We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly, family-run hotel with wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palarine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palarine to your Saves list
Hotel Palarine
Carretera General d'Arinsal, Erts AD 400, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Erts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly, family-run hotel with wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just spent a week here with the family and would highly recommend it! Excellent food with themed buffet every night (Chinese/Thai, Tex-Mex, Indian, Italian, Catalan, English Roast, International), great service, generous happy hour, informal and friendly atmosphere, great for kids and very good value for money. Easy and regular access to the slopes via the free ski bus.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    25
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We've just returned after having spent a week over Christmas. We're a family of 2 adults and 2 boys age 11 &15.
It's hard not to repeat what everyone else has said but try quite rightly deserve their Tripadvisor certificate that's proudly displayed in reception.
We had a very warm welcome followed by an even warmer welcome by Graham the owner and Dave the barman. After partaking in a beer or two we were taken by Dave in the minibus upto the resort centre to sort out our ski stuff.
Arinsal is a small place with enough bars to keep you entertained for Après Ski. There is a free bus from outside the hotel to take you up and down. We always got the bus up at the beginning of the day and found it easier to hire a ski locker at the top of the Gondola to keep our stuff in, that way we could go for a drink and walk back to the hotel without having to lug all our gear. It's about a nice 15 minute walk down hill back to the hotel.
The room was huge for a quad room. Very well equipped, ladies you don't need to take your hair dryer, theirs are very good! Huge flat screen tv with English channels , loads of storage space and a huge bathroom. Very very clean and lovely and warm.
The breakfast is a combination of toast, cereals, croissants, ham, cheese and then hot items: bacon, sausage, beans & fried egg. I'm nit picking here , but the only criticism I would say is that it would have been nice to have scrambled or poached eggs every now and then or even grilled tomatoes. Also the ham & cheese was constantly having to be topped up as he only put out 6-8 slices each time. That aside the food is brilliant.
Dinner is buffet , with something to please everyone. The food changes nightly and they have a theme, Mexican, Italian, Indian, Chinese etc.
you will not go hungry, food is of an outstanding quality and probably some of the best food I've ever eaten. Everything is made fresh and the chefs are constantly checking it. Christmas dinner was out of this world! Nothing overlooked, the best I've had including my own- well done to you all.
All in all a very nice small hotel, everyone's friendly , it's very clean, warm, fab food and great bar with happy hour and a log fire! Yes , it's not in the centre of Arinsal, but give me this hotel over any other any time. The boys loved it, my youngest made great friends with Josh the owners son, many a battle done on the PS3 and iPads! Thank you for such a great holiday,we're already planning our next visit . If anime has any questions about anything I don't mind you messaging me .

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balearic islands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

just stayed here for one week and it was all good,everybody worked hard to deliver a great time for their guests.nice size rooms ,good breakfast,pleasant bar area,parking .the list goes on .we had Christmas dinner ,included in our room rate which was superb.
we went here on a recommendation of a friend and weren't dissapointed.we also ate al a carte chinese on two nights, delicious. we will be back !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I can´t really say enough good words about tis place. We stumbled upon it last year and ate the food. And was blown away. I am a real foodie and very fussy, especially with asian food as I cook it a lot for groups. And would say I am probably in the top few percent knowledgable about asian cuisine. The food is excellent!!! Impossible to find better asian food in Barcelona (where I have been living for some years). The Szechuan dish is exceptional but everything is good from the peking duck to spring rolls to thai curry to teriyaki beef fillet to the dim sum. The majority is home made with love and care.

This time we stayed for 3 days and ate there every day and it was a real pleasure. Food exceptional, the bar cosy and inviting, nice atmosphere and very friendly staff. We felt like part of the family and Graham even took our son with his son and his friends to the cinema.

On our last day as it was a quiet midweek day b4 season fully started they made us all a full English breakfast with all the trimmings and asked us what time we wanted it.

English tv in the rooms and in bar...including Sky sports. Parties with many locals there appreciating a great place. This is such a great find. Book, stay, eat here, you will not be sorry. I recommend eating the a la cart menu rather than buffet as it is so good it would be criminal not to eat it...

Happy hour 5 til 6. I didn´t know and they came and told me I have an extra drink...

I love this place, the staff and the family. A 9.5 out of 10! Only missing full 10 as our room never got fully warm but it was the only room like this as it was the biggest family room. It made little difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying twice at the Palarine and both times have exceeded expectations. My first visit was a solo journey to check out Andorra as a possible place to relocate my family. Graham and Maria went out of their way to make my week as enjoyable and informative as possible. Their hospitality makes The Palarine feel more like a 2nd home than a hotel.

The bar in the hotel served as a great place to meet other expats as well as a few locals. Also a great place to watch live football games etc. The Chinese food served at the Bamboo is the best in the country. I extended my trip by a few days as I was enjoying myself so much. Even at the end of my extended stay I couldn't believe little I'd spent. Truly great value. Stronger WIFI signals in the rooms is the only thing I would change but it works fine downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Living in Andorra as I do, I am a regular at the Palarine Hotel, not to stay obviously, but to use its restaurant so although this is coming in under a "hotel review", I hope readers won't mind if I just focus on the dining.

The hotel is run by an English / Chinese couple and is in a very popular skiing area of Andorra. In the summer the same area is quite beautiful being up in the mountains and well worth a visit.

But what I like particularly about this hotel is the Chinese buffet lunch dining experience on a Sunday. This usually takes place every other week, the alternate weeks being a typical Enlgish "Sunday lunch". The cuisine is authentic Chinese cooking and the Chinese chefs are in plain evidence for all to see. It is fair to say that the menu is not as extensive as you would find in a Chinese restaurant in the UK but then this is not à la carte but a lunchtime buffet and is still extensive enough withy old favourites like crispy duck, spare ribs, sweet and sour etc and usually a delicous chocolate or coconut dessert.

This all you can eat feast comes at just €16.50 and is one of the country's little gems.

Drinks of course are extra. We usually start with a pint of cold beer and then move on to one of their Spanish wines accompanied by water. It all just goes really well and the welcome given by the proprietor and his wife is always first class.

The Bambu restaurant is also open of course during the rest of the week when you can enjoy the more extensive à la carte menu.

I have been to visit the Palarine many times now over a period of years and the quality has remained consistently good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Second consecutive summer at the Palerine. We enjoyed a wonderful 8 days in a superb location with great food and nothing is too much trouble and very good value. Will definitely be going again. I would recommend the Palerine to any one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palarine

Address: Carretera General d'Arinsal, Erts AD 400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Erts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Erts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palarine Hotel Erts
Hotel Palarine Andorra/Erts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.