We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Weary Ploughman Inn

The Weary Ploughman Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Weary Ploughman Inn to your Saves list
The Weary Ploughman Inn
Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers TQ5 0LL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

A one night stay for a business visit nearby and a delight in every way!

Arrived before midday but immediately made to feel welcome. Fortunate in being able to check-in straightaway. The room was immaculate and spacious.

Dinner was superb. Dishes were home cooked and tasty. The wine list contained some unusual and well selected choices, made even better because all wines were available by the glass.

The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. An early departure the next morning (before breakfast hours) was not a problem as cereal was delivered to the room the night before.

Hope to have the opportunity to stay again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable experience and do appreciate your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
44
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was my 3rd time that I have stayed at the Weary ploughman and have never been disappointed, the owners and staff are very helpful and welcoming, the room was very clean and tidy and the good was excellent. I will always try and stay here when visiting customers in the south west area

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review, we all do try hard to give our over-night guests, and restaurant customers, an enjoyable experience and really appreciate your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

me and my partner got a very warm welcome from the staff , we had experienced some car trouble and the staff were very helpful and offered us all the help we needed, such a lovely place to stay very clean and comfortable, the food is excellent and the service is second to none would definitely recommend a visit.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write you kind review of The Weary Ploughman Inn. We were pleased to be able to help and hope that your car is behaving itself now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Travelling from Cornwall to Bournemouth for the Channel crossing, We spent the night here. Spacious room, quiet in spite of pub downstairs. Not cheap but found the restaurant menu cheaper than expected (and excellent food!). Friendly, hard-working staff. Good breakfast. Only disappointing thing is that for wifi (advertised as free internet) one has to register somewhere which isn't free as one gets spammed from here to eternity - so we did not do that: hence the 'average' classification for the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us. I'm sorry you felt our room charges "weren't cheap" but they reflect the high standard of the fittings and facilities in the rooms. We do try not to over-charge - as you noticed with our restaurant menu prices, even though the dishes are made with good quality, freshly prepared ingredients which are sourced as locally as possible.
With regard to the WiFi registration, it is a free service that we offer and I can only assume that, when you registered, you did not notice the box you needed to tick in order to indicate that you did not want to receive any of the 'spamming' items.
I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We got a very warm welcome from Simon who greeted us on our arrival, our room was spacious, clean and well equiped for a comfortable stay. We used the resturant in the evenings, food was excellent (credit to the chef) and the service "5 star!" by the friendly staff.
Breakfast in the morning-excellent! served once again by warm friendly staff.
Nothing was too much trouble, thank you all for making our visit an enjoyable experiance, we will be back when we are down this way again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Many thank for your kind review and awarding us 5 points. Our staff 'do us proud' and are a great bunch to work with. They work hard to give our overnight guests and restaurant customers an enjoyable experience and we're pleased to read that this was the case for you. When you next visit us you might like to try one of our Gourmet Pizzas - we have installed an Italian pizza oven and are making freshly made, top quality 'home-made' pizzas.
Once again, thank you for your complimentary review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay here as soon as we were greeted by claire when we first arrived, it just got better we were able to check in early as are room was vacant the night before, and the room was amazing with a great walk in shower and lots of light.
We booked a table for dinner and this was the cherry on top we both thought the food was beautiful. Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are always working hard towards our aim of giving our over-night guests and restaurant customers an enjoyable experience when they visit us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was our first return visit to the WP with friends for a couple of years and we were certainly
not disappointed.The welcome was warm and the Inn has been equipped and decorated to a high
standard. The menu for lunch/dinner had a great choice at a sensible price.The food itself was
very good and was enjoyed very much by all in our group.The Lord will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wearyploughman, Owner at The Weary Ploughman Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you 'your lordship' for taking the time to write your very kind review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your return visit to us. Our aim is to give our customers/over-night guests a really enjoyable experience and we are glad all our hard work achieved this.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Weary Ploughman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weary Ploughman Inn

Address: Dartmouth Road, Churston Ferrers TQ5 0LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Churston Ferrers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Churston Ferrers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weary Ploughman was extensively refurbished to a very high standard over the last few years. Every room has been tasefully decorated and the ensuite bathrooms have been renewed, or in the case of room 3 - a shower room. All the furnishings are of a good quality and the beds renewed in July 2012. Each room has a 26" Sony flat-sceen Freeview television, hair-dryer and a large ceiling fan, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. All bedrooms are on the first floor and we do not have a lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Weary Ploughman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Weary Ploughman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.