We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Margot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho Margot to your Saves list
Rancho Margot
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   3km beyond El Castillo | La Fortuna de San Carlos, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Andover, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our group on 10 lady friends had a fantastic experience (adventure) at Rancho Margot!! We stayed for two nights in the wonderful bungalows. Our experience started with an introductory tour to learn about the facilities and the botanical gardens, which were magnificent. The food was fantastic and so healthy. With it being the rainy season, I do have to say it did rain quite a bit, but it is wonderful to sit in the hammock on the porch and stay dry and watch it rain. There were a few bugs to contend with, but actually much less than I had expected. The yoga was amazing, horseback riding for $35.00 dollars. I would definitely recommend this place for someone looking for a different unique style lodging for a few days. The staff is so friendly and willing to help out with anything we needed, including umbrellas and flashlights!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Rancho Margot. It was such a pleasure to host you and your friends here at the Ranch during your visit to Costa Rica! For days our staff was talking about the amazing energy you brought with you and we sincerely hope to see each of you again in the future. PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    35
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
68
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at Rancho Margot for two weeks by myself….but wasn’t really by myself at all! Upon arrival it took only minutes to meet fascinating people and to be sucked into the Rancho Margot experience. I suppose if you wanted time alone you could find it, but there were just so many wonderful people on the staff and amongst the guests that it would be a shame to isolate oneself. I stayed in both the bunkhouse (met so many people there) and later in a bungalow (wow what a gorgeous space!) The employees and volunteers were all charming, helpful, accommodating, and knowledgeable on topics such as sustainable living, politics, adventure, travel….I truly enjoyed everyone I met. The owner, Juan has many fascinating ideas to share and I know he will continue to develop this community into something simply terrific. I HIGHLY recommend this ranch, particularly if you are traveling solo. I also took Spanish classes from Ivannia and had a blast. I also went horseback riding and hiking, caught rides into town, and spent an afternoon at a nearby hot spring. For the adventurous and eco conscious traveler, this is your spot!! I will return!

Room Tip: There are NO bad places to sleep on this entire property. You will love it all. If you want more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your visit to Rancho Margot! It's such a pleasure to hear from everyone who shares in this magical land, and we sincerely hope to see you again in the future! With Regards and ¡PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here during July 2013 with family (two adults, 4 teenagers). Food - as much as you can eat so great value with hungry teenagers. Lovely fresh salads, breakfasts were great too.

We stayed in the bungalows which had great views over the valley. Yes the ranch is a bit out of Monteverde but the children could roam around the grounds freely and they loved the swimming pool which was very warm because it was heated by the pizza oven! They had fun milking the cows in the morning as well.

We did acttivities in Monteverde and the trip to and from the ranch was not that bad, an extra 20 minutes or so but worth it. When our hiking shoes got very wet canyoning the staff were kind enough to dry our shoes out at the back of the pizza oven. So helpful and kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent visit to Rancho! We're thrilled to hear that you and your children had a pleasant stay with us and so look forward to keeping in touch! PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you go to Costa Rica, you HAVE to go to Rancho Margot. I can't think of a more perfect place. Every meal, all we could do was talk about how good the food was. There were tons of free activities to do around the area, lots of beautiful hikes, and you are very close to the best ziplining in all of Costa Rica. The hot pool was a relaxing spot, and the staff were so friendly. It was great to get to know some local people and see the amazing off-the-grid manner of living that Rancho Margot provides. It was worth EVERY penny!

Room Tip: Bunkhouses for only the very budget-conscious, otherwise it's worth splurging on a bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
It's such a pleasure to read your splendid review - thank you!! We'll be eating our next delicious meal here in honour of your recent visit and appreciation for Rancho Margot! PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I had the best time, relaxing, enjoying nature, admiring the espectacular escenary and the wonderful attention people at Rancho Margot were willing to offer. It is admirable the eco friendlyness of this place and how they produce and generate almost everything thet need from food to hot water.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are so happy to hear of the special time you had at Rancho Margot. Thank you for sharing! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We loved staying at Rancho Margot. not only was the food fabulous, yoga and our lovely cabin, but there was so much to learn about their efforts for organic farming, healthy food and living and sustainability. It inspired us and we would certainly love to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are so thankful for your recent visit and hope that much of what you learned at Rancho Margot you have taken back to your lives at home. Wish you all the very best, and a very PURA VIDA life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa de Cabal, Colombia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A primordal Tropical Rainforest for sure. Unfortunately, the dampness made all my clothing smell moldy. I washed my light cotton panties with their wonderful home-made soap, but the panties weren't dry after 4 days! My only complaint was the rainy-ness, but hey, what do you expect from a RAINY FOREST? Everything else was truly superb. My hats-off to Juan, what a perfect vacation for me and how marvelous an ecologically sound system he has developed there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive words! It was a pleasure to have you with us at Rancho Margot. Without a doubt, it's true that it can often get a little wet and damp here in the rainforest. That being said, we're always willing to do whatever it takes to make guests comfortable when their spirits get a little damp! Hoping to see you again in the near future. PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Margot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Margot

Address: 3km beyond El Castillo | La Fortuna de San Carlos, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Margot 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL RESERVATIONS AT RANCHO MARGOT INCLUDE DAILY BREAKFAST, LUNCH AND DINNER FROM OUR CHEMICAL-FREE GARDENS. ADDITIONALLY, 2-HOUR GUIDED RANCH TOUR AND TWICE DAILY YOGA CLASSES ARE INCLUDED WITH EVERY OVERNIGHT STAY.On the hills of Rancho Margot, you will find our 17 deluxe bungalows. The Caño Negro river whisper will guide you to the most peaceful rest possible, only to wake up the next day with the loud call of the howler monkeys. Hidden in our botanical gardens are bungalows, equipped to house couples or families of up to 4 people. Each bungalow has its own terrace on which you may enjoy the incredible view while relaxing on your hammock with a great book. Bungalows feature Orthopedic mattresses and are available with two queen beds or one queen bed and two singles. Additional amenities include mosquito netting, rocking chair, table & chairs, and handmade soaps. Each bungalow is equipped with a private bathroom with shower.Our vision is to protect our sustainable rainforest facility but also to make it an educational playground for adults and children alike, where we can inspire a new generation of global citizens to continue ‘closing the circle.’Rancho Margot is a family enterprise where everyone is welcome. We’re living our dream, and we invite you to join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rancho Margot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Margot Hotel Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Margot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.