We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Margot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rancho Margot to your Saves list
Rancho Margot
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   3km beyond El Castillo | La Fortuna de San Carlos, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We loved staying at Rancho Margot. not only was the food fabulous, yoga and our lovely cabin, but there was so much to learn about their efforts for organic farming, healthy food and living and sustainability. It inspired us and we would certainly love to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are so thankful for your recent visit and hope that much of what you learned at Rancho Margot you have taken back to your lives at home. Wish you all the very best, and a very PURA VIDA life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    38
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
54
77
23
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa de Cabal, Colombia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A primordal Tropical Rainforest for sure. Unfortunately, the dampness made all my clothing smell moldy. I washed my light cotton panties with their wonderful home-made soap, but the panties weren't dry after 4 days! My only complaint was the rainy-ness, but hey, what do you expect from a RAINY FOREST? Everything else was truly superb. My hats-off to Juan, what a perfect vacation for me and how marvelous an ecologically sound system he has developed there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive words! It was a pleasure to have you with us at Rancho Margot. Without a doubt, it's true that it can often get a little wet and damp here in the rainforest. That being said, we're always willing to do whatever it takes to make guests comfortable when their spirits get a little damp! Hoping to see you again in the near future. PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Truly wonderful experience. My girlfriend and I were on a budget in Costa Rica, but ended up splurging at Rancho Margot, and we are glad we did. The bungalows are top notch (hidden by nature and with hot water). The property is beautiful and we enjoyed seeing sustainability in action. If you are into yoga you will probably enjoy the facilities (not our thing). The only downside was that it wasn't a very busy time and the bar closed a bit early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We're so happy that you made the choice to splurge and visit us! Next time we'll promise to organize a salsa night in your honour and keep the bar open extra late! PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stopped in Rancho Margot for a quick lunch, not realizing what an adventure it would be to make it there. We almost turned around on the rocky, windy road a few times. I am grateful we did not!

We also went for a phenomenal horse back ride, had amazing food, fabulous margaritas, and had an adventure all over the massive property and adjoining "Children's Forest". I highly recommend staying here when traveling alone or as a couple, AND definitely stopping by for some fabulous conservation, fun, views, and adventure!! Alejandro was an amazing guide for our ride!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks, Melissa! We're so glad that you didn't turn around - and even more happy to tell you that the road to us received a complete overhaul recently and it is now so much easier to get to us! We agree - Alejandro is an amazing tour guide and we're so glad you had a great ride! PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Spending time at rancho margot is like spending time in heaven. The property is stunning and welcoming. I loved the tour of the property. Getting to see how an organic, chemical free, off the grid ranch can work like a well oiled machine. Without all the emfs, power lines, smart meters, etc...i slept like a baby..awakening to beautiful nature sounds. The warm spring is so healing. The yoga is top notch (and i am a certified yoga teacher). My bed was comfy. And every single staff person went out of their way to be helpful. Oh and how could i forget th food!... It was wonderful..so pure. And that includes the best pizza ever and wonder fresh fruit drinks daily. I can truly say that spending time at rancho margot has changed my life. <3 i will surely return to Rancho Margot.

Room Tip: I was traveling alone and booked the bunkhouse. All rooms are equally good and they were kind enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
That's a tagline we might have to borrow, Eva! :)
Thank you for your kind words and for your visit to Rancho Margot. We're so glad to read that you enjoyed our yoga program while you were here as well as our pizzas! Definitely hoping to see you again in the future. PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We returned to Rancho Margot with our whole family after a visit the summer before. Our interest in the grand experiment that Juan and Liz are undertaking continues to grow. Many talk about sustainability, but these folks are researching it and doing it every day. And they have so much to teach all of us as we relax amid the tropical beauty of Costa Rican land conservation areas! And, of course, the sheer fun of the various activities is not to be ignored. We will most certainly return again and again and again.......
Some of our family members were not accustomed to the absence of technology and constant media input. They finally relaxed and came to enjoy the fun of watching a particularly large lizard that was an amazing color make its way through the bushes 5 feet from the table where we were eating breakfast. And, more routine, were the multicolored hummingbirds buzzing the flowers on the bushes while you eat. And then there is the honeybee hive that is natural geometry at its best. And on and on and on..... the large colorful birds we saw on the Forest Trail hike, the toucan that we "scared up" when we got off the trail going cross country along the river. The many local Ticans that work at the ranch are all very interesting and fun to talk to and you get the definitely get the feeling that they feel that way about you, too. I highly recommend that everyone interested in the survival of humanity as we know it go check out the Ranch and the lifestyle it is developing. Sustainability with comfortable and somewhat luxurious shelter and plenty of hot water, too!!! In addition, you know that what you are supporting is an effort to save even more of this beautiful land from irresponsible development.

Room Tip: Each of the bungalows is unique and excellent. While the insides are the same, each porch has a dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your incredibly thorough and thoughtful review! We are so honoured to host and share this experience with such incredible people. The impression that you make here is everlasting, and we so look forward to seeing you and your family again. PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My daughter and I recently had the great fortune to be able to visit this most amazing place. It was a much needed retreat for both of us, and it turned out to be the most wonderful experience in both of our lives. We had read all the info we could find on Rancho Margot, watched Juan's CNN piece with Sanjay Gupta, and thought we were prepared for an adventure. Little did we know that visiting here would be such an intimate encounter. Meeting Juan and Liz, hearing their stories, seeing their accomplishments, was such an honor for us to share. This is truly a magnificent creation to be shared and enjoyed by all. It seems so strange that such a short stay here would have such in impact on my life. I felt as if this should be my home and I miss it everyday!! From the sheer beauty of the surroundings, to the accomodations, the amazing food, the incredibly peaceful ambiance, to the most friendly, likable, intelligent people on earth, I would highly recommend a visit to Rancho Margot to everyone that wants to survive in our future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis D, Manager at Rancho Margot, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
THANK YOU so much for this incredible response to your stay at Rancho Margot. It is people like you and your daughter who make this possible - while you write of the impact we had upon you during your stay, please know how much your enthusiasm, energy and awareness impact us and drive us to keep doing what we do. And sincerely - we so look forward to seeing you both again in the future! PURA VIDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Margot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Margot

Address: 3km beyond El Castillo | La Fortuna de San Carlos, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Margot 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL RESERVATIONS AT RANCHO MARGOT INCLUDE DAILY BREAKFAST, LUNCH AND DINNER FROM OUR CHEMICAL-FREE GARDENS. ADDITIONALLY, 2-HOUR GUIDED RANCH TOUR AