We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for a Short Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Somrui Hotel Vall Ski

Save Saved
You added Somrui Hotel Vall Ski to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Somrui Hotel Vall Ski
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. Gral Franca km. 17.800, Incles AD100, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Incles
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Adequate for a Short Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

Just got back from a weekend stay at the Vall Ski. As far as it goes, the Hotel was perfectly adequate for our needs (a Skiing Stag Trip for 15 blokes).

Pros:

1) Rooms were clean and comfortable with good showers (and plenty of hot water)

2) All the reception staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English.

3) The food was adequate - breakfast was fairly basic but there was plenty of it. Dinner was ok too but don't expect 'Haute Cuisine'. It was pretty basic but it was well cooked and plenty of it.

4) The bar is nice and there is also a games room with pool table/darts/pinball.

5) Had a lively atmosphere with lots of school groups there when we were there.

6) A couple of bars/restaurants next door.

Cons:

1) Location. A previous reviewer had it right. This hotel is not central to either Soldeu or El Tartar but rather is almost central BETWEEN the two. The fella that booked our stay was assured that it was right in Soldeu but clearly it wasn't and he was not happy. To get to Soldeu requires a walk of at least 1 mile+ up the road. El Tartar is down the road (about 750 metres) but the road down does not have a path.

2) Food. The food is adequate only - wholesome, but I'm not sure I would be able to eat it every night for a week or fortnight. More choice of vegetables would be good too.

3) Funny smell in the lift (sewage?)

4) Surly waiting staff.

Overall, the Vall Ski was perfectly adequate for our needs. The key point to consider is the location. If you want to step out of your hotel's front door and be in the heart of the Apres Ski action then stay elsewhere in Soldeu. If that doesn't concern you, then the Vall Ski may be a good option.

  • Liked — Excellent Reception staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
19
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

Unlike previous reviews on this hotel we found the staff to be very helpful & courteous. The hotel was in a quiet position but after a long day skiing all my daughters and I wanted to do was have a quiet drink in the bar, our meal and then off to bed.The bedroom was very comfortable and warm. The breakfast was a feast and what a selection. The evening meal was also great & lots of choice. They offer a free bus service to the slopes 5 mins away & you could not meet a nicer guy that drove the bus. Nothing was too much trouble. Overall a fantastic stay & we will be going back to the same hotel next February half term.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2005

We have just returned from staying at the Vall Ski Hotel and were content with our stay. The breakfast was very limited and the staff were quiet gruff as a previous reviewer has identified. The room however was quite good and the pull out bed would have been useful if we had fallen out!! Had we realised that they had extra beds we would not have booked 2 rooms for 4 people. The temperature in the room was quite chilly and despite trying to get it to increase we didn't have much luck. There weren't any blankets in our room so the extra room that our friends had did prove useful as we used the one from there. Throughout the duration of our stay there was an awful smell in the common areas that did not carry to the rooms thank goodness. Overall the hotel lacked atmosphere, was a bit basic, although perfectly suitable for the price that we paid.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Incles hotels

Cumbria, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2005

Receptionists no speeka da eeenglish, often surly and unhelpful.
Floors in reception wet and slippy most of time.
Bar and bedrooms always cold.
No heated boot room.
Cold and greasy food and not a vegetable in sight.
2K from slopes, shops and cashpoints.
Jacuzzi nice but expensive.
Spacious rooms and comfy beds.
Cheap internet access.
Only one shovel in whole hotel to dig car out with.
Wouldn't stay there again for all the tea in China.
Sport hotel more expensive, but fantastic value for money, couldn't fault it and the food was superb.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2004

I realy loved Soldeu, very nice slopes with beautiful views, this year (Feb/Mar-2004) we stayed at Vallski Hotel.

The reception is extremely dangerous with slippery floor when wet (that is... ALWAYS), the rooms are not very hot at night and they have only one blanket to each person, we asked for more and they didn't have anymore (!!!), we used conditioned air every day at maximum power!
The restaurant was "not bad" but they can do so much better, I was expecting better anyway, and some waiters were not nice.
The cleaning team insisted, the entire week, to leave the dust under our bed (in case we missed it!???)
Well, not perfect but bearable.

Also: about 1Km far from El Tarter chairlifts (walking down) and 1.5Km far from Soldeu (walking UP), and when I called a few days before asking if it was close to "telecabina"/gondola, they said "yes of course"! Please can someone define "close" to me?

I believe they realy can do better than that!

NuxaT

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Somrui Hotel Vall Ski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somrui Hotel Vall Ski

Address: Ctra. Gral Franca km. 17.800, Incles AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Incles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Incles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Somrui Hotel Vall Ski 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in Incles Valley at just 800 meters from the Ski Resort Grand Valira by its El Tarter’s access and at 17 km of Andorra’s Shopping Centre. Services: The Hotel completes its facilities with buffet restaurant (drinks not included), cafeteria, polyvalent room, wifi free zone, internet point, garage (limited), laundry service, free ski lockers and relax zone (extra charge) with Jacuzzi, Sauna and massages service. FREE transport to El Tarter access in stipulated schedules and DAILY ANIMATION PROGRAM FOR ADULTS AND CHILDREN. Rooms: The Hotel has 37 standard rooms for a maximum of 4 people and 13 duplex for maximum 5 people, all of them equipped with bedroom and living room with nest bed, complete bathroom with hairdryer, direct telephone, Satellite TV, fridge and safety box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Somrui Hotel Vall Ski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vall Ski Hotel
Somrui Hotel Vall Ski Andorra/Incles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somrui Hotel Vall Ski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.