We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really relaxing and tranquil place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge

Save Saved
You added Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4 km south of the entrance to San Gerardo de Dota, San Gerardo de Dota, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A really relaxing and tranquil place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

As noted in other reviews this is a lovely place to stay and the views from the rooms are so good you could easily spend all day there. The staff were friendly and the Quetzal tour and the Horse riding trips were very good and enjoyed by our 5 year old daughter. San Gerardo really is a lovely spot to unwind and assomeone who lives in Costa Rica I think I can say this hotela nd San Gerardo are hidden gems

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    39
    14
    7
    0
See reviews for
35
109
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed for three nights. It's a lovely spot with an interesting gallery showcasing local art and crafts. Like everyone else has noted, the views from the lodges are truly amazing. It does get cold at night, so be sure to wrap up and use the ethanol fires - a lovely touch. We did a number of hikes and generally took the opportunity to relax. The hosts were friendly and helpful, but did appear a bit haphazard at times. Nothing too serious, but small blips here and there made me think they were still finding their feet. Food was very good indeed with plenty of variety. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was not expecting great things from Dantica Lodge, after all I guess the name says it all - it's a lodge & therefore likely to be pretty basic - and I was not disappointed.

The design of these lodges is such that they are little better than pre-fabs & the air temperature variation in the cloud forest is such that, in my opinion, it requires more solidly constructed accommodation that can be properly heated & insulated to withstand the low night time temperatures. They do supply wall heaters to be fed with bottles of ethylene & hot water bottles for your bed but in this day & age, I expect a little more from mine hosts. I have been warmer in a tent! Add to that, somewhat outdated bathroom fittings, a bin for toilet paper & really thin towels in the bathroom & you could say that creature comfort came with a very small 'c'.

That said, the manager & his partner were exceptionally warm & welcoming & the food, although simple, was beautifully prepared, all made with locally sourced ingredients.

The majority of people coming here seem to be birdwatchers - the Resplendent Quetzal being the main attraction - & I can think of no other reason why you would want to trek up here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Dantica. The rooms are lovely. The floor to ceiling window gives the most incredible view across the cloud forest. Quite magical. We went on a couple of bird watching walks with Carlos. He was a hard-working and very knowledgeable guide. We saw some wonderful birds including unbelieveable views of quetzals. The restaurant set up is very attractive. We enjoyed the breakfasts but found the evening meals a little disappointing and overpriced. Miss Miriam's up the road offers wonderful traditional Costa Rican food, has amazing birds on the bird table and Miriam herself is a delight. Tim and Veronica who are managing the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms further away from the restaurant have a lovely atmosphere. The staff are very helpful car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This lodge was breathtaking. The trek down from the main road required a four wheel drive vehicle for sure. Once we arrived we were treated to amazing views, wonderful birds and fantastic hikes. We stayed in lodge #4, which was a 10-15 minute hike from the main building. Not bad during the day, but at night we city slickers were a little scared of the dark walk to dinner and back!
My husband and I took two hikes, down to the river and all along the property. The river is beautiful and while the hike was difficult, it wasn't impossible.
We had dinner in the dining room. It wasn't overly delicious, but it was good.
The rooms are great; small but just what is needed. Our whirlpool bathtub wasn't working but the bath was still nice.
It does get very cold at night so bring your socks!

Room Tip: Lodges 4-9 are a good distance away from the mail lodge and from the parking area so if you aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel has a super position on a steep slope, with excellent views across and down the valley, well visible through the floor to ceiling windows in the room. The staff are helpful in arranging excursions.

On the downside, the room was very noisy in wet weather, with not just the rain hitting the metal roof, but also debris from the trees nearby. It was also a fair walk along not very good paths, OK in fine weather and in the day, but not so good on a wet night. Also nearly all the food in the restaurant is pre prepared. It has a small number of tables and a large menu, and so it is not practical to offer freshly prepared food. Another thing is that the hotel is a bit expensive for what you get, compared to other places I stayed at in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Alright, if you have rolley bags...or any problems with mobility, the cabins 4 and higher are a bit of a trek. About 1/2 km. Of course, the Lodge does provide portering, but they won't carry you on their backs. At night, it's pretty dark, so bring a flashlight. But this is all worth it, for the stunning setting!!

