We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep Deprived” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bassingers Motor Lodge

Bassingers Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bassingers Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Bassingers Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   374 Oxford St, Levin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Levin B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sleep Deprived”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

After a lovely quiet night sleep across the road at Welcome Inn, I tried to cancel my booking when I realised how close this motel was next to the train line.I was not going to get my $125 back so relocated over the road for the night, and what a long one it was. I was given room 12 the first unit next to the road, so traffic and trains - which made the room shake, were a constant. Especially the road trains thundering through. I would NOT recommend this motel or any on that side of the road in Levin. Extremely overpriced and although well appointed and roomy not value for money.

Room Tip: Go to Welcome Inn opposite its up a long driveway and quitter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

. Needed good night sleep and after we paid for room ( $180) and with room literally next to railway line were advised that ONE train went thru during the night. When asked about what time motelier advised unsure as it varied. We had one at 2 am, 3.15am, 5.40am, plus others. Next morn when approached motelier advisedhe didn't know what trains went thru and some nights there were none. Not true. My enquiries indicate 2 freight trains EVERY night and the 5.40am on weekdays. We stayed Thurs 26 Sept. A very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Stay on other side of road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Location: Close to town center (10min walk). Located between main road and the railway line like most of other hotels in Levin.

Rooms: Very spacious rooms (above NZ average) with good sized TV, Kitchen with microwave but no hob. Soap instead of shower gel.

Motel: Seems to be recently renovated. Clean, tidy and welcoming. Friendly staff (only met Motel owner though) Cute and very friendly black and white cat let you pat it whenever you feel you have to.

Others: It adverts free WiFi internet. I got 100MB per day for free - thank you - it was appreciated.

Overall: Good value. I heared both - the road and the trains but not while I was sleeping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here on 2 occasions recently. The rooms are big, comfortable, and warm (it's winter). The hosts are friendly and accommodating. The hotel is on the main road (as are most of the other motels), is very easy to find, and close to everything in Levin. I did hear the train one night but Levin is on the rail line - I expected it. The wifi is free, the spa bath is a generous size there were hot plates, microwave, fridge, etc and next time I am in Levin I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask the manager for the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A nice motel, one of the cleanest I have stayed in for a very long time. A spa bath, TV in bedroom and lounge room. Warm and well appointed. Would recommend a stay here if needing accommodation in Levin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Very large and spotless room. The owner was fantastic, very friendly and a great help, ready to go the extra mile.

I had no issues with the road or train noise at all, and slept through the night.

Very comfortable room, and excellent value! I will definitely be staying here any time I am in Levin.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOP
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and have no complaints. The rooms are spacious and clean, the shower is great and you get extra milk. The free wifi is a total plus (and unexpected) and the parking is in a courtyard so really secure. There has been mention of train noise, and we did hear it this time (last time we were downstairs and didn't hear it). It is important to point out that nearly every motel in Levin is on the train track so I don't think it matters where you stay, you are still going to get a wee bit of noise.

Room Tip: downstairs blocks the noise a wee bit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bassingers Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassingers Motor Lodge

Address: 374 Oxford St, Levin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Levin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Levin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bassingers Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bassingers Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bassingers Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.