We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Ermita

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Ermita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel L'Ermita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra de Meritxell, Meritxell AD 100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meritxell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at L'Ermita in February 3rd-10th while we were on a skiing holiday. We found the room (303) to be comfortable, nice, warm, spacious, clean, good views and quiet. There was a loft area inside the room with a ladder up to a second bed which was very useful as we put all our skiing bags up there giving us more space. The restaurant was very pleasant, the service was excellent and extremely quick and efficient (as soon as we finished the one course our next course was ready and waiting). The staff were incredibly friendly and so helpful. There are not many rooms so this made our visit quiet and meal times were not very busy.
On the last day my boyfriend became ill and we found out it was campylobactor food poisoning (probably from chicken). We are not certain it was from this hotel as we ate out in the afternoons, but he did have chicken the night before.
Apart from this the hotel was amazing. We rented a car as it is not located by a ski lift however it is a 5 minute drive to the nearest lift and and 15-20 minute drive to El Tarter where there is free car parking. The car parking was also free at the hotel.
We did not use the sauna room as you have to pay extra for it. (€6.50 for 90 minutes, which had to all be used at once)
Breakfast was basic however the fresh baguette and croissants were delicious! the owner was very kind and prepared a breakfast pack for us as we were leaving very early on the last day.
The road up to the hotel was a bit difficult on the days of heavy snow so i would defiantly recommend investing in snow shoes or chains!
This was our first holiday together and this hotel made it really special. We would definitely recommend it and we would definitely go there again!

Room Tip: We were in room 303 but I think all the rooms would be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    31
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
42
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pailhes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fab little hotel, exceptionally clean and comfortable with well decorated and equipped rooms. Food and service in the restaurant was very good. Staff were so welcoming and happy to help with everything we asked. Sauna, gym and games room an added bonus. Very quiet little village only a few minutes away from main slopes by car so very peaceful at night. Loads of parking. Great value for money - we booked based on the reviews and were not disappointed. We will definitely return. NP and RP

Room Tip: We were on top floor but efficient lift so no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeepouille, Propriétaire at Hotel L'Ermita, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks you, it was a pleasure for us to receive you this week. We hope to see you an other time with more snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful experience when spending the Christmas of 2012 in that hotel. We look for a quiet place to stay but not far from Andorra La Vella and that was a perfect choice.
The owner Mr. Jean Philippe is very kind and made our stay even nicer.
The restaurant has a good list of options and the food is great. Thank you, Chef!
For sure we recommend that hotel and we hope to be back there in a near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a 6 night skiing holiday in a last minute change of plans and found this hotel using trip advisor, and so glad I did.

The staff were wonderful and helped me plan various aspects of my trip as well as always greeting me with a smile when I came back from the snow. The staff spoke English well and there was no language difficulties. I booked with half board which allowed me to enjoy a variety of meals, breakfast was a continental buffer breakfast always served with a half baguette and croissant. Dinner is a 3 course affair with 3 choices in each course... Every serve was delicious.

The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. One tip pushing the yellow button on the tv remote lets you change some tv shows into English.

The hotel was located a few bus stops or a 20minute walk from the canillo ski area. I just walked which wasn't an issue and allowed me to take some nice pictures.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeepouille, Gérant at Hotel L'Ermita, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion about our hotel. We hope to welcome him back with us.
We wish you a very happy new year 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Fantastic little hotel, close to Encamp and la Vella. Great service, very comfortable room. Parking is free which elsewhere runs 15-20€ per day - so if you have a car this is ideal.

No A/C in our room, so during August this might be a little uncomfortable, depending on the weather.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is warm, welcoming, charming, with the kind of local character I find so appealing. My room was in such good condition I thought it was new. The owners are right there on site. ( I complimented the condition of the room, asking if it had just been remodeled, and was told a few years ago.) They and their employees are friendly and give wonderful service. They had lots of information on many activities in the area. Restaurant was excellent. Location is convenient, but off the main road and very quiet. We appreciated the free parking. We were there 2 nights...wish we could have stayed longer. Don't overlook the sanctuary across the street. I found the modern design to be very interesting, and the remnants/museum of the original that burned to be very touching.

Room Tip: If a view from your room is important, ask for it. Our room was on the first floor, street side, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have just returned from a six-night stay in this charming small hotel in the quiet village of Meritxell. This really is a great discovery - it couldn't be more different from the standard high-rise aparthotels of Soldeu - hidden away off the beaten track, yet just a five minute drive to the ski stations of Canillo and El Tarter. With comfortable rooms, a great restaurant, wi-fi that works and, best of all, a warm and friendly welcome from the co-owners Elisabet and Jean Philippe, the Hotel l'Ermita has a character much more like the small alpine hotels that we search for in France or Switzerland, yet with the traditional great value of Andorra. We have been before, and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a child-size bed hidden in their roof, reached by a ladder. Fun for 8 - 14 year old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel L'Ermita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Ermita

Address: Ctra de Meritxell, Meritxell AD 100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Meritxell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meritxell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Ermita 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the geographical centre of Andorra, right in the countryside, the Hotel de l'Ermita is settle in a quiet surrounding and at the same time convenient to the commercial heart of principality. At 5 minutes from the largest ski able area in the Pyrénées for Soldeu-El Tarter by Canillo and at 2 kms from the station Pas de la Case by the new funicamp. The Hotel de l'Ermita offers you peaceful, warm hospitable atmosphere. Its exceptional site, just 3 kms from the ice Palace and 8 kms of Caldea, allows you to engage in a whole host activities suites to all ages and tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel L'Ermita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Ermita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Ermita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.