We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The John Barleycorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The John Barleycorn to your Saves list
The John Barleycorn
Moorfield Road, Duxford CB22 4PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Duxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A little gem....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My hubby and I have stayed in castles and country house hotels a plenty but can honestly say this place is a real find!
We arrived on a cold snowy night to a warm welcome, the pub is charming and full of character. The staff were friendly and helpful.
We had the Sunday roast (lamb) which was great quality and filling. Followed by choc brownie with ginger ice cream which was delicious.
We stayed in room 2. The rooms are like the tardis - bigger on the inside! The room was clean, the bed comfy and we appreciated little things like bottled water and the flat screen tv with iPod/iPhone docking so we could listen to our own music and charge up the phone.
Breakfast was again of the highest quality and really tasty - a great way to start the day.
I really hope we get to stay here again before too long...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    52
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
70
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Arrived for midweek lunch at the same time as a party of 12. The staff took everything in their stride, apologised for a possible delay....that was not the case....and served everyone very efficiently. Good beers, well looked after, nice wine list and extensive menu from sandwiches (some of the best we have had) to lovely looking steak pies which were very well received by the next table! More people arrived and were efficiently served.
The ambience was really good with regulars drinking at the bar, regulars eating, party going well and us outsiders being very solicitously looked after.
Worth another visit or two....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend visiting Cambridge to go for a wine tasting day out near by. We found the customer service to be extremely good; we arrived early, before check in and needed to leave our car there for the wine tasting - when we asked for taxi numbers to get to the vinyard, the owner said he would drive us!! It was so kind of him and it saved us money.
The room was a cosy converted stable, classy and finished to a high spec - clean warm and quaint; we loved the original beams with an inspiring quote painted on it.

Breakfast was delicious and the pub itself is gorgeous - it had a vintage cottage vibe, busy with lots of historic and interesting wall features, photos, etc. This made it feel welcoming and personal - just like the wonderful service we received!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived as a family of 5 when our original pub destination was closed for a wedding.
Very nice atmosphere and setting. We were told that because the kitchen was busy and other orders went in ahead of us, despite us having a full table, it would take a while to take our order.
After 30mins we asked for some bread that took 20 to come and the water never came - we were not treated as guests, but had been warned. After an hour we were told that they would take our order after desserts to other more important tables( our words not theirs - the servers were polite and friendlythroughout) were served after 1 hour 20 minutes we ordered - it took another 20 and were eating ! 1 hour 40 minutes after arriving. So don't show up late for lunch - if it is late and it is busy - find somewhere else! Try booking perhaps??

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I called in here for a bite to eat and a pint when staying in Duxford for work and I have to say the food was very good, especially for the price but would have still been good had it cost more.

The beer selection was good and well looked after.

As for atmosphere, I have never seen this pub empty and there is good reason; it is hospitable pub in an age of corporate drinking dens and deserves to be held as a typical village pub.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

To be honest - I was getting concerned about my booking at this place as the date for our stay approached. I had stayed at the pub before and had been very pleased, but then I read about change of ownership and not so good feedback.

Well, I shouldn't have worried! I was greeted by a friendly member of staff who took me to the room immediately and asked whether we required a table for dinner. Room was clean and comfortable as before. Yes, you not staying in the main building, but in the annexe, but that's quite clear from previous reviews and photographs, so don't moan about it! It is also quite convenient because you are closer to the car park.

Quiet place at night, so you get a really good sleep, excellent shower, very fluffy bath towels, plenty of toiletries, excellent breakfast in the morning. We particularly enjoyed the company of the little 'Cambridge' bear in the room! No problem making a reservation for a table for the second night of our stay and the table was ready on the dot at 21:00. Steaks arrived in good time and the meal was good quality and plenty of food to enjoy.

I'm looking forward to an excuse to stay at the John Barleycorn again!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are the same size and standard, any of them will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Booked this as the reviews were good and an ideal stop of on the way home from a holiday. Thought the rooms would be in the pub but outbuildings which was a bit disappointing as the hotel looked full of character. Rooms OK but right next door to the main entrance of the pub which was noisey from the constant bang from the main door. The pub was lovely though and staff friendly and attentative, food excellant! Nice atmosphere. Breakfast very good. Agree with a previous review, would come back for the food, not so keen on the sleeping arrangements.

Room Tip: Try to get one further from the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The John Barleycorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Barleycorn

Address: Moorfield Road, Duxford CB22 4PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Duxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Duxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The John Barleycorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The John Barleycorn Duxford, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The John Barleycorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.