We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essex Golf & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Essex Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Essex Golf & Country Club
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Earls Colne, Earls Colne CO6 2NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Earls Colne B&B and Inns
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Don't let first appearances put you off!! Yes you walk into the reception come sports shop and it has the feel of a leisure centre but the staff’s friendliness more than makes up for this. We had a room overlooking the golf course and had fab views. Beds were comfy, decor was modern and warm. The swimming pool was great, same depth all round and the Jacuzzi was a wonderful hot temperature, just what’s needed on a grey winter’s day. Food was wonderful, more a bar/cafe not a posh restaurant but good food which is what makes it ok. The beauty treatments made our girlie weekend; we were treated so well and made to feel like princesses for the day, as nothing was too much trouble for any of the girls. I had the most fantastic Clarins facial and even got a goody bag after. We have been to a good few spa weekends but this one tops the bill for efficiency and friendliness. Keep up the good work and see you again next year for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for an even number room as these have golf course views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we take all comments on board
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
25
49
4
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Spent a long weekend in the Golf and Country Club at the end of August. Played 3 rounds of golf which was pre-booked with breakfast and dinner. We were very lucky with the weather, the course was nice and golf was well organised. We could also use the other facilities, i.e. sauna, swimming pool, steam room etc. Breakfast and Dinner was good, but the service was slow. To get a cup of tea or coffee seemed an ordeal. I would recommend it if you want to play golf but apart from that there is nothing happening as it is off the beaten track and there is nothing to do.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back as it over looks the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melton mowbray
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed Saturday night and had breakfast on Sunday morning. The room was very good with nice towels in bathroom, plenty of hot water and comfy bed. Tea and coffee making facilities and view overlooking golf course. We found the breakfast a bit greasy but service was very good and when we asked got more marmalade and bread for toaster. For the price it was good.

Room Tip: If you stay on ground floor overlooking golf course, make sure blinds are down as folk can see in!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend whilst visiting family in the area. Room was comfortable with nice views overlooking the golf course.
We used the swimming pool/sauna/steam room/jacuzzi which was nice.
We were disappointed the spa wasn't open for treatments on Sunday as it would have been nice for us wives to have treatments whilst husbands played golf as there is nothing really within walking distance of the hotel,but we knew this before we arrived so no problem!
Breakfast was good & we found all the hotel staff to be very pleasant & helpful.

Room Tip: Definitely have a room with golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments we take all comments on board
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from a golfing weekend.

The hotel was very good, the rooms were modern with all you would expect with tea and coffee making facilities etc.

The facilities were 1st class. The pool, gym and sauna were great.

The food was really good and I would say on a par (no pun intended not that I hit many) with superior pub grub.

The staff were friendly, welcoming and willing to help and go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. They were always smiling and attentive.

With regards to the cost of drinks etc, well, this was a tad on the high side as all the draught beers / lagers were off due to a problem in the cool room and therefore 2 bottles (1 pint) of Bud cost £7............. far to much. However, a bottle of wine was £13.95 which is reasonable.

The course was good and in a decent condition. The place was heaving with players on both days, a real hive of activity. There was a starter on the 1st checking and stamping your score cards which was a professional touch. The course was not to challenging and quite forgiving.

The only negative of the whole weekend was the amount of players on the course on the Saturday. There were far to many. We T'd of on Saturday at 14.20, behind a decent 3 ball of long drivers and competent players. However, in front of them was another 3 ball who should not have been on the course. They were all taking at least double figures to complete a hole and refused to let anyone through. Due to this our first nine holes took over 3 hours and by that time the light was fading so we only managed to play 9 on the Saturday and not 18 as we had paid for.

Sunday was different. Even though the course was busy, we flew round and managed 18 holes in good time.

However, apart from the Saturday debacle on the course, I would recommend the Essex to anyone wishing to book a decent hotel or golf weekend but check with the club first regarding the amount of players who had confirmed T time, thus avoiding very, very slow play.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We unfortunately had an unexpected problem with our cool store room that day, however this has been rectified and upgraded. We take on board all comments, which have been passed to the relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed one night after an Evening Wedding Reception 5 mins. drive away. We were lucky to have a room overlooking the golf course with a few golfers dotted around.
It was peaceful and comfortable.
The down side was the breakfast. it was below standard and the room was a scenario of a cattle market!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level facing the golf course. Not ground floor and facing carpark area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. I have passed all of your comments to our food & Beverage team who are always looking to improve standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Booked a room through booking.com for a few days to attend a local wedding and opted for inclusive of breakfast. I have to admit to being unsure when I saw our room which was alittle need of a refurb but it was very clean and not unlike a travel lodge. The added bonus is the superb leisure facilities. I used the pool and spa each day and for the most part was alone!
I also used the onsite hairdresser and beautician both excellent. The food in the bar and room service was very reasonable although we ate at the delicious Five bells in Colne Engaine. The breakfast was freshly cooked and made up in taste what it lacked in presentation. we extended our stay dor a day but If this place was nearer I would be a regular visitor

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEssex, Manager at Essex Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we take all comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Golf & Country Club

Address: Earls Colne, Earls Colne CO6 2NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Earls Colne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Earls Colne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Essex Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Essex Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essex Golf And Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club Hotel Earls Colne
Essex Golf & Country Club Earls Colne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.