We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal and staff 5+++++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boyne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Boyne Hotel to your Saves list
The Boyne Hotel
2 North High Street, Portsoy AB45 2PA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Portsoy B&B and Inns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal and staff 5+++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently went to boyne for a meal after many friends and family saying to try there food as they were impressed the food was fantastic all home made and fresh the staff were very welcoming and the atmosphere from the place and the staff were superb u dont get many places that the staff interact with customers and with our children aswell they didnt mind the mess or noise from the children they interacted with them and were drawing pictures with them this is definatly the most polite,welcoming,hotel i have been to and will most definatly be back again with my family 5++++

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsoy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of us had a lovely meal at the Boyne Hotel tonight. I particularly liked the homemade burger, homecooked chips and delicious fruit crumble, custard and Portsoy ice cream. We all had generous portions and a good value for money, no fuss meal. Reece who served us was a very polite and attentive young man and a credit to the service team. It was good to see the place so busy and we will certainly return at a future date. Well done guys we felt really welcome and very much enjoyed the food.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to the boyne for small catch up with friends had a most enjoyable night here the food service was great and quick too considering they were quite busy when the food arrived was all really lovely ! Couldn't fault it atall and very reasonably priced too a lovely young lad on service by the name of Reece couldn't do enough well done young man will definatley be back ( Jackie macduff )

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There were 4 of us for lunch and we all enjoyed. Warm welcome by the staff, food was very tasty, lovely to have home made chips. Would have preferred a plate rather than a slate but I'm being picky as everything else was great.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Booked through work on first arrival went to bar to get keys, had to fill in a customer form even though room was booked, shown to my room by a friendly member of staff makes a world of difference that staff care.

Pros-
Clean
Free wifi
Next to the sea
Friendly staff member
Locals drinking in the bar

Bad points-
Shower was poor
Laptop sized tv
My stay was noisy lots of talking
Windows don't stay open.

All in all I would stay again, I can't comment on food as haven't tried it, it's a friendly family run hotel would be happy to come back if above problems were fixed. Pros outweigh the cons in my opinion.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Stayed here 3-4 times a week for 4 months whilst working in the area. (Aug 14 - Nov 14)
The rooms were comfortable, modern and are serviced daily. The recent renovation of the hotel is evident.
Over the duration of my stay I think I tried all the dishes available on the menu, and I can honestly say not one dissapointed. The food was excellent!
Hotel staff were all warm and friendly, creating a nice family atmosphere.
I could see over my time here the hotel changing all the time. Under new ownership, the management are gradually making their own mark on the place with continued improvements.
I have fond memories of my stay at the Boyne Hotel and made some great friends.
I look forward to my short visit back in springtime this year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Lots of work done to improve the hotel - with a nice bar / lounge

However bedroom was cold and shower faulty (hot/then freezing with poor flow)
Main light not working in breakfast room and only an ancient electric ring fire whilst eating and room cold.

All in all with competition I wouldn't return

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Boyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boyne Hotel

Address: 2 North High Street, Portsoy AB45 2PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Portsoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Portsoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Boyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boyne Hotel Portsoy, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boyne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.