We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ken Bridge Hotel

Ken Bridge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ken Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Ken Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Galloway DG7 3PR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Galloway
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed still this hotel for 2 nights as I was working in the area.
It was very good. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were basic but clean.
Food was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
22
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A full car park is always a good sign. Took my wife and her sister for the Sunday Lunch Carvery. At £10.95 per head it was excellent value and a first class carvery with a choice of Beef, Lamb and Pork. Piping hot vegetables and gravies. Desserts at £5.95 each were also excellent. Friendly service and reasonably priced drinks. Overall warrants the excellent grading. Will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Attractive building in a scenic riverside location. Great area for outdoor pursuits. We've stayed here several times and have always found Dave, Sue, and the staff to be friendly and attentive. All the bedrooms we've stayed in have been very tastefully furnished and the beds have lovely thick duvets in wintertime! Always a good selection of food on the menu and we've yet to be in the least bit disappointed. This is a popular eating out venue, and you'll see lots of cars parked here on Sundays for the carvery. Nice characterful bar where they do a nice Guinness and a good range of ales.To summarise, we just cant fault this hotel, and that's the reason we just can't help returning again and again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at the Ken Bridge Hotel in July 2013 along with other members of the Ariel Owners' Motorcycle Club. Unlike many, I had a room in the hotel instead of camping.

I found the Hotel to be excellent; the food was good, the room was exactly what I needed and the owners & staff were welcoming & convivial. The site is picturesque and I had a pleasant time 'chilling out' by the river.

I was looking forward to a return visit in 2014. It is an easy 100 mile run for me as I live on the West side of Edinburgh.

Unfortunately, thanks to one of our members that is not to be as it appears that comments posted below have caused some offence and the Scottish Section Organisers have now found a different site for the 2014 annual event.

Just as "One Swallow doesn't make a Summer", one critical review doesn't reflect the view of everyone else. Please keep up the good work, Megan, and I hope to stay at your hotel again in the future.

From one satisfied customer.

Bob.

Room Tip: The Hotel is on a quiet road. My room overlooked the road junction yet I wasn't disturbed at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Ken Bridge Hotel and from the word go we knew we were in for a great weekend. We were met by Sue who owns the hotel with her husband Dave and were shown up to the bedroom, when we opened the bedroom door we couldn't believe our luck as the window looked out onto the river with the bridge to the right. The weather certainly helped to make the weekend as we sat outside for quite some time during the day prior to going in for dinner and the food was first class on both nights. The traditional Scottish breakfast's really set us up for the day, which meant that we only needed a snack at lunch time. Our thanks go out to Sue, Dave and their staff for making our weekend. Can't wait to book this hotel again in the near future.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 3 which overlooked the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having stayed here a number of times over the years, I can honestly say that it is always a pleasure staying here.... from the comfort of the rooms to the witty banter with Dave and Sue to the wonderful food they serve.

I can only say Im looking forward to next time I visit.

Thanks Sue and Dave
(Mr Ed)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Having driven past this hotel several times during our weeks holiday, we decided to call in for Sunday dinner. What a pleasant surprise. Service friendly, food great. Would def visit again when in the area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ken Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ken Bridge Hotel

Address: New Galloway DG7 3PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > New Galloway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ken Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ken Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ken Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.