We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River House Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River House Malham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added River House Malham to your Saves list
River House Malham
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   | Chapel Gate, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
sheffield
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“River House Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just back from a wonderful stay at the River House. The hotel is ideally placed, in the centre of Malham. We could not agree less with the previous comment that the hotel is "ramshackle". It is very old and extremely characterful. There are a lot of original features, some dating from the early 17th century, making it a very attractive place to stay. The bedroom was cosy, the bed extremely comfortable and the bathroom spacious. Everything was very clean. The breakfasts were brilliant, and set us up so well for the day that we didnt need lunch, even though we were out on the hills all day. Lovely little touches in the bedrooms like a hot water bottle in the drawer, toiletries in the bathroom, boxes of tissues, and especially the home made cookies or flapjack that was waiting for us at the end of a strenuous days walking were very welcome. Alex and Ann were very friendly and helpful, and gave us some good advice on the area.
If you are eating out, go to the Lister Arms, the food was fantastic, as against the Buck Inn, the food there was diabolical.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which has a bath, as well as a shower. Ann said room 6 also has a bath. Great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouse1, Owner at River House Malham, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you Natasha for the lovely kind words about Alex and i and river house, really pleased you enjoyed your few days you spent with us in malham, look forwards to welcoming you back soon to River House, with regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    44
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wales uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Enjoyed a nice weekend break at River House. Hosts Ann and Alex were welcoming and helpful and place is perfectly situated in the middle of Malham village. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Parts of the house are very old but all is kept clean if a little ramshackle in places. I guess this adds to the character though. We paid £75 prpn which is about the going rate for The Dales and found this to be good value.

Just a few points to note: pillows, as in most places, were very thin and even with 3,were just about adequate.

The room, and indeed the whole place was quite chilly at times which, although a bit uncomfortable, didn't really spoil our stay.

The shower was ok but there was a VERY fine line between the water being too hot or too cold!

All in all a nice break. Thank you Ann and Alex.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouse1, Manager at River House Malham, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you to our first Twitter followers to come and stay at River House for taking the time to write your review.
After having a chat to you during your stay we got the impression you like malhamdale as you had visited it a few times before.
Had we known you felt the house was a bit chilly you should have said something during your stay and we could of have done something about it.
We shall have a look at the shower adjustment, as its a new shower in there, and you were the first guest to use it.
Yes parts of the house do date back to 1664 but not sure we are a little ramshackle ?
once again think you for your review, Ann & Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited River House in early Feb for my husband's birthday and had two nights stay. The owners were very helpful, especially with a safe location for our bikes, as we went out cycling while we were there, and lots of local advice. Our room was smaller and at the back of the house but comfortable and with a great power shower - useful after sweating up the hill to Malham Tarn! The breakfasts were excellent, lots of choice and fab porridge.. We ate at the Buck Inn next door both nights and found the food and service to be great - proper 'local' pub with friendly regulars. We also called in at the Lister Arms after walking one afternoon for beer and a late lunch and the staff were very helpful and food good. Looks more gastropub for evenings but didn't try evening meals. All in all a great child free weekend so we will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouse1, Owner at River House Malham, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, hope the training for the lands end to john o'groats cycle race is going well not been great weather, but glad you enjoyed your stay with us, having the garage is great for guest that bring there bike for tracking in the dales, hope you can return soon to us a river house, with regards Ann & Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Headed out with my fiancée for a couple of days of R n R after celebrating my 40th. Spotted the River House and it looked just what we needed, right in the heart of Malham with easy access to the various walking routes around the area. Our room was comfortable and really warm (window open while snow falling overnight says it all) They made us feel really welcome and where a great help with advice on walking routes and local weather etc. The full English breakfast in the morning is just what you need for a days walking and its to die for! Thanks again guys we will be back for sure.
Danny and Zoe

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouse1, Owner at River House Malham, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
thank you for taking the time to do a review for us at River House, it was great having you to stay for a few day after the big birthday, the hills are very pretty when there is snow on them and make a beautiful picture, but hard to walk in, but really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast and look forwards to you returning soon for a few more days in the dales, may be in warmer weather. with regards Ann and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Four of us stayed for a walking weekend in October. The owners are very nice and knowledgeable about the local walks. They offered advice in order for us to avoid the worst of the extremely muddy terrain. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. We took the 2 twin rooms which were ideal for our stay. Breakfast was lovely. This was not a greasy fry up. It was a beautifully prepared breakfast using good quality ingredients. I would recommend to pay for a packed lunch too. It was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouse1, Owner at River House Malham, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and to comment on our breakfasts, it was lovely have you all to stay at river house for your girls weekend away in October, hope we can welcome you all again soon back to river house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having had the most unbearable week my chap and I needed a break, after finding no room anywhere( or being quoted ridiculous prices) we were told about River House by the neighbouring Buck Inn. It is a beautiful house, in a perfect position slap bang in the middle of Malham. The host's were lovely and very helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and SO warm we had to open the window (yep in October). Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and my teapot produced 5 cups of tea (bonus). I find it very odd that anyone could find fault with River House but then there's " nowt as queer as folk"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouse1, Owner at River House Malham, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing River House for your weekend away in the dales, it was lovely having you both to say and for all your kind words about us, the new breakfast menu we have been doing from the beginning of October is going down a treat on a morning, big sorry for letting you get away with our keys and thank you for sending them back we got them by tuesday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed one night on the 19th of September at this place. We are not experienced in Band B accommodation but we had no choice. The room had twin single beds so hard I could not sleep at all. There was a strong smell of damp so we kept the window open all night.
We made no complains as we were going elsewhere.
No attempt to communicate with us was made by the owners who, in their greed, decided to overcharge our card by £100.00 for allegedly smoking. Nice little earner if you can get away with it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouse1, Owner at River House Malham, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We charged the reviewer above as they most definitely did smoke in the room. It wasn't just a sneaky cigarette out of the window, but several using the cups and saucers as ash trays as well as the bed side table. There are three no smoking signs in each room, as well as the T&Cs on our website how ever these were just ignored.
Until being charged the couple were happy with their stay and even took the time to write in the guest comments book "A very pleasant stay, thank you".
After being charged they then threatened us with a poor review on Tripadvisor hence the above review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River House Malham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Malham

Address: | Chapel Gate, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River House Malham 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy driving distance from Harrogate, Skipton and Kendel in the lakes, all 8 bedrooms are en-suite some with baths as well as power shower, 1 twin room set on the ground floor for the less able walker. Licensed bar/restaurant, free wifi throughout the house, lockable bike storage, free parking, laundry facilities with wood burning stove in the lounge bar, ideal for the colder months, open for dinner Tuesday to Saturday evening all year round, (Dinner is available for groups of 6 or more also open to non residents.) An ideal location to base yourselves for exploring the dales either on foot, bike or car, with the Pennine way running just past the front door, no better place to stay, a warm welcome awaits you at river house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your River House Malham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Malham Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River House Malham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.