We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broadgate Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walkington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broadgate Farm Cottages
Save
You added Broadgate Farm Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Beverley Rd, Walkington, Beverley HU17 8RP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Portishead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Luxurious and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our fourth stay at Broadgate Farm and our second stay at The Forge. We love coming back each year as it only gets better! The children love staying in The Forge, not sure why may be it's because they have a bigger bedroom than us and can pop out and visit the pig (sadly one has passed away since our last visit) and sheep without us?? This year the weather was dry but chilly so we took our usual trip to Hornsea beach and did geo caching at Bishop Burton and on the Westwood. It was great that it was cold so we could make good use of the log burner. The quality of the accommodation has not dropped at all despite constantly being rented not like other accommodation we have stayed in which has looked tired. Elaine and her team do a great job of keeping the accommodation looking great and it is with our heads between our tails as we head home wishing our bathroom was half as luxurious as the one at The Forge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cer311, Owner at Broadgate Farm Cottages, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay again and its nice to hear that guests appreciate what we do to keep the cottages looking good. The children are growing up so much! It was lovely to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The second time we have stayed at The Stables and have already booked for next year. The accommodation is in a beautiful, peaceful and tranquil location with lovely views all around. The cottage is very spacious and all the fixtures, fittings and furnishings are of an excellent quality and standard. There are plenty of lovely walks nearby (handy with our new puppy taken for his first holiday!) and we also had the benefit of lovely weather all week to enjoy it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for a week in Forge Cottage. The cottage was beautifully furnished, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Our 8 year old twins loved exploring the farm and meeting the animals. The location is handy for the charming market town of Beverley and the nearby Yorkshire Wolds villages, and we also used it as a base for longer trips to York and the lovely North York Moors national park. The service provided by Elaine was first rate. All-in-all, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family of four, two adults and girls aged 9 and 7, thoroughly enjoyed a 3 night break in the forge. The accomodation was immaculate , well equipped and stylishly finished. The local village is pretty and the dog and duck serves good quality food at reasonable prices. Beverley is a short drive away and is quaint and affluent. This accomodation makes a good base for exploring the area. York is easy to drive to. We went on a Sunday and didn't find it necessary to use the park and ride. Although Beverley maze initially appeared expensive particularly as the maize was only at knee level, it nevertheless was good fun and all in all worth the entrance fee with the other facilities on offer. If we had more time we would have visited flamingo theme park which I imagine would be about an hours drive away. Likewise we didn't get to the beach which is also fairly close by. Another attraction we would have liked to visit was the deep in hull. We did go to a reenactment at sled mere house which was good value for money but I wouldn't recommend with children on normal days as there isn't much to see for children. A really lovely accomodation, well maintained and centrally based for family attractions up to an hours drive away. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Staying at the Foldyard. Accomodation is perfect, although a coffee table in the living room would be a useful addition. Lovely private garden with patio and dining table. Kitchen well equipped. Can't fault it - excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We hired three cottages for our Humanist Civil Celebration and it was just a perfect choice. Our celebration was very much a together occasion so it really helped having three kitchens to prepare food in and three fridges etc . The Barn House and Foldyard had the interconnecting door opened which meant we used the Foldyard kitchen for the drinks and the Barn House for the buffet leaving the Granary for the ceremony. Because we wanted a Humanist celebration the property doesn't have to be granted a licence to marry the official part is done at your chosen registry prior or post celebration.
For us it could not have been more perfect all our guests were very impressed with the standard of Broadgate cottages and I must admit I did get worried when I heard a few saying they could happily live there as a permanent residency ( I didn't think Elaine would be too pleased with stow aways). Initially we had planned to have our celebration outside in the beautiful court yard but the weather wasn't very kind to us. Thank you once again Elaine for another superb weekend,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We recently stayed for a short break in the 'barn'- it was a very comfortable, spotless, high specification with all you need for a relaxing break. We have stayed in a number of self catering dwellings but this was the best! Everything was very easy due to the attention to detail -numerous glasses, cups etc... not the usual 8 classes for the 8 occupants. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadgate Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadgate Farm Cottages

Address: Beverley Rd, Walkington, Beverley HU17 8RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley > Walkington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Walkington
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadgate Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five delightful barn conversions on our farm overlooking open fields just 2 miles from Beverley. Two, three, four & six bedroom cottages 4 star Gold Award,5 star or 5 star Gold Award. Arrival any day for weekly lets and short breaks. Free wifi, ground floor bedrooms, free sat HD TV, private gardens and farm animals. WINNERS 2013 REYTA BEST SELF CATERING ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broadgate Farm Cottages Walkington, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadgate Farm Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.