We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience overall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA to your Saves list
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Sant Uffizio 1, 14030 Penango, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience overall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a great time at the Locanda. It's 4 min drive from Moncalvo, via small roads. Easy to find with a GPS. We got a free upgrade from Romantik to Junior Suite (num 42) upon arrival. Large room, huge bathroom. Tasteful decoration. Very quiet with a double door separating the bedroom from the corridor. Very, friendly and polyglot staff. We had a light lunch on a terrasse. Absolutely delicious vitello tonato coupled with a great Spritz cocktail (not cheap, though). They will open a spa in September 2012. Combine a stay at the Locanda with a visit (or more) to delightful, cheap, friendly, tasty Corona Real restaurant in nearby Moncalvo (on the main square up the hill) for a memorable Piemontese experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcocasarola, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
was a great pleasure for all of us to read your comment about the Locanda del Sant’Uffizio. We thank you so much for your time you have spent in writing the article. We are very happy that you could appreciate the charm and the unique atmosphere of our hotel facility. The opinion of our guests is very important to us because it allows us to improve our services. I hope to welcome you personally during your next relaxing & gourmet holiday.
Sincerely,
Tamara Lanteri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    83
    27
    10
    1
See reviews for
24
152
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wesmtount
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel/ small resort in the hills of Piemonte.
The hotel/facilities were above the 4 stars standards of Italy.
The service was impeccable ad well as the table.
I would rate it as a 4,5 stars hotel.
Lovely stay and relaxing.
We shall go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Locanda has a beautiful - if somewhat concealed - location (recommend you take SatNav otherwise.... good luck!). It is surrounded by vineyards and agriculture and looks spectacular as you arrive at the front of the building. The staff are really attentive at the front desk and helped us arrange some vineyard visits and booked restaurants nearby for us - all very good picks.
We had lunch in the restaurant and, whilst the food was good, it lacked a bit of atmosphere. The rooms are very adequate - I had a basic room and it was very comfortable and very reasonably priced - and have sweet balconies overlooking the gardens. There are more luxurious rooms which are bigger and slightly better appointed. There is a nice pool too in the gardens and a short walk from the hotel (up the hill) is a pretty church with great views across the vineyards and countryside.
This would be a great destination for a couple who are looking for a romantic getaway and want to enjoy some fine wine and food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were travelling from the Aosta Valley down to Firenze and decided to make a stop somewhere in the middle of the trip to rest. We chose this beautiful Locanda in the Monferrato Hills near Asti. The place is fantastic, very well done, the whole place is beutifully renovated and the views are superb. We had a great rate of EUR 120 with breakfast, the room was big, clean and very well tendered. The breakfast was excellent so totally 5 stars. Problem was that on our way to the place the main road was closed by the police and it was an absolute nightmare to get there. We had to drive around for 1 hour in the middle of the night and would like to thank the staff for being so helpful and guiding us safely to the property. Certainly it was a great adventure to kick our stay in Italy. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were two couples from US travelling for two weeks in Northern Italy. Locanda del Sant'Uffizio was our last stop for a relaxing three days in the Piemonte before returning home. A lovely location with well kept grounds and charming views was a good place to relax and also as a home vase as we spent two days touring wineries in the Langhe. There were a few issues, mostly not the hotel's fault as an unusual storm the day before had caused some electrical problems. When we arrived the air conditioning in in our part of the hotel (junior suites) was not working and internet service was not available. We were greatly impressed by the efforts of the staff, especially the reception manager, Gianpaolo, to make our situation as comfortable as possible. Air conditioning was restored by 10:00 and wi-fi in the hotel lobby by the next day. A nice breakfast and innovative cuisine in the dining room. Generous parking, some spaces covered, with no additional charge for parking. The location is a little remote but quiet and relaxing and we found it an easy drive (45 minutes or less) to all of the major sites in the Piemonte wine region. We rented junior suites. Room 38 was comfortable but room 39 was a little warm even when the air conditioning was working. Room 39 had only one cooling unit vs 2 in room 38 and only one window vs 2 in 38. We stayed in June but during some unseasonably warm weather (highs in the 32-35 range). Altogether we were pleased and found the dedication of Gianpaolo and staff exceptional.

Room Tip: Junior suites are an excellent choice but it may be best to avoid room 39.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Locanda is very comfortable and well represented by the photos. Great ambiance, comfortable furnishings, good food and very accommodating staff.
The gardens are well maintained and the pool inviting. While the views from the property overlook some rolling hills and some vistas are quite beautiful, I did not find the overall Monferrato region living up to my expectations. If I were to visit the area again though, I would say this is probably one of the very best choices around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I spent in Locanda Sant'Uffizio some days for the Easter Holudays. It is a fantastic place, quiet, warm and romantic. The view is superbe and people are very kind. I appreciate very much the welcome, the garden and the places around. The hotel is central for trips in the Monferrato region. The restaurant is very good and the breakfast very satisfying!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA

Address: Strada Sant Uffizio 1, 14030 Penango, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Penango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Sant’Uffizio – Wellness & SPA Hotel Piedmont ItalyA romantic oasis of peace and quiet, tucked away in the calmness of the Monferrato and Piedmont vineyardsIt is the ideal place to regenerate, discover the peace and quiet of nature and the scent of the vineyards, while tasting the dishes and wines that make this paradise on earth famous all over the world. The Relais Sant’Uffizio, Wellness Hotel & SPA, that dates back to the seventeenth century, has now regained its old glory thanks to a very careful renovation. The rooms and suites are big and have been renovated restoring the nineteenth century frescos, the Virgin Mary icons and the old chambers of the monks of the convent.Opended in 2012, the new SPA AQUANATURA, which is proportionally divided into the centre’s various zones:-Hydro Pool Zone with a water temperature of 34°; located under the majestic span of the central archway in painted chestnut.-Wet and hot area; made up of a Sauna with a view of the vineyards, Mediterranean Baths, Steam Room, Ice waterfall, and emotive showers with local scent essences.-Massage and Beauty area with four massage cubicles for massages and treatments taken care of by Comfort Zone.- The private Piedmont SPA, equipped with a double water-bed and double hydro-massageThe SPA of the Sant'Uffizio Relais rediscover the ancient traditions of the monks in the preparation of oils and creams that are made using herbs, flowers and natural spices according to the formulae and the methods of the monastic life of many centuries ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sant`Uffizio Hotel Penango
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA Penango, Italy - Province Of Asti

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.