We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very neat castle complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mir Castle

Mir Castle
Krasnoarmeyskaya St., 2, Mir 231444 , Belarus
(+375 1596) 28-2-90
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Mir
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very neat castle complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Enjoyed walking around the castle. Probably easiest to hire a car from Minsk and visit Mir and Viesnizh at the same time--- cost me about USD 220 for the day.

Visited March 2012
Thank gublerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quaint Belorussian town, nice castle, service as usual!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Not too difficult to get to from Minsk. Try to organize a taxi for about $60 to $85 if you can. It will be most comfortable and reliable with least hassle.

The castle itself has good guided tours and is in good condition with knowledgable guides. Electronic guides are also available. In winter it is cold, very, very cold! Even some of the displays in the tower wer frozen over!

We stayed in the hotel which is actually situated inside the castle and quite modern. The restaurant downstairs is very good for where you are, in the middle of Belarus. You will find something you like on the menu with international wines and local unfiltered beer on tap. All at a reasonable price.

As noted in the title, the service isn't that great but if you made it this deep into Belarus you will be ok with it. The most annoying thing we found was that they turn the lift off at 6pm and with little kids and a room on the fourth floor it really begs the question... why?

I've put up a blog about our weekend there with many more details and photos. Check it out here.

I hope you make it to this attraction, it is well worth the effort!

Visited February 2012
4 Thank PeterBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Great history. Nice balance between preservation and renovation. Neat village.

Thank jkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastogne, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant in Mir City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

In the city, there is restaurant near the Catholic church.
It's on it's left.

I advice you to go there, as it's very cheap and good typical cooking.
It's managed by local.

Don't go to the one near the market square. It's for tourist, nostalgic of soviet time.

1 Thank Manuskil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mir Castle is now opened!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

As I live in Belarus- I can visit a lot of different places here- but the most lovevy as, certainly, Mir Castle- not really far from Minsk. Now it is already renovated and opened to the tourist. Moreover, different excursions are arranged, even in English. The best time for visiting is spring and summer. The hill itself is lovely, and the view is wonderful.

1 Thank slavyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mir Castle also viewed

Nesvizh, Nesvizh District
Lahojsk District, Minsk Region

Been to Mir Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing