We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa to your Saves list
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2km South from La Lidia School, San Gerardo de Dota 482-7050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
226 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This beautiful hotel, nature reserve and spa is located off the PanAmerican Highway, in between San Jose and San Isidro. It is near the end of a steep gravel road leading down to the Savegre River valley, about 10 kms from the highway. The main building houses reception, dining area and bar. The rooms are in small cottages aligned above the main building. Our room was very large, with a queen-size bed and a single bed. There were two comfortable sitting chairs and a large work desk. The bathroom was really two rooms – the shower area being separate. The whole room was clean and well appointed. We had a nice deck area with a nice view of the mountains and forest. The flowerbed in front of our room was a major attraction for numerous hummingbirds. In fact the gardens of the hotel are really beautiful, colourful and well maintained. They attract numerous birds and insects to enjoy. The hotel has trails in the forest. We took one along a creek – it was beautiful.

Being quite isolated, the hotel included all meals in our package. The meals were buffet-style since the hotel was quite full. Breakfast was fine with many choices. Lunches and dinners though were monotonous – essentially the same food for two days. The food was fine but not great. Staff was for the most part friendly. Given how busy the hotel was staff members appeared tired and almost overwhelmed. Service was perfunctory but efficient.

We would certainly recommend this hotel for its beautiful gardens, well appointed cabins and beautifully landscaped grounds. On the way back to the highway we even had the opportunity to see the Resplendent Quetzal – a great sighting. The setting for this hotel is beautiful, peaceful and great for bird watching.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    119
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
75
186
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

You get to this lodge by travelling down 2000 ft into the valley down a quite steep narrow road. It is a group of individual accommodation lodges which have their own bathrooms and the gardens are lush and full of flowers. It is very isolated but even though they had a captive market the food supplied was really good and reasonably priced. It is a bird watching paradise and guides like Melvin Fernandez who helped write one of the popular bird books will take you around the area. This is where you will see Quetzel and too many others to mention. It is cool in the evening as you are in cloud forest and never got really hot in the day so no air conditioning is required.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Savegre Hotel is located in a deep valley cut by the Savegre River and is situated at an elevation of approximately 7200 feet. The quality of the rooms is variable, the best are the ones located adjacent to the lounge. They has great views of the gardens as well as fireplaces and bathrooms with sunken tubs. Very nicely appoointed and clean, but it can be a bit chilly first thing in the morning. All of the meals are buffet style and are some of the best that I had in Costa Rica. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a happy hour every afternoon from 4 to 6 and the lounge is extremely comfortable and has WiFi. They have several miles of trails with one of them leading up to an elevation of a little over 10,000 feet. The trails are relatively well-maintained and are beautiful. Birding is incredible both along the trails and in the gardens of the lodge. The Savegre River is a fast-flowing stream at this point and has plenty of trout in it. If you are into birds this is the high elevation place to be. You are almost assured of seeing Quetzals aloong with many other species.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is located deep in the valley, so prepare your car to go 800m down from the main road which is at elevation of 2900m. We spent 2 nights in Savegre which was pretty enough, because mornings and nights were cold indeed.

The food in the restaurant was plentiful and delicious. Room has nice wooden interior and big bathroom. Heater in the room was a great solution when feeling cold.

Most of the time we spent walking along the scenic trails. Trail to the waterfall was amazing and a bit of challenge. The grounds of the hotel are lovely, with lot of flowers and trees, avocado tree, and full of various birds singing their songs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Savegre hotel is is in a beautiful location in the mountains. The road down from the pan-american highway is steep and twisty. You can make it with an ordinary car but a four wheel drive is more appropriate. There are several trails in the area, some shorter and some more challenging. The area is very good for bird watching. We hired a guide through the hotel reception. He was very nice and knowledgeable and helped us to spot many birds including the quetzal.

There are not many places to eat in the area so we had all meals at the hotel. The breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets were all very good. We had a family room for four persons. It was basic but ok except for the bathroom, which was in great need of renovation.The beds were a bit too hard to our taste.

Mornings and evening were a bit chilly so bring an extra sweater. There was a small heater in the room that we could use to stay warm during the nights.

All in all a great experience at the Savgre Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Summary: great place if you like birdwatching, but others likely would be less impressed.

Last week we spent 3 nights here and came for its justifiable reputation for birdwatching. Though the total number of birds in the area is not very great, there is a high percentage of endemic species. The gardens are beautiful, and a highlight were the always-filled hummingbird feeders by the main office which regularly attract several species of hummingbirds.

The buffet meals were very good, though relatively expensive per Costa Rica standards at US $20 per person per meal.

We did a half-day (morning) birdwatching tour with a guide Marino who took us on La Quebrada Trail, a pretty dirt trail in the woods that in part goes by a small stream. There are also many small side trails. Marino is excellent at identifying the birds and very enthusiastic and makes a special effort to have us see each bird.

We later do the night tour and though we do find the Dusky Nightjar and Bare-Shanked Screech-Owl, we find this less rewarding. On a previous trip to Costa Rica we had done the night tour at Monteverde which revealed numerous types of wild life, whereas the night tour here is only for birds, and there aren't many that one can find in the night.

The staff were always courteous and very helpful. The area is very beautiful, with large hills nearby and a mountain stream going right by the hotel, but there's little to do in the area except for birdwatching.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been here three times over the last decade or so. It is amazing to see how it has grown and evolved. It is a great place for birders and nature lovers. It is quite remote, in keeping with its focus as a cloud-forest eco-destination, and a challenge to drive to. An 8 km drive takes about 35 minutes. The food is fine, served buffet-style. You can always find something to satisfy you, especially at the dessert table. If you are a novice birder, it is worthwhile to go with a guide (extra fee) so you can spot the many beautiful creatures that live in this special place. Recently they added a full-service spa, and a lovely lounge area, as well as a new terrace. The staff is terrific, warm and friendly and always looking to help you. However, some of the rooms really need to be updated, so check before you book.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
1.9 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 4 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel De Montana El Pelicano
Hotel De Montana El Pelicano
#1 of 1 in San Gerardo
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
24.2 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa

Address: 2km South from La Lidia School, San Gerardo de Dota 482-7050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighty-nine kilometers (55.3 miles) south of San Jose in a private natural reserve of 400 hectares and just 9 km. (5.5 miles) from Los Quetzales National Park, Hotel Savegre is the ideal starting point for exploring Costa Rica’s magnificent tropical cloud forest in all its beauty. Hotel Savegre’s services are the perfect complement for every nature lover seeking a memorable experience. We offer 41 rooms, bar and restaurant, day spa, conference room, laundry service, shuttle service, tours and related activities, as well as our beautiful gardens and impressive private reserve with its extensive network of trails. Our helpful and genuinely friendly staff are the hotel’s signature feature.The Chacon family, pioneers in the San Gerardo de Dota region have been operating the hotel since its inception and it has always been our utmost aim to provide top-quality service that goes hand in hand with the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve And Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Savegre Mountain Cartago
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa Costa Rica/San Gerardo De Dota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.