We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's really something wrong with you if you don't enjoy The Cedars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cedars Guesthouse

The Cedars Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Irvinestown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cedars Guesthouse
Save
You added The Cedars Guesthouse to your Saves list
"Drummal", Castle Archdale, Irvinestown BT94 1PG, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Irvinestown B&B and Inns
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“There's really something wrong with you if you don't enjoy The Cedars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was my first experience of a Guesthouse and I have to say that after my stay, I feel I’ve been missing out on something special. The Maguire family should take pride in the time and effort they give to this venture. Whilst only there for two days, it became evident that Ryan, Kelly and the team put in long hours to make all their guests feel special and it shows. From the moment we walked through the doors to the time we (reluctantly) handed the keys in we felt as though we had been house-guests in a beautiful home, rather than merely paying customers. The rooms were spotless, understatedly opulent, the food was on our table in good time and piping hot (the place was full) and tasted delicious and we were never rushed to leave either the dining room or the bar. The prices do not reflect the quality or quantity of the food / drink and I was very surprised when I settled the bill. The location is idyllic and we were lucky enough to experience some good weather. It’s within walking distance of Castle Archdale with all sorts of water based activity available. I did read some of the other less impressive reviews and it goes to prove that old adage ‘you can’t please all of the people all of the time’. I do wonder how the owners hold back and maintain such a diplomatic response at times. I, for one, will certainly be recommending The Cedars to anyone heading that direction and will be going there again. Book it, you won’t be disappointed……

Room Tip: It is worth asking for an upgrade. If available they are something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedars301, Owner at The Cedars Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. It was great to meet you both. My brother and I are very proud of Cedars, and yes at times people put you down and you feel 'is it worth all this hard work', but then the postives do out weigh the negatives greatly. We feel that Cedars is our home and we are happy that you felt that sense of family and that it's not just another business. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I am just back from a midweek break and was not disappointed,it was my third stay in 3 years and would reccommend it to anyone.rooms are spotless,kelly and Marie are so friendly and helpful and the food is fantastic.The only downfall is the Fermanagh weather but they can't fix that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedars301, Owner at The Cedars Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. The weather unfortunately is a downside to Fermanagh, but when the sun does come out, it is one of the most beautiful places in the country. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed in the Cedars for a midweek 2 night break which included an evening meal. Our room on the ground floor was spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. Although these are meant to be the cheaper rooms, I coudn't fault it in any way. The bed was very comfortable with lovely plump pillows (2 extra pillows in the wardrobe) and the freshest, softest bed linen that I have encountered in a hotel for a long time. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant the night we arrived where we were meeting friends for a birthday celebration. The menu was varied and the food and the service excellent. We had a lovely evening and were not hurried away form our table or from the bar after our meal. Breakfast was also excellent, with fresh orange juice, choice of cereals and full cooked breakfast which my husband opted for and thouroughly enjoyed, although he did miss the potato bread. I opted for poached eggs and they were cooked to perfection. The ambience of the Cedars is lovely, a real country retreat with period charm and freindly welcoming staff, particularly Kelly, who couldn't have been more helpful. I cannot recommend this guesthouse highly enough and we will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedars301, Owner at The Cedars Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. It was a pleasure for us to meet you and your friends. We are very happy that you enjoyed both aspects of Cedars (your accommodation and food). We strive to keep a balance between the 2. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future and we will keep some potato bread in stock for your husbands breakfast next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent 4 nights at The Cedars and the six of us were treated very well during our stay. Its charming and nicely situated in Irvinestown, down the road from Castle Archdale and close to other scenic walks and drives around Lower Lough Erne. Quick drive to Enniskillen. The food was an extra pleasant surprise as we had no idea The Cedars has a top class dining room which locals rave about. We had two spectacular dinners while we were there and the Breakfasts were equally as delicious. Very reasonable. Kelly, Paul and all of the staff were so helpful and friendly. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedars301, Owner at The Cedars Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Cedars. It was great to meet you. We hope that the rest of your holiday was as good and maybe we will see you again in the furture on a return trip to N. Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just back from a wonderful overnight stay at The Cedars Guesthouse. The food on Saturday evening was first class plus. What a Menu! The presentation was excellent and the prices were fantastic value for money in such a great tourist area in Fermanagh.The bedrooms were very spacious and comfortable. My friend whom I was with is a long term friend of the Maguire family who originally lived in Templepatrick and Kelly treated us like royalty. Marie cooked us all a lovely breakfast on Sunday morning and was a real live wire! I fully recommend a stop over at The Cedars the next time you are visiting Fermanagh or even a visit for Sunday lunch where you will receive a very warm welcome and lovely surroundings.

Marjorie, Parkgate,Templepatrick

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 3 were on the first floor and very comfortable and spacious and I never heard any noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedars301, Owner at The Cedars Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your short visit to Cedars and it was great to catch up. Hopefully we will see you in the near future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great place to eat Sunday lunch its the best in the area

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed in The Cedars guesthouse for a short break. It's situated near Castle Archdale Country Park with its pleasant walks near Lower Lough Erne and its historic connections to WW2. We received a warm and friendly welcome from the staff. The food in the bistro was good and reasonably priced, especially on the "Early Bird" menu. In our bedroom one bed seemed rather tired, However the room was spacious and comfortable. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedars301, Owner at The Cedars Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for staying at Cedars and for your review. It is always good to hear that guests will return to us again.

The room you stayed in was one of our basic rooms that can be used as a double/twin/family. We have 2 other standards available and these are located on the first floor. From our standard deluxe rooms which have kingsize beds and overlook the gardens, to our best rooms, the deluxe suites. These are large rooms with bay windows and 4-poster beds. One of these rooms has a very large bathroom with a free standing roll-top iron bath. Maybe when you return in the furture you could try one of these other standards.

Once again thank you for your review and for staying at Cedars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cedars Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Guesthouse

Address: "Drummal", Castle Archdale, Irvinestown BT94 1PG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Irvinestown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Irvinestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Cedars Guesthouse Hotel Irvinestown
The Cedars Guesthouse Irvinestown, County Fermanagh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cedars Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.