We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rare Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Rare Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rare Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   53 High Street, Earls Colne CO6 2PB, England (Formerly Blackwells Restaurant With Rooms)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Earls Colne
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic place with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here as part of our wedding anniversary (including evening meal and breakfast - which I'll write up in the restaurant section).
From the start the service as great - warm friendly welcome, nothing too much trouble.
We stayed in room number 8 - tastefully decorated, lovely clean shower room (very powerful shower too) with nice toiletries. Very large comfortable bed, with nice bedding - we both had a very nice sleep.
Only small minor issue is no Wi-Fi, but get a great 3G signal so no issues - but this doesn't detract from what is a great place to stay.
£70 for a boutique room with fabulous staff - what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwells R, Public Relations Manager at The Rare Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your 'anniversary' stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards, Teresa PRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
49
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The first reason we go here is that we shop at Blackwells Farmshop, and know the quality of their meat is superb. We went this week on a 'pre-paid' deal , but it's probably our third or fourth visit and we usually pay full price which is still reasonable.
The food is always high quality, and very tasty, if not the most adventurous menu. But in this part of Essex it is a cut above anyway, and our first choice for special occasions. Yet it's not stupidly expensive, and they don't charge ridiculous prices for wine. The ingredients are sourced locally wherever possible - even the wine if you want!
If you are in this part of the world, it's well worth a visit and we will find any excuse!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwells R, Public Relations Manager at The Rare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review.
We are thrilled that you visit us often and enjoy our food. To hear you also shop at our farm shop is a bonus.
We look forward to seeing you both very soon.
Kind regards, Teresa PRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked a room at Blackwell's hotel for friends who were visiting. Once checked in we went out for dinner locally. Returning just before midnight my friend realised he had given the room key back at reception. During dinner the hotel had closed and they were locked out!!
The night was not as we planned, but Blackwell's were responsive and very apologetic. After an email my husband and I were invited to dinner at the restaurant. The food was delicious and the service lovely. We were offered a complimentary room for our friends, who took advantage of this a few weeks ago.
Their room was fabulous, and they had a great stay. They report that breakfast the next morning was one of the best yet. Many thanks Blackwell's who behaved incredibly well and were very generous. We will definitely return. With or without friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwells R, Public Relations Manager at The Rare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review on your 'experience' with us.....we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and your friends enjoyed their stay without getting locked out this time!!
We look forward to seeing you all again very soon.
Kind regards, Teresa PRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had booked a meal with travelzoo and were not disappointed, the meal was first class my fish cooked to perfection and my wifes open mushroom lasagne was excellent. Staff attentive without being pushy. All in all we will dine again at Blackwells

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwells R, Public Relations Manager at The Rare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
We are pleased you both enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards, Teresa PRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room no.4- the Africa room. It's quite small and not much space for bags etc. but for us, staying overnight with little luggage the space was ok. Room is hot but there is air con. Room beautifully decorated. En suite shower room and shower gel, soap etc provided.

Check out is 10.30, but you can breakfast until 11 am which is good on a Sunday. Breakfast costs extra but it is local produce and very yummy.

We would stay here again if we are in the area.

Best point: comfy bed, good size en suite. Fab decor

Worst point: not much space in the room, just able to walk around the bed really and a small space with a chair by the window.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwells R, Public Relations Manager at The Rare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us.
If in future you would like to book directly with us your breakfast would be included in the room rate.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards, Teresa PRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Really pleased to have stayed here, which was booked last minute through www.hotels.com at a very reasonable £70 inc breakfast.

We were then lucky to be upgraded to the superior room which was lovely and spacious with nice bath and separate shower. All the staff seemed very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was also very good.

Only downside I can think of is that the main road can be quite busy early on but our room was at the front and with the windows closed it wasn't that bad.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which is at the top floor (3 small flights of stairs) in the loft so had sloping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwells R, Public Relations Manager at The Rare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are thrilled your enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon.
Kind regards, Teresa PRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

From arriving at Blackwells we were made very welcome. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and the staff were all helpful and cheerful. The food was fantastic, highlights from our group of four were, Goats Cheese & Mushroom Tart, Wash Farm Asparagus poached free range egg, hollandaise sauce, Ribeye steak (was cooked to perfection) and the selection of puds were all lovely. Well done to everyone at Blackwells, we have made this one of our favorite places to eat. Only one comment is that the menu on their website was the May menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwells R, Public Relations Manager at The Rare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for your glowing review, it is much appreciated.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit to us here at Blackwells; we hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards, Teresa PRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rare Hotel

Address: 53 High Street, Earls Colne CO6 2PB, England (Formerly Blackwells Restaurant With Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Earls Colne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Earls Colne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rare Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel and Restaurant located close to Colchester in Essex. Each of the nine bedrooms are uniquely themed and furnished to offer superior comfort all with en suite bathrooms. Our Head Chef has a ever changing menu using only local seasonal produce from local farmers and producers. we buy directly from farmers and producers across East Anglia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Rare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drapers Hotel Earls Colne
The Rare Hotel Essex/Earls Colne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.