We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski holiday at Andorra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Segle XX

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Segle XX to your Saves list
Hotel Segle XX
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra General de Ransol s/n, Ransol AD100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ransol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ski holiday at Andorra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very nice hotel!! Close to slopes and accessible. Very friendly staff especially Elena from animacion and sheima at the bar! Also great staff at reception and in general! Would definitely recommend a stay when at Andorra!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    64
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
53
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Feels like a new hotel. Room clean comfortable big enogh. The bathroom with all the equipment needed clean and new.
Breakfast rich and tastey.
Service with a lot of kindness and smiles.
Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Visited as part of a group, no other guests at hotel (out of season for skiing).
The hotel seemed basic, but clean with amiable staff.
Local Area;
Bar/restaurant 'El Saler' appeared to be the preferred eating/drinking venue choice for some of our party (reached via stone steps opposite the hotel).
A supermarket and a few shops are located nearby (steep hill to climb on way back to hotel).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This is the 2nd time we have been to this hotel. It is located on the other side of the Ransol valley, close to the main lifts. Although it is close, it is up a steep hill, so you need to use your hire car or take the free bus down to and from the lifts. If you choose to drive yourself, be careful if there is snow/ice on the road, as this is a place you would not want to get your hire car stuck !! Parking can be hard to find around the hotel, but not impossible and they also have private parking, but this you have to pay for!
The hotel is clean and tidy, but the staff can sometimes be a little unfriendly. The rooms are always warm, but may be a little on the small size when it comes to storing ski equipment etc...
With regard to the food there is always something new on the menu, but as the hotel mainly caters for the Spanish market, may not be everyones cup of tea.
The pool is a real treat after a hard days skiing, but beware there is a cool outside dash from the hotel to the pool building, which is unwelcome if you are just in your speedo's !!
The games room and bar area are a little lifeless and it can sometimes take a while to get served, but is a nice place to meet up with friends after a day on the piste. If you are a couple and are looking to meet new people and to socialize, then you may be better taking a trip out to one of the many bars around the main area near the ski lifts.
On the whole this is a good choice if you want to be away from the main area of Pasa Del La Casa and are looking for something cheap and cheerful..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto District, Portugal
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Located in front of the parking El Tarter. El Tarter is the best location for beginners, both to beginners and experts as it is in the middle of Grandvalira.
I went to this hotel for the 2nd time. In 2006 I liked the service. Although the hotel is the same the management changed and it makes all the difference, much worse.
The hotel itself is comfortable and in good condition. It has a swimming pool, sauna, disco, TV room, games room, free internet, with lockers for skis in the garage. The food is nothing special but nice.
The employees are helpful, but not the management. Just because we are a large group always, they complicate our stay and do not treat us the same way as other guests.
Among several things, two unpleasant situations: The hotel is 15 minutes drive from the nearest lift. As the hotel is on a hill, you have to take the bus or climb over 10m with skiing equipment. The management does not want let us use the bus. On the last day as we left Andorra, we asked two rooms to change, as they did in 2006 and it was denied us.
Grandvalira is the largest resort in the Pyrenees, the snow is not as good as the Alps but it is very well treated, well connected, good parks, ice bar, and good off-piste. 200 km of fun.
Opposite the hotel you can find a supermarket with GREAT good sausages and cheeses. For other purchases go to Andorra-La-Vela, 15 minutes away. If you are going to town you MUST try CALDEA! IT'S A MUST!
The hotel has a nice nightclub. For more nightlife just go away, like Pas-La-Casa.
Dica p tugas; na estrada que vai para Pas, a 5 minutos do hotel do lado ESQUERDO, tens 1 restaurante de comida portuguesa com Sporttv onde o meu grupo viu uma bela derrota do fcp 
The hotel itself is nice and the food is not bad. But for a hotel from where it is not possible to walk to the slopes leaves much to be desired. NO MORE & NEVER AGAIN! HOTEL TO AVOID!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I have just returned from the segle xx from a 4 night stay bed and breakfast. I went as part of a tour with holiday company leger. i found the hotel to be on the basic side which did not bother me as with the areas beauty you wouldnt want to spend a lot of time in your room. Night time enternainment wasnt brilliant the bar is basic but the staff are friendly not much to do around the hotel but i think if you have a full activity calendar as we did your not wanting to be up all night. we took trips to barcelona, andorra la vella and a trip to surrounding areas as andorra is very close to spain and france there is lots to do with the right quide ours was fab. but if your not going to look at the surrounding mountains or ski then you need to sort out some trips.
over all the hotel is nice and clean with very nice staff, food a bit basic but edible.
would go back for scenery or skiing but not much elsde to do

we enjoyed our time there
paula

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

A good hotel, clean, warm with freindly staff. Our room was a bit small with limited storage space for our gear, but clean with a very good shower. We were full board, the food was good but not great but there was plenty of it. The bar/games room was a bit characterless and basic as was the "disco". Being up the hill oposite the ski slopes meant we were isolated from the other bars and resaurants in Soldeu. The hotel is too far from the ski slopes to walk although there is a minibus service, but we found this a bit restricting, so used our hire car which doubled nicely as a ski locker.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Segle XX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Segle XX

Address: Ctra General de Ransol s/n, Ransol AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Ransol
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ransol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Segle XX 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SITUATIONHotel located in the calm and picturesque village of Ransol at just 900 meters from the Ski Resort Grandvalira by its El Tarter’s access and at 17 Km from Andorra’s Shopping Center.ROOMSThe Hotel has 65 comfortable rooms, all of them equipped with complete bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, direct telephone and safety box.FACILITIES AND SERVICESThe Hotel completes its facilities with buffet restaurant (drinks not included), Western bar, TV room, games room, miniclub, wifi free zone, internet point, discotheque, garage (limited), free ski lockers laundry service and a relax zone with sauna, UV rays, massages service and indoor heated swimming pool. FREE transport to El Tarter access in stipulated timetableDAILY ANIMATION PROGRAM for adults & childrenPets are ALLOWED SITUATIONHotel located in the calm and picturesque village of Ransol at just 900 meters from the Ski Resort Grandvalira by its El Tarter’s access and at 17 Km from Andorra’s Shopping Center.ROOMSThe Hotel has 65 comfortable rooms, all of them equipped with complete bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, direct telephone and safety box.FACILITIES AND SERVICESThe Hotel completes its facilities with buffet restaurant (drinks not included), Western bar, TV room, games room, miniclub, wifi free zone, internet point, discotheque, garage (limited), free ski lockers laundry service and a relax zone with sauna, UV rays, massages service and indoor heated swimming pool. FREE transport to El Tarter access in stipulated timetableDAILY ANIMATION PROGRAM for adults & childrenPets are ALLOWED SITUATIONHotel located in the calm and picturesque village of Ransol at just 900 meters from the Ski Resort Grandvalira by its El Tarter’s access and at 17 Km from Andorra’s Shopping Center.ROOMSThe Hotel has 65 comfortable rooms, all of them equipped with complete bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, direct telephone and safety box.FACILITIES AND SERVICESThe Hotel completes its facilities with buffet restaurant (drinks not included), Western bar, TV room, games room, miniclub, wifi free zone, internet point, discotheque, garage (limited), free ski lockers laundry service and a relax zone with sauna, UV rays, massages service and indoor heated swimming pool. FREE transport to El Tarter access in stipulated timetableDAILY ANIMATION PROGRAM for adults & childrenPets are ALLOWED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Segle XX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Segle XX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.