We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best thing to do in the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mir Castle

Mir Castle
Krasnoarmeyskaya St., 2, Mir 231444 , Belarus
(+375 1596) 28-2-90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Mir
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Montréal
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of the best thing to do in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I think there aren't a thousand things to do in Belarus, so don't miss the Mir Castle. It's a beautiful place. Our guides only spoke russian though. We booked a tour in Minsk that included the meal as there is a restaurant in the basement of the castle. Sadly I don't remember the name of the tour company.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    40
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Castle Mir - Day trip from Minsk Belarus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Wonderful Authentic old castle to explore. Must be able to manage climbing stairs in narrow corridors.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mir Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Were Mir Castle during the International Knightly tournaments (held there every year), we like very much, the child was delighted, was the impression that you are in the Middle Ages. Воок а hotel is difficult because they are only 2 and they are small.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very neat castle complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Enjoyed walking around the castle. Probably easiest to hire a car from Minsk and visit Mir and Viesnizh at the same time--- cost me about USD 220 for the day.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quaint Belorussian town, nice castle, service as usual!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Not too difficult to get to from Minsk. Try to organize a taxi for about $60 to $85 if you can. It will be most comfortable and reliable with least hassle.

The castle itself has good guided tours and is in good condition with knowledgable guides. Electronic guides are also available. In winter it is cold, very, very cold! Even some of the displays in the tower wer frozen over!

We stayed in the hotel which is actually situated inside the castle and quite modern. The restaurant downstairs is very good for where you are, in the middle of Belarus. You will find something you like on the menu with international wines and local unfiltered beer on tap. All at a reasonable price.

As noted in the title, the service isn't that great but if you made it this deep into Belarus you will be ok with it. The most annoying thing we found was that they turn the lift off at 6pm and with little kids and a room on the fourth floor it really begs the question... why?

I've put up a blog about our weekend there with many more details and photos. Check it out here.
http://www.cyberspeights.com/2012/03/weekend-in-a-quaintish-belorussian-town-with-a-nice-castle-service-as-usual/#.T1lJtcqomcY

I hope you make it to this attraction, it is well worth the effort!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mir Castle also viewed

Nesvizh, Nesvizh District
 
Nesvizh, Nesvizh District
 

Been to Mir Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mir Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.