We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St Gothard Hotel

Save Saved
You added St Gothard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Gothard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera d'Arinsal s/n, Erts AD400, Andorra   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Erts
Faversham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

To say the hotel is four star is a total joke. It reminded us of a school skiing holiday hotel, cold, vast, no atmosphere, food was what can only be described as school dinners and not good ones at that! The rooms were a fair size but basic, but at least warm. The bus stop was across the road from the hotel which was good and frequent and only took a couple of minutes to the lifts. The walk to the village took about 10 minutes up hill and there was not much there when you finally did get there. No real shops to speak of, so non skiiers dont bother. A few bars most of which seemed okay. Would never go to that hotel again or recommend it! Thank god there was some snow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    97
    44
    20
    14
See reviews for
62
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

A group of 10 of us stayed here the first week of February and loved this hotel,

The reception is nice and spacious, staff are very friendly and rooms are nice and comfortable, we got a lovely view of the river and mountains great start to every morning waking up to that view, the food was very good with a huge choice for breakfast and dinner.

The hotel is in a quiet part of Arinsal and you need to walk up the hill or get the bus but that's the only thing I could find a negative, would definitely that here again

Try the Derby Irish pub, great Craic :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed at the St Gothard Hotel for 7 nights in March as part of a group of four.
Throughout the trip the staff were very approachable, friendly and cheerful. Whenever asked for help or advice, they were happy to assist (including when the meal ticket was lost, and a room card). Some of them even had a bit of a joke with the guests. Although, the female waitresses let the side down a little and could be grumpy.

The location was good and far enough from the bars not to get any noise issues from them or the drunks wondering home. Although described as others as an easy 5 minute walk to the gondola, its much fairer to say its a 15 minute walk up hill and wouldnt be a good idea to do this in the morning with all your ski/snowboard kit, unless you feel fit enough. It is however quite a pleasant manageble walk back at the end of the day. There is a free ski bus which picks up right outside of the hotel, and drives you the short journey to the gondalas. Although advertised as every 10-15 minutes, we found you could wait up to half hour after the first few days of the week, and seemed to consistantly get worse as the week went on.But its free.....so you're not loosing anything by waiting, especially with the lovely weather we had.

The bedroom- I thought the bedrooms were a fair size for just the two of us and had a balcony which looked over a stream and onto a mountain. It gave us a beautiful view, and was especially lovely with the sunny weather we experienced all week. The room was quite dated, but was always cleaned to a high standard and did the job considering we were only there in the evenings before another full day of boarding. Bedding and towels were changed daily by the maids, who always did a cracking job with the room.
Something to note about the rooms however were that the beds were pretty uncomfortable to sleep on, especially after nursing some already hurting muscles following a day on the slope. I thought I was just being picky, but it was commonly mentioned by other guests at the hotel throughout the week. Also, although stream was lovely outside our room, it was pretty loud in the room when trying to sleep at night, i would recommend if youre a light sleeper you take ear plugs.

The restaurant- The food throughout the week was great. There was always something to everyones fancy, even the more picky eaters of the group, and there was always plenty of it and at a decent temperature (not like other places i have been).
The breakfast consists of the usual cereal, croissants, pain au chocolat, cooked breakfast, fresh meats and fruit. Among the odd choices were cakes and muffins, but however odd they were lovely and worth a try.
Each night for dinner were a mixture of different choices of meat, pastas, soups etc. These never failed to satisfy our hungry bellies.
Amongst all the choices there was a pleasant suprise. Looking at previous reviews, people had made mention of no tea and coffee on offer in the restaurant and hotel room. Although true of the hotel room, the St Gothard has obviously been taking note of the previous comments and have now introduced free tea and a selection of coffees at breakfast. Very impressed. Only downfall was that this was not on offer other times of the day.

If you fancy a night out at one of the local restaurants its worth looking up Surf (right next to the gondola) or 360 which provided catalan cuisine. Surf was a BIG favourite, but not for the faint hearted and only for the meat lovers. (The portions are huge!)

During our stay everyone was offered some free Champagne on the friday. This was a nice touch and went down well. And on the saturday for breakfast there were Churros with chocolate dipping sauce.....a big plus for a couple of members of our group.

Within the hotel was a bar by reception. This was handy when you didnt feel up to going out but wanted a quick pint. They had a TV in there which played two of the biggest British football matches that week. This seemed to go down well for the guests. They also have two pool tables and a games room consisting of some arcade games like air hockey and pinball (some a little outdated but fun nonetheless).

