine glasses on a silver platter! It made us feel slightly classier anyway ;)
Everything ran smoothly and provided the bride and groom with a perfect wedding with an elegant backdrop that made for stunning photographs of the evening.
I was fortunate enough to stay overnight in one of the guestrooms and although I was slightly inebriated by the time I got to my room, I still recognised the high quality of the furniture, decor and bathroom facilities. The shower was a walk-in type with a digital thermostat and the bathroom had several complimentary Bulgari products which was a lovely finishing touch.
I would recommend the Leverhulme for anybody looking for a classy and beautiful wedding venue with great service and attention to fine details.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Our Daughter's wedding reception was held here on Saturday 31st March. From the first time we viewed this venue to the last guest had left we had excellent service from this hotel and it's staff. Special thanks go to Amanda, the wedding co-ordinator, who helped to plan everything. Nothing was too much trouble for Amanda and the team, no request was ignored and the tiny touches that were put in place helped to make the day so special.
The day ran smoothly from the moment the Hotel's Bentley and chauffeur arrived to take our daughter to the church. The drinks reception was carried out with extreme efficiency and the quality of the food at the wedding breakfast was commented on by all present.
We had lots of small children in attendance and their needs were catered for as equally as the adults. A bedroom was provided for feeding and changing the little ones without being asked for.
The daytime reception moved seemlessly to the evening reception with the minimum of fuss and the food at the evening buffet was equally as good as that served during the day. The bar staff were efficient and all the staff worked extremely hard and kept smiling until the end despite it being a very long day. Every person who attended said the surroundings were beautiful and that they had really enjoyed the occasion.
We were fortunate enough to stay overnight at the hotel and the room was beautiful and breakfast was fabulous. This hotel certainly gave us a day to remember.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for class and elegance. If you are looking for a big fat gypsy style wedding, GO ELSEWHERE.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Have previously been to the Leverhulme restaurant at weekends and been the only customers so we decided to go mid week to see if it would be busier. Unfortunately there was only one other table occupied which meant the atmosphere was still subdued and lacked the the hustle & bustle of a busy restaurant.This is a shame as the restaurant is well decked out, the service very friendly and some of the food quite good. On this occasion my wife's lamb was a bit of a disappointment but otherwise the food was well presented and tasty. If this place could get more business then it could be a really good dining experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I visited with my wife on Friday 2nd March, primarily to have a meal and to visit the nearby pub and to wander around the estate. We found the staff to be very helpful and courteous.Our room (no 8) was very spacious with a large jacuzzi bath (bath robes supplied). The restaurant was quiet and the staff very attentive and friendly. We had a very enjoyable meal and sat in the bar to finish off with cheese and port. The next day we had a very good breakfast and again we were impressed with the staff and service. The Lady Leverhulme art gallery (200 yards away) is well worth a visit and currently has self portraits by Gauguin and Van Gogh on loan. I would imagine the next few months will see many weddings held at weekends but the restaurant is well worth visiting during the week for the quality of food. Thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I recently visited the Leverhulme with my boyfriend and it was excellent from the beginning. The receptionists are polite and helpful, and they even gave us a free upgrade. They effortlessly made it seem like nothing was too much trouble. We dined in one evening and the service was also excellent. They were attentive and answered any questions we had and were really accommodating to any special requests we had. They made the whole weekend really special for us- a lovely hidden reasure in the picturesque Port Sunlight village- would love to return again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Went for business lunch. Absolutely faultless. Food delicious. Staff attentive and personable. Venue absolutely spotless. Price reasonable, I thin £17 for three course and a little less for two course. Limited options on set menu, but thoroughly enjoyed what I did choose. Highly recommended. Give it a go! Next will try their afternoon teas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leverhulme Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leverhulme Hotel & Spa

Address: Port Sunlight Village, Port Sunlight, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Port Sunlight
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sunlight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Leverhulme Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leverhulme Hotel And Spa
Leverhulme Hotel Port Sunlight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leverhulme Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.