We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mir Castle

Mir Castle
Krasnoarmeyskaya St., 2, Mir 231444 , Belarus
(+375 1596) 28-2-90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Mir
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
915 reviews 915 reviews
560 attraction reviews
Reviews in 269 cities Reviews in 269 cities
562 helpful votes 562 helpful votes
“Lovely castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Before we visited, we didn't know about the local history and all of the landlords, the owners of the castle. The visit is interesting and teaches you something new about the country's history. The exposition inside the castle can be walked through in an hour. There's also a hotel and a restaurant inside a castle, which I found intriguing. Next time, maybe...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    47
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“UNESCO Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a UNESCO World Heritage site app 1.5 hours south of Minsk. The castle has been restored, but it's got beautiful grounds and the castle itself is pretty. The basement has a restaurant that serves local cuisine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Imperssive restoration work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Only one castle in Belarus is so carefully restorated - so the best option what to see in country side, espessially in ome day trip from Minsk

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“One of the best thing to do in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I think there aren't a thousand things to do in Belarus, so don't miss the Mir Castle. It's a beautiful place. Our guides only spoke russian though. We booked a tour in Minsk that included the meal as there is a restaurant in the basement of the castle. Sadly I don't remember the name of the tour company.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Castle Mir - Day trip from Minsk Belarus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Wonderful Authentic old castle to explore. Must be able to manage climbing stairs in narrow corridors.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mir Castle also viewed

Nesvizh, Nesvizh District
 
Lahojsk District, Minsk Region
 

Been to Mir Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mir Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.