We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cross Keys Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cross Keys Hotel to your Saves list
The Cross Keys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   High Street, New Galloway DG7 3RN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 New Galloway B&B and Inns
Kingswinford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

It was not just dog tolerant, but dog friendly. Dogs were allowed free roam and there was access to the yard et the end of the corridor and the service was relaxed, we were allowed an extra room with no extra cost simply because it was available! The food was to die for, good quality meat reasonably priced and there was a good range of the classics, not fancy or tiny meals, just good quality pub grub. I thought I'd died and gone to heaven eating the steak pie! There was no reason to travel out to find pubs when there's the best you could hope for right downstairs. Breakfast was excellent, staff very attentive, sue seemed to know what we wanted before we even asked for it. It was pot luck to end up there, we just wanted a stop on the way to a different part of Scotland, but we're really glad to have stayed there, it was excellent, we shall definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

There is nothing wrong with the food except the price.

Charged far too much for what is essentially very basic fare but as they are the only show in town of an evening .......

On the up side the owner is friendly, as are the locals, and the dog Oscar is an internet star. No, he really is.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel only ate there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Staff were very helpful and the room was clean and very comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here one night on the way to a wedding.

We were greeted, entertained and well looked after by the staff. Food was very good, and the pub atmosphere very friendly - we were joining in with the locals in this lovely little village.

The rooms were fine and just what we needed after a long days drive.

I wish we could have stayed longer and used the hotel as a base to view the nearby amazing countryside!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Greeted by a lively, welcoming, friendly landlady and her dogs...yes it's a dog friendly inn with atmosphere and character. I was made to feel part of the family and that extended to the adjoining local pub where I felt valued and at home in this small Galloway town. Menu honest, wholesome pub style food using local produce..which works here! Good generous breakfast. My double room was spotlessly clean and cozy...I slept well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

the Hotel is worm very clean the food is excellent the landlady is very professional with a hands on approach to the cooking and service the staff are very welcoming and helpfull , big log fire in the bar area were the locals make you feel welcome i have been coming to the area for over 30 years and this hotel is the best in the area well done keep up the good work .
PS
i think a chest freezer would be good for the fishermen apart from that well done

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The double room was small but very clean and fresh. The en-suite was a decent size and again very clean. Plenty of tea/coffee biscuits supplied but disappointed that there were no toiletries except soap. Host and staff very friendly and the bar was cosy and a nice place to be in the evenings. Food was ok but overpriced and breakfast uninspiring-no frills. There is no-where else to eat in this town. Paid £88 for room per night which was a bit too much taking everything into consideration.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not under the eaves-sloping ceilings can mean bumped heads and restricted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cross Keys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys Hotel

Address: High Street, New Galloway DG7 3RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > New Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Galloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Keys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17C former coaching in is at the top of Loch Ken and on the edge of the Galloway Forest Dark Sky Park. It is set in the centre of the smallest and most picturesque Royal Burgh in Scotland. We have 10 cosy en-suite bedrooms with TV/DVD/Radio and tea and coffee making facilities, a traditional bar with a good selection of Malts and a welcoming log fire and an excellent restaurant specialising in fresh local produce. Wi-fi access throughout Hotel. This is the perfect base to unwind and explore the outstanding natural beauty of South West Scotland. You can enjoy walking, cycling, shooting or stalking, fishing, golf, birdwatching, photography and painting, watersports.........Or just totally relax and do nothing....We welcome well behaved and "dog friendly" dogs. TRADITIONAL HOSPITALITY AT ITS VERY BEST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cross Keys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.