We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Impasse du Moulin, 67610 La Wantzenau, Strasbourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Wantzenau
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here only one night but a great quiet location away from the bustle of Strasbourg. Plenty of really good restaurants within a short drive and one just opposite which was very busy but we didn't try it. Rooms were a good size with tea making facilities. No air conditioning which would be a bonus. Would recommend if not wanting to stay right in Strasbourg.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel chosen for its location near to the motorway yet 20 mins drive from Strasbourg. The setting is lovely, in the countryside with the sound of the water mill and surrounded by fields, a garden and the river. The lift could accommodate one person only with baggage and the wifi was temperamental. (No help with bags). Two plastic white chairs in the room were repositioned so we could open the suitcases. We could also hear guests chatting in adjacent rooms, both late at night and early morning.
To our delight the Restaurant Au Moulin opposite was superb! The cuisine and wine list were extensive and exquisite, with first class service. (Note: it is open certain evenings only)

Worth staying one night for a quick sight-see to Strasbourg and certainly for the delicious meal - a real bonus!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which if possible is next to an empty one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We chose this hotel based on reviews, and loved our two nights there. Our room was large and modern with good beds and bathroom. The restaurant was closed, but the hotel let us know that in advance. One evening we drove into Strasbourg. The next day we took the Park and Ride option, which was easier and very pleasant. The station is close by, I think less than 3 miles. Cost was something like 3 euros in and back out of the city, for all occupants of the car--a real bargain and convenient besides. I don't know how it would work to stay here without a car. We did not try the breakfast, opting instead for a bakery in the village. The staff we encountered were very helpful and kind. The grounds are beautiful, with a stream and extensive gardens next to the restaurant. There is a cozy lobby and a pretty sitting area outside. We loved the place and hope to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a delightful hotel, quiet and "fleurie". We stayed twice (3 nights total) in September . Both rooms were large and airy with good facilities. Very friendly and helpful owner, slowish but free wifi and excellent breakfast. Its only 5 minutes to the park and ride car park (3.50 euro including a return ticket on the tram for each person in the car). The hotel is also only 5 minutes from the motorway giving excellent access to other historic towns in Alsace such as Colmar making it a natural regional touring base. The restaurant is family owned but run separately and only open Wed-Saturday and Sunday lunch.

Room Tip: No aircon but thick walls keep it cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Le moulin de la Wantzenau is in the middle of nature few miles from the village where there are excellent restaurants

Calm, rich Breakfast, very nice owners, well kept

Surely worth a visit on or from the way to Strasburg

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The environment and surroundings are very nice and pictoresque. And old water mill transformed into a small hotel. The room we had was small, but ok, and with a modernized bathroom. The staff is very helpful and kind and you feel good being there. You can get a glass of cold Alsace white wine infront of the hotel or in a small garden.
Breakfast if good - made up of homemade stuff, or ingredients found by local shops and growers, some bio dynamic. Absolutely delicious.
Car park in front, just at the dood. Convinient. Reasonably priced as well.
And in the same environment you will find one of the best restaurants in Wantzenau. It is recommended to dine there, it is excellent food.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. We had a room on 2nd floor facing the entrance area. The room was small - maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nicely decorated hotel in a convenient location just outside Strasbourg. Stylish rooms - the best ones are at the back looking away from the restaurant. Ours was a bit small, but the very pleasant lady on reception gave us a free upgrade. Very good breakfast. Easy to use park and rides are a few miles away - very cheap option for parking car and taking tram into city. Ignore my detailed ratings - no pool or fitness centre

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau

Address: 3 Impasse du Moulin, 67610 La Wantzenau, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > La Wantzenau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Wantzenau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the warm and friendly setting of this old mill offers you the chance to enjoy the tranquility of the alsacian countryside while nevertheless beeing close to the great economic, cultural and holiday centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Moulin De La Wantzenau France - Alsace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Moulin de la Wantzenau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;