We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahon's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mahon's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mahon's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10 Enniskillen Road, Irvinestown BT94 1GS, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Irvinestown
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed in Mahon's Hotel, Irvinestown just before Xmas 2013. The facilities were excellent and exceeded only by the friendliness & helpfulness of Joe and his staff! Nothing was too much hassle, the food was superb and my room was really comfortable. We will definitely be staying here again in the near future and would highly recommend a visit... also ideally located for shopping in Enniskillen and in close proximity to Lower Lough Erne!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    31
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
33
79
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Being from a big city, my expectations of country life are not massive. Especially when you hear that the yearly highlights involve sheep shearing and hole digging competitions.

But never the less, do not be put off by these wild claims! Many a great night is sure to be had!

On arrival to Mahons I was pleasantly surprised at the outside appearance, in keeping with what you would expect from a modern town hotel.

Inside is very warm an welcoming, impressive bar with lots of history and fascinating trinkets. Staff are extremely friendly with a large amount of Mahon family members working there which really adds to the family hotel feel.
The owner, Joe, is friendly and welcoming and clearly well liked by the whole community and won't hesitate to go out of his way to make sure your having a good time.

Room was very spacious, with the biggest bed I've ever slept in! Great nights sleep even if your suffering the ill effects from sampling too many of the local brews!

We went to the bar at night and they had a live band playing lots of good local music. Atmosphere is great and everyone had a brilliant time.

Food next day was a Sunday carvery, v. Reasonably priced and prompt service, not to mention delicious. Definitely get you in shape for the days adventure!

All in all a great place to stay if you want to sample Northern Irish country life at its best.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Joe and his team went above and beyond the call of duty during our stay. When we mentioned that we were in town to research family history Joe got on his personal phone and immediately started making calls on my behalf. He lined up a visit with a local historian for the next day an looked after us all night. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for both a great place to stay and wonderful people to share the time with.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our second trip to Mahon,s hotel this year. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly. The owner, Joe Mahon was always in evidence and made us very welcome. The room was very large and clean. We ate at the bar and the restaurant. The food was exceptional, in both quality and quantity. Well situated for sightseeing and great shopping. How they can provide the accommodation and food for what we paid, I don't know. Looking forward to our next visit in the near future. Found the people of Northern Ireland extremely friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Myself & my wife stayed in July over the 'Lady of the Lake' Festival. We had an excellent time. The facilities were lovely, our bedroom was very clean, and quite modern, especially for a country hotel.

We had a beautiful meal, we both had the Liver & Onions, which we were informed by a regular punter, the hotel are famous for, and we can see why! Very large portions, very tasty, & very inexpensive. We both also had Irish Coffee's which were made to perfection.

We were made very welcome, very friendly staff, from, the receptionists, to the chamber maids to the food and bar staff. You don't get this kind of service in the so called '5 Star Hotels'!!!

The entertainment in the bar was excellent & had great craic with the locals, and some Cocktail Bartenders who were on a Jolly for a few days.

We will certainly be back to this great hotel, its a Hidden Gem!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Myself and Hubby stayed here for 2 nights, The room was great, the food was excellent, but a disappointment to find when I got home they had overcharged my credit card,(exchange rate did not add up) Actually got no explanation for this. Maybe they don't like people from the South of Ireland!

Room Tip: Just watch your credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roosterIrvinestown, Owner at Mahon's Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
I am sorry to see that you thought we were overcharging you for your stay in our hotel, I can assure you that this is not the case, The rate of exchange is set by the credit card company Evalon that we use and not by us, The amount charged to you was the price you where quoted in sterling and when converted to Euro was the rate on the day that it was charged we have no control over that rate.
I was disappointed to see your comment that we do not want people from the South but we welcome everyone to our hotel from all around the world as you can see from all the other reviews including people from the south and they all enjoy our hospitality which we have been doing for the last 130 years
I see that you are in tourism business yourself so you should know that negative remarks like that are extremely damaging especially when there is no truth in them. I hope you enjoyed your visit to our hotel from talking to the staff they told me that you did, so maybe we will see you again you will be most welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had to go to Northern Ireland on business and wanted somewhere to stay near Enniskillen. Found Mahon's on TripAdvisor and booked through a comparison site. It was a great value stay and a very friendly place. The staff were delightful, friendly and talkative without being intrusive. Had a meal in the bar (along with a pint of Smythwicks, a brilliant Irish ale). Lovely breakfast in the morning, which kept me going all day. Good sized room, very clean.

All in all I had a two course dinner, bed and cooked breakfast for less than £60. Would still have been happy if it was £100! I will definitely be back, but I will take the family and stay a few days.

Room Tip: Ended up in a family room at the back overlooking the car park and slept like a log.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mahon's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahon's Hotel

Address: 2-10 Enniskillen Road, Irvinestown BT94 1GS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Irvinestown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Irvinestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahon's Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Mahon's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahons Hotel Irvinestown
Mahon's Hotel Irvinestown, County Fermanagh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahon's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.