We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garfish

Garfish
2/21 Broughton St., Kirribilli, North Sydney, New South Wales 2061, Australia
02-99224322
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 restaurants in Kirribilli
Price range: $24 - $97
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Located in Broughton Street opposite the Sydney Harbour Bridge stairs in Kirribilli, our focus is on serving the freshest fish available at a reasonable price for the ultimate seafood dining experience. We have daily blackboard specials as well as a great seasonal menu.
Gosford, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I enjoyed a very nice dinner last night at the Garfish restaurant. The food was very tasty, well presented and fresh. Starting with the rock oyster, which were excellent and moving onto Salmon garnished with kaffir lime leaves (novel but very nice).
The staff were efficient and pleasant. All in all a good night

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    35
    58
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Kirribilli is best reached by walking across Sydney Harbour Bridge from the Rocks, and the village has a number of small boutique restaurants. Garfish is bustling with outdoor seating and is perfect for brunch. The staff are efficient, they have newspapers to read, and the food is excellent, with good coffee too! On a sunny Sunday a great way to start the day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We called for a coffee having walked across the Sydney Harbour Bridge on a cool summer morning.
Service was pleasant and the coffee excellent. Best value we found anywhere in Sydney, check this place out!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Annoying let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This place is my local restaurant in kirribilli but I have only been here twice in 3 years. The first time we had such poor service my wife and I vowed never to return. However just recently we had overseas visitors stay with us and thought after 3years we would give it another try.

Unfortunately it was not much better. The service was still rather flat and charmless but overall not as bad. The thing that really annoyed us was the extra 10% surcharge, on the bill. When asked what it was for we were informed it was due to being a Sunday and the staff deserved to be paid more!

Overall the food is pretty nice here, albeit on the pricey side of things ($35+) for mains. I don't think the overall quality and general service warrants these premium rates.

I this place doesn't need to try hard anymore as it always seems to be busy due to its Nice location.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfish_Restaurants, Marketing agency at Garfish, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Vincent,

We're really sorry to hear that you've had a poor experience with us. We value all of our customer feedback, and would really appreciate following this up with you. I've sent you a message via Trip Advisor to try and get in touch.

Belinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Really enjoyed the grilled mahi mahi with awesome kumara mash.Excellent service and reasonable prices.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garfish also viewed

Kirribilli, North Sydney
 
Kirribilli, North Sydney
Kirribilli, North Sydney
 

Been to Garfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.