The cabins are engineered to seem to hang on the side of the mountain. There are floor to ceiling windows provide amazing views of the cloud forest, from your bed, living room couch, bathtub, balcony. It is like living in "heaven". The decor is simple, modern and chic. Rooms have all the conveniences, including fridge (which was a little noisy), dining table & chairs, sofa, hammock chair for the balcony -- and a charming ethanol fireplace to keep the chill off. Extra blankets and hot water bottles also make for a comfortable night. Wifi available in suite.

The bathroom is fitted with a deep, jacuzzi tub. Everything was clean and sparkling.

The mountainside location affords a number of pleasant hiking trails around the property, but keeping in mind that you are on a mountain -- it's quite steep up and down. And sometimes slippery with the moisture.

The tours offered here are great! Carlos was an amazing guide. We were intending to go on the 6-hr Cerro de la Muerte hike; however, their vehicle broke down, so they were unable to do the shuttle. Instead. we went on the 3-hr stroll around the top of the mountain, and saw the Paramo environment. Lots of birds and unique vegetation. We also took the Quetzal tour early the next morning, which was excellent, allowing us to see several quetzals. This was more strenuous as it involved some steep, muddy climbing, but it was worth it!

The reception area is like a jewel -- with glass walls, and a beautiful art gallery shop. Connected to it is the equally fully-glassed in impressive dining room. The chef here is unbelievably good -- totally unexpected in this remote location. All staff here were very friendly, sociable, and welcoming.

This truly was a "high"light of our trip to Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge

Address: 4 km south of the entrance to San Gerardo de Dota, San Gerardo de Dota, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge is an eco-boutique hotel, which was built between 2003 and 2008. Our hotel provides the following facilities; sleeping, restaurant, gallery, trails, tours and relaxing, combining quality and comfort in order to allow you to experience and enjoy the cloud forest in its purest form.The hotel is situated in the valley of San Gerardo de Dota. Inside the Los Santos Forest Reserve, on top of a hill with a breathtaking view and a private reserve that consists of 5 km of walking trails, Dantica is the closest hotel to the newly created Los Quetzales National Park. Nearby you can also find typical restaurants, trails, trout fishing, protected areas, National Parks and the Cerro de la Muerte, with its 3480 meters the second highest point in Costa Rica and with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean and the volcanoes.The Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge consist of 8 Bungalows with a modern interior design and decorated with typical aspects of the Latin American culture, distributed in 7 Superior bungalows and one Suite, especially designed so you can enjoy contact with nature. All Bungalows have the following facilities: queen-sized beds with goose-feather duvets, Satellite television, ecological chimney working on ethanol, safe deposit box, minibar with fridge, coffee maker with coffee and tea as a courtesy of the hotel, table with chairs and a private terrace. In the bathroom you will find a Jacuzzi, towels, biodegradable soaps and shampoos, and a hair dryer.The 4-person Superior Bungalows have two bedrooms with private bathroom (one with Jacuzzi, one with shower), a terrace and a living room with a fully equipped open kitchen including stove and warm water.Our Deluxe Suite additionally has an additional fireplace working on wood and a private garden with trail in the forest. All our hot water is solar heated. The hotel distinguishes itself by its personalized attention, harmony with nature and respect for the environment. At the restaurant you can enjoy a breakfast, lunch or dinner a la carte. In our beautiful and large gallery you can buy art and handicrafts from Costa Rica and other Latin American countries.We have WIFI high speed internet service, and offer parking lots, playground for children, laundry service and tour packages with a certified bilingual guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge And Gallery Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica/San Gerardo De Dota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.