In the reception area is free Wi-fi. Seemed to be a popular feature and you could often find guests at the hotel chilling in the area.

The hotel does offer ski storage in what i can only call a car parking area in the basement of the hotel. Although the staff tried to sell it as secure, it was easily accessible by anyone who entered the hotel, with no lock on the door or locker areas. Alot of the guests seemed to just take their kit up to their rooms and keep it on the balcony instead, and this didnt seem to cause any issues.

Overall it was a lovely place to stay for the week and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony, the others look out on the street. Also try not to get a room nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed from the 25th march for ine week while in a skiing trip.
The staff were brilliant, food was brilliant and the staff which cleaned the rooms done a top job.
I would definatly recommend this hotel and would definatly return

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

Really friendly hotel staff, who joked with the children at mealtimes. Rooms are large with good quality bathrooms - our family room had a separate bunk bed room for the kids: an added bonus. Food was a large buffet at breakfast and dinner: unspectacular but absolutely fine. Restaurants in the village are slightly more varied but if you want Haute Cuisine, Arinsal isn't for you!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Just returned from Arinsal on Sunday, can not think of one bad point. We didn't have the biggest room but your hardly in it, all that mattered to us was the plentiful hot water and clean room, the towels and sheets were changed daily. The whole hotel was kept very clean, the food both breakfast and evening meal were brilliant so much choice and all of it edible!! If you did'nt finish your wine of an evening they would mark it with your room number ready for the next night, having worked in a hotel that's very unusual! The ski shop was adjoined to the hotel which was very conveinent they were also quick and efficient. The Ski bus stops is right outside hotel, the walk upto the gondola could be a pain for some people especially if you had boots and skis but walking down is not so bad, especially if you have been apres skiing!!
You can hire something called the cage for 10 euros each which is what we did which wasn't too bad although not always organised very well by the neilson reps or there were lockers for 50 euros but talking to some people in families these lockers took at least 4 peoples stuff so for convenience of having a key and being able to come and go as you please could for some people be useful, we were sometimes finished skiing at 1 (it was 27 degrees and the slopes were suffering!) but we were forced to stay in the polar bar till the cage was opened at 3 LOL!!!!

Will definately go back hopefully next year, even though the slopes were suffering we still had a fantastic time, meeting some lovely people ( hi Sam and Justin hope we didnt disgrace ourselves too much on Thursday afternoon/ early evening lol)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here March 2012 with my partner and our 7 year old son, half-board, for a week while skiing. The hotel is 4-star and is as good as you would expect.

We had a tripple room which overlooked the river. The room was spacious with en-suite and balcony, however there was absolutely no drawer space in the room, other than 2 tiny bed-side drawers. This was surprising for a 4-star hotel. The suitcases took the space in the bottom of the wardrobe so our clother ended up scattered around the room. The hotel should address this as there was plenty of room for a chest of drawers. All rooms had AC.

The buffet restaurant food was very nice at both breakfeast & dinner each day with lots of staff attending the tables. There was a good variety on the menu each day and over the week. There was something for everyone, even the fussy eaters. The restaurant staff also policed the doorway as they don't allow food to be taken from the restaurant.

Reception was 24-hr and always friendly. They also had extra staff on duty at busy times such as check-in.

The hotel is approx 800m down a steep hill from Arinsal town. During the ski season there is a free bus which runs up & down the hill every 15-20 mins from 8.15am until 5.30pm (except between 1 & 3pm). The bus takes less than 5 mins. I'm not sure if this bus runs outside the ski season. If we walked up it took about 15 mins. Walking down was never a problem.

The majority of people staying here were Irish & English and there was a mixture of couples and families. This meant that there was always a good few people in the bar at night and people got to know each other. There was always music or other family entertainment. Soccer/rugby matches were also on the BBC tv channels. There is a games room and 2 pool tables.

Ski hire is from the hotel and they have a ski lock area in the basement carpark. We used the heated lockers at the top of the gondola at the ski area (3 person €54 for 6 days), so we only had to haul the gear up & down once. This made life very easy.

Arinsal is a nice little town with great pubs and restaurants, all very close to each other. There are several ski/sports shops, a couple of supermarkets and a pharmacy. Other shopping is quite limited but there is plenty of shopping in Andorra la Vella (30 mins from the hotel by bus).

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the river. The other side looks onto the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St Gothard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Gothard Hotel

Address: Carretera d'Arinsal s/n, Erts AD400, Andorra
Location: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Erts
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Erts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Gothard Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your St Gothard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gothard
St Gothard Erts
St Gothard Hotel Andorra/Erts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Gothard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.