We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay In Three Months” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Penrallt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Penrallt to your Saves list
Hotel Penrallt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   off B433, Aberporth SA43 2BS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberporth
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Second Stay In Three Months”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second visit, after a New year stay with friends. We had the same room (No 3) both times and thoroughly enjoyed both visits.
The hotel is located conveniently on the outskirts of the lovely village of Aberporth, just outside Cardigan. It's not the best known area for visitors compared to neighbouring pembrokeshire but is well worth a visit. There are several small coastal villages nearby with excellent beaches (packed in Summer) and wonderful walks, includng the Welsh Coastal Path. Cardigan itself is not particularly attractive but has several quirky, independent shops as well as a few chains and a very good theatre/cinema.
The staff at the Penrallt were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Good breakfasts. The room is large and comfortable, with a quaint wooden balcony. Flat screen TV, twin beds. A good bathroom, although the bath could be tricky to get out of if you are not that flexible or steady on your feet, as there is a step down from the tub.
The hotel is an old family home and in places shows its age, but it is individual and very clean and maintained. Pleasant dining room, bar area and lounge. The recption area is quite confined and small but we liked the entrance area and stairwell.
There is an indoor pool, although we have yet to use it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    78
    45
    24
    8
See reviews for
31
132
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our room was a reasonable size, clean and fairly recently decorated. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel grounds were lovely. The pool however was decidedly chilly as was the jacusi. I realise though that heating a pool is an expensive business, particularly when the weather is very cold and few people want to use it. Our experience of the food was very mixed - a steak that was so tough that half of it was inedible, chips that were reheated, and salad that was brown round the edges. The manager did do the right thing and offered to refund that meal. The other food (we ate 2 dinners in the hotel) was acceptable but not great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Sunday lunch booked arrived on the board driving up thought oh thats good Johannsens guide and best loved hotels. and AA Rosette award for food... Arrived very thought outside rather tired and needed a coat of paint... once inside dark and needing a total re decorate! starters nice the risotto mushroom and herb oil, my husbands soup came with a roll that was so hard we banged it on the table to show the waitress who was apologetic, then roast pork was my lunch arrived without the apple sauce when I asked the apple sauce the reply was the chef didnt make enough so its all gone!!!

There is no attention to detail at all a real shame because could be a gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have just returned from The Penrallt having been at a wedding where they had exclusive use, which perhaps impacted on some of my comments.

Firstly, the hotel is in a stunning location, we had amazing views down to the sea from our bedroom windows - a joy to open the curtains and see that view.

Reception staff were exceptionally friendly and showed us to our room. Room 2. A lovely big room - more of a suite, which looked like it had been refurbished recently in a country style - I was really impressed. The bathroom was a let down..very small and dated.

The bed was very comfy, my only complain is that it is verynoisy..classic converted house..noisy floorboards above, you could hear people running taps or their baths. We could hear furniture being dragged around in the room below...that however was probably due to getting ready for the wedding than usual behaviour.

I woul ome to this hotel again..food was lovely and everyone was very friendly...i might just bring some ear plugs.

Room Tip: One facing the sea for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were here Monday and Tuesday of last week. The weather was favorable for the two days with some sunshine! The hotel was quite full so we were lucky to be put in one of their best suites! The view of the sea was beautiful and there was a small balcony which we would have been able to use if the weather was warmer!
Staff and managers were very friendly. Facilities in the room were good. We were very comfortable. We used their pool and Jacuzzi in the leisure complex a small distance from the main area. As we were hungry on arrival we decided to use the cafe at the leisure area. Although we enjoyed this snack we realised that we would have had a much nicer one at the main hotel. We thought they were only serving larger meals!
Dinner in the main restaurant was excellent. We both opted for duck which was perfectly cooked to our liking. The bar was priced reasonably. Breakfast was also good with an excellent choice of warm food on the menu.
This is an hotel we would recommend to our friends and hopefully we will have an opportunity of visiting again.

Room Tip: We were in room 14 which was at the top of the hotel and facing the sea! Rooms were well heated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely hotel, very welcoming and friendly staff. Room was clean, very large and traditionally furnished which suited the country setting. Roomy bathroom. On arrival our room was upgraded at no extra charge. Two restaurants in hotel and we ate in both. Bay restaurant was not busy and food could have been served at a hotter temperature, disappointed with main meal. Waiter serving us was very attentive and pleasant which made complaining difficult. Food in terrace was very good with a more relaxed atmosphere, food was served hot. Breakfast was generous but again needed to be hotter. Ideal location for a relaxing stay, short drive to Cardigan and Aberaeron. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

just returned from a 2 night stay at the penrallt hotel. thoroughly enjoyed our stay. it is an edwardian hotel set in its own grounds on the outskirts of aberporth. we were surrounded by daffodils, snowdrops and little lambs.Views over tresaith headland from the front were beautiful.The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was lovely. There was plenty of choice of breakfast including leek welsh cakes with laver bread. The ingredients were sourced locally and were delicious. The log fires were lit and everything was clean and warm. The pool was available but it wasnt quite warm enough for us. i enjoyed the peace and quiet and the lack of background music at breakfast as we got chatting to fellow guests. A lovely part of wales close to many beautiful beaches which at this time of year were deserted . a lovely break.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front with balconies have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Penrallt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penrallt

Address: off B433, Aberporth SA43 2BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Penrallt 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Penrallt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrallt Hotel Cardigan
Hotel Penrallt Aberporth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Penrallt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.