We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay at super location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summer Hill House
Save
You added Summer Hill House to your Saves list
Hawthorn Road | Charlton Down, Charminster DT2 9UU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Charminster B&B and Inns
Assen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb stay at super location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

A super place to stay in a beautiful area, very friendly and a stunning set of rooms. I WILL BE BACK THERE. it was first class.

Roger Hibberd

  • Liked — It was so classy..lovely ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

Three of us stayed at this delightful Victorian country house in a hamlet called Charlton Down (which is just outside Dorchester).

There are only 3 guest rooms in this elegant, tastefully decorated house - all are luxuriously fitted. My husband & I stayed in the very large super-king sized bedroom which was decorated in pretty lavender shades and had the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in.
My mother had a spacious double bedroom with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. The rooms both had well-equipped en-suite bathrooms with lots of towels, toiletries and bath robes. One little extra which was certainly appreciated by my sweet-toothed partner was little dishes of chocolates in every room!

Jill and her family were charming and made us very welcome. There was a TV lounge provided for guests with dvds and a lovely open fireplace. The breakfast room is elegant like all the other rooms we saw. The table was groaning with food - nothing was too much trouble for Jill.

The house is set in very large grounds with super views over the open countryside and for the energetic there was even a full size tennis court provided.
This guest house has all the facilities usually found in a 5 star hotel, we shall definitely be back.

  • Liked — attention to detail, fantastic beds
  • Disliked — no tv in room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

We came to Summer Hill House with my girlfriend looking for a romance, peace and quiet and a bit of luxury and found it all in abundance.
Summer Hill House is actually located in a tiny village called Charlton Down, within a reasonably short drive from the Dorset coastline. We found the house to be absolutely fabulous - it has a feel of a retreat for rich and beautiful. It is very well taken care of, with spacious rooms and corridors and plenty of little finishing touches (think flowers, figures, paintings, candles and so on) - it seemed to us to be one of those houses that are loved by owners and return this love to their inhabitants..
Upon arrival, we were welcomed and shown around and made feel like home, in a warm and casual way - exactly what we wanted, without any stiffness or unease.
Room we got was simply beautiful: warm, clan and, well, very romantic. Great cosy bed, en-suite with bath and shower and plenty of small bits and pieces (candles, chocolates, Karen Millen bath oil, cards of recommended local restaurants, etc..). If we had a rich cousin with a blue blood in her veins and come to stay with her for the weekend, this was the room we would probably get. And having taken a peek at other rooms, they all seemd to be liked this and each with individual character.
Breakfast was so good, from the selection of muesli and fruits (strawberries!) to a local free range eggs. And it was so nice to come to the dining room in the morning and be greeted by a friendly 'good morning' and an authentic warm smile - good way to start your day.

All in all, really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the Summer Hill House. It felt more like a rich friend's house than a B&B and we found it a perfect hideaway. It is a sort of place that makes you feel like a royalty for a few days.

  • Liked — Ambience and a touch of luxury
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

We stayed at the Summer Hill House in Mid August 2007 for five nights. We loved every minute of our stay. We felt like royalty in this large Victorian home with 10" ceilings in every room. We were fortunate to stay in the Deluxe room which was so spacious and the decor was unbelievable. We were made to feel welcome the minute we arrived and enjoyed amazing full english breakfasts every day. Jill is such a wonderful hostess and she truly makes you feel comfortable and at home. The Dorchester area is really spectacular. We enjoyed driving around the area and seeing the beautiful countryside. We would recomend the Summer Hill house to everyone and encourage anyone visiting the Dorset area to make sure they stay at this terrific B&B.

  • Liked — The house is really spectacular
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Hill House

Address: Hawthorn Road | Charlton Down, Charminster DT2 9UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Charminster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Hill House is a large Victorian English Country Home/retreat. We offer a peaceful, 4 star Bed and Breakfast and beautiful rooms in elegant surroundings. We pride ourselves on our warm and friendly hospitality and our attention to detail. We have beautiful grounds, fabulous views of the Dorset countryside, with full size tennis court, free to guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summer Hill House Hotel Charminster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.