We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colliery

The Colliery
High Jobs Hill, Crook, England
01388 762511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 19 Restaurants in Crook
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British, English, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very nice pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Called in on spec for wife's birthday. Walked in met by pleasant staff, friendly, explained all menus and specials. We choose from 2 for £10, and were surprised at quality an size of portions. We couldn't eat it all. We'll be coming back and Would recommend this place to any one. Have a meal here and disagree with me!!! Enjoy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
785chris, Owner at The Colliery, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for your top review we try very hard to make all our customers visit experince a good one and it great to know when we have it right thanks
we look forward to seeing you soon i hope
christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great 25th birthday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had my 25th birthday meal at the colliery. We were a group of 7 and we pre booked about 3 days before. Much to my surprise we arrived to find a table all laid up and decorated with happy birthday banners. We ordered our starters and mains and enjoyed a drink. Menu choice was good pub fayre and a good price. Food service was prompt and the quality could not be questioned. We could not fault the service not the quantity of food. The meal was capped off nicely with a surprise complimentary drink, piece of birthday cake and candle for good measure. Very warm and welcoming place. I would recommend it to anyone for an evening meal, drink and good company. Keep up the good work.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
785chris, Owner at The Colliery, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
thanks for this lovely review we where only to pleased to have you and we look forward to seeing you again soon i hope
Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't fault it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Fantastic service, food and value for money.
We have been coming here for some time now both as a couple and with family & friends. The staff are so very friendly and welcoming its a pleasure to eat there!!

Keep up the good work guys you have customers for life in us =D

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
785chris, Owner at The Colliery, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Why thank you, it is always a great boost to us when some one tells us we are doing a good job thanks
christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Today I had lunch with my hubby and two friends. Nice warm welcome on arrival food first class good selection,and well priced 2 meals for £10.served by friendly and cheerfull staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
785chris, Owner at The Colliery, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
thank you so much for this great review we are pleased you enjoyed it and we hope to see you again soon!

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I love this place..

Cold November at around 5pm. Walking in being instantly recognised and greeted, the surroundings
are warm and welcoming. Customer service. Which is key for any establishment. This country side restaurant were exceptional! To the bar staff and to the waiter. The food was amazing, portion was great and timing was almost seamless between courses!. Would recommend this place for everyone!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
785chris, Owner at The Colliery, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We thank you for your 5 star review and will pass on your kind words, we work very hard to make your visit a very enjoyable one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colliery also viewed

Crook, County Durham
Crook, County Durham
 

Been to The Colliery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colliery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.