We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Aviators Point Of View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial War Museum Duxford

Imperial War Museum Duxford
Duxford Airfield, Duxford CB22 4QR, England
+44 1223 835000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Duxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: IWM Duxford tells the story of the impact of aviation on the nature of war and on people's lives. Set within Britain's best-preserved Second World War fighter station, seven impressive hangars filled with extraordinary collections and state-of-the-art exhibitions take you on an unforgettable journey through times of war and peace.
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
“An Aviators Point Of View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Today I flew into Duxford after a relatively short flight from Peterborough in a Piper Arrow that I fly. Had previously flown into Duxford a couple of times over the past thirty years but it had been a while. Obtained my PPR on the phone, very helpful ATC with simple airfield joining instructions. As expected on arrival no delay dispute training flights going on, the runway is superb and very well maintained. Taxied around to the Eastern apron for my parking and was met by an enthusiastic gentleman in the 'mobile, ATC vehicle and armed with maps and helpful advice. Strolled over to the site entrance/shop to pay my landing fee. For the Arrow it was £13.95 which includes two hours admission a bargain. All the staff were very friendly. Had a good look around the exhibits then departed back home ( no traffic jams either!) all in all a great place to visit wether your flying in or driving. I never get bored with the place, so much to see.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,226
    302
    51
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth Garden City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A superb day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

What's to dislike? This is a great museum with a host of special events, flying days etc, that make a great day for the entire family.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service - for now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I took my grandfather to Duxford to see the Spitfire he flew whilst in the RAF. They have a mobility bus which is available to all - but it is a very well kept secret. Luckily a very helpful member of staff saw my grandfather struggling and radioed for the minibus. The driver couldn't have been more enthusiastic or helpful and soon had another amazing member of staff show my grandfather around some spitfires. It was the best day out my grandfather has had for ages.... the minibus driver even found time to take my grandfather around the Mark 24 Spitfire we had come to see....listened intently to his stories and added a few anecdotes of his own. Superb - but astonishingly I also learnt that the museum is outsourcing its visitor service team and many of the dedicated and extraordinarily helpful people will be losing their jobs. Such a shame. Take my advice and go now while they are still there. And don't forget to ask for the minibus as the site is one mile long.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Bitter disappointment.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I arrived with American guests on Thursday 2nd January 2014, only to find the museum shut. Unscheduled closure due to storm damage. No mention on the website when I checked on 1st January. Are they saying that all buildings were affected and justified closure of the ENTIRE site? Or is this yet another example of Health and Safety gone mad? A bitter disappointment after a long journey. No, I'll not trouble to go again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My generation grew up after WW2 but our parents served in it and my Father was in the RAF Bomber Command 9 Squadron so I was quite knowledgeable but fascinated to see this extensive exhibition and massed historic planes. The day was hot and sunny and the extensive hangars and building were easy to walk between ( fair distances) and each one held an amazing wealth of planes and exhibits and information. If you like planes and even if you're not bothered, once you have been around this site you'll find them intriguing. WW2 fighter control room, V1 rocket, every war plane you can imagine from WW1 fighters to Blackbird spy plane. You can take a ride in a historic passenger plane and there seems to be activity everywhere and in my case Spitfire Mk9 taking off and landing.

Kids and Grand Parents are well catered for and I took a packed lunch and drink and could just stop when I wanted. Souvenir shop is extensive and you can find some very interesting item for all ages.

Great day out, well worth the entrance fee and educational too

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial War Museum Duxford also viewed

 

Been to Imperial War Museum Duxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial War Museum Duxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.