We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hostess is worth her weight in gold, wish we could hav. Stayed longer than one night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fantails Accomodation

Fantails Accomodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Levin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fantails Accomodation
Save
You added Fantails Accomodation to your Saves list
40 MacArthur Street, Levin 5510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Levin B&B and Inns
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The hostess is worth her weight in gold, wish we could hav. Stayed longer than one night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Booked to stay here with my sister an partner for a family gathering and we pleased with everything rooms were clean warm and cosy, as we checked into our room and started getting ready she must of heard the wine bottles clanging because she popped back with a plate of cheese and crackers and said I thought that you would like something to knibble on before you head out which was much appreciated and gave us fantastic fail safe directions as well.
When staying in levin will defenately book and stay again. She really is the hostess with the mostest!
Can't recommend this little b&b enough!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is an update to my previous review. I have done this as we spontaneously turned up on this B & B's doorstep , early evening on a Saturday on the off chance that Heather wouldnt be full. With baited breathe we announced our presence and were greeted like long lost friends. Luckily she had just had a cancellation due to illness. Phew we wouldnt have to drive on to Palmerston. There is no other accomodation in Levin that is so peaceful and not jarred by the trains so if you dont stay here you may as well keep driving. Our accomodation was up to its usual brilliance and brekky next day was magical. All food provided by Heather is organic where possible. We had Damson jam on our toast, stewd rhubarb for starters and bacon and eggs. yum. Thanks again Heather you were just what we needed.

Room Tip: If you have kids use the time agains cottage, romantics use tui or if you are a female on your own s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This was our third visit to this lovely B & B, in Levin. We have stayed in both Times Past Cottage and in the Main house upstairs. We would recommend the cottage for people with little kids as it is informal and separate so you have no worries about the littlies being noisy. Everything you need is there without being too precious to be touched etc. Heather is the most lovely hostess, really great with our teens and very understanding of my austic sons needs. The breakfasts were yummy and full of variety. This most recent trip saw us stay in the main house and once again the rooms were welcoming and comfortable. Heather provided us with scrumptious suppers in the evenings and awesome conversation. The grounds are a paradise and have lovely vistas and places to just sit and enjoy the birdlife.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

This was a beautiful place to stay. I too had Tui Cottage and Heather the proprietor was lovely and spoilt me with totally organic breaskfast each day. Didn't have the same thing twice the whole week. Although it was winter the cottage was cozy and warm and where else do you you have the owner running thru the rain to bring you homemade orange muffins straight out of the oven?The location is quiet, very important in Levin.The train line runs through the middle of town and most accomodation is their, making it very noisy.I would recommend Fantails to anyone wanting, good old fashioned hospitality and service.I have re-booked to go back twice more in the next 6 months.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire ,England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed in one of the Cottages( Tui Cottage) which was delightful ,very comfortable King bedroom and also a nice lounge area with single bed .
Food was amazing all Organic .
Location is not ideal if you do not like walking or no car, approx 15 mins to Town centre.
Gardens are beautiful with all types of flowers /trees /herbs etc ,take a tour with Heather which is approx 1 hour long to get all the way round the garden and trust me you wil learn lots of tips on gardening .
We could only spent 2 nights in this paradise called Fantails and wished we could have spent much longer with an excellent host and very friendly/helpful staff

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fantails Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantails Accomodation

Address: 40 MacArthur Street, Levin 5510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Levin
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Levin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantails means tranquility, native birdsong and established trees of NZ and England. Peace in this exquisite sanctuary. You can even pick your own fruit as you wander through 2 acres of outstanding, botanical gardens. If you’re looking for a retreat or sabbatical try our home baking and certified organic food! Ease the aches of the day away with a wonderful sauna or lavender massage bath with the sound of nature enveloping you. Ease back and watch SKY television before enjoying the comfort of a great nights sleep. Internet access available for browsing or checking your emails. Within approx a five kilometer radius enjoy the attractions of the Horowhenua such as golfing, bird trail, tramping, sightseeing and tourist attractions. Laundry also available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fantails Accomodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.