We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disgusted” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boreland Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Boreland Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Boreland Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31-33 Boreland Road, Inverkeithing KY11 1DA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very disgusted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

Arrived, Manager sat outside smoking. Shown room which was not clean and had 2 beer cans on dressing table. Shown 3 other rooms which were all disgusting, 1 even had "clean me" written in the dust on the TV. Totally disgusted, left and lost £70. Would have rather slept on the Forth Rail Bridge than in this disgusting hovel!!

  • Liked — Driving away from it!!
  • Disliked — All of it!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    49
    25
    17
    43
See reviews for
34
57
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed on Thursday June 19th 2008 and found we were stepping into Fawlty Towers. The room was filthy and someone had written 'please clean me ' on the television set for which there were no controls. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in but I must say the froeign staff were friendly and the breakfast was nice. But the rooms are awful - will NEVER stay there agin

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borelandlodgeht, Owner at Boreland Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
the hotel changed hands this review is both outdated and does not reflect the hotel in any way. it should be removed but as yet has not
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inverkeithing hotels

Leeds UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Stayed at boreland lodge as lived in inverkeithing for 23 years and family gathering meant not enough space at muy mums. Stayed in room 5. Room was basic and very unkept: the curtains hanging off the railings and the railing out of the ceiling; the shower with very little power; the carpet not hoovered (though was on 2nd night); the window ledge filthy; the light fitting in the centre of the room very dodgy; towels not changed after the 1st night; a "selection" of fruit at breakfast consisting of a deep tray of tinned peaches!! It claims to be budget yet boutique: boutique it is not! It used to be such a nice place years ago when the Milton family ran it. Now it feels seedy, dirty (walking down the stairs there is dust everywhere), unused portable TVs left piled in the upstairs hallway. I felt embarressed that people from south africa, the states and elsewhere see this as scottish hospitality. The lady (denise) who arranges bookings is lovely but something needs to be done before it turns into what can only be descibed as a doss house. The fact also that the nice Polish staff sit outside fagging it and drinking from cans does not do the image much good either. Some may find this review rather harsh but with the Dakota and Orrocco Pier across the water, they know how to impress their clients: it will be there i will return next time up at mums in inverkeithing!!
John Gallagher, Pudsey, West Yorkshire

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

My family and I are from Singapore and we visited Scotland during the december holidays last year. Before tripadvisor changed their website, we actually read reviews, mostly complaining about their horrible stay there. Upon reaching, we foun out otherwise. The couple is very friendly and helpful! The night we reached, they recommended a nearby eatery and booked two cabs for us. While waiting for the taxi, we had a chat with them and found out that they had just took over the B&B business few months ago. True enough, that night we found that in contrast to the bad reviews, there were heaters and the beds and everywhere were clean. The only problem we had was that the shower had very little water coming out and it was very cold somehow in the morning (we went during wintertime). The following morning, we had a feast; cereals, toast, orange juice, tea, sausages and eggs. To get ourself around scotland, we wanted to rent a car so that accessibility woulld be better. They helped us check online for car rental sites and in no time we booked one, with them recommending us where to pick it up. Also, they were revamping the entire place, but of course they did it while we were out touring. They said that it would be complete after a couple of months. After getting out car, they lent us a huge detailed map of scotland to help us get around. It is also very quiet and residential there, and the inverkeithing train station is very near boreland lodge. One night, we ordered chinese takeaway and had a chat with them while eating. They were telling us about their experiences and stuff and they are really friendly. On the day that we left, we thanked them and they even gave us a card giving their regards. I hope that this will be useful for others who are interested to stay here. It is very worth it and i bet your stay there would be as good as ours.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boreland Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boreland Lodge Hotel

Address: 31-33 Boreland Road, Inverkeithing KY11 1DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Inverkeithing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkeithing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boreland Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boreland Lodge has recently had a refurbishment and all rooms have new shower rooms, fully tiled, and new carpets in all the rooms, the furniture has been upgraded and the hotel is a family run hotel. We have free internet in all public areas and also tea and coffee complimentary facilities in all rooms. There are small TVs in all rooms with freeview channels. We are 300 yards from a local train station and journey to Edinburgh is 15-20 minutes, costing about 5 pound return. There is also a shuttle bus to Edinburgh Airport terminal from the train station, which runs every 30 minutes taking about 20 minutes. We are near Roysth and the Forth Road bridge and close to the motorways. Ideal for Ingliston and T in the Park, local events at Knockhill are 15 minutes away. We have rooms 2 family of 5 rooms with conservatories, we also have singles, doubles and twins. We serve a continental breakfast and a cooked Scottish breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boreland Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boreland Hotel Inverkeithing
Boreland Lodge Hotel Inverkeithing, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boreland Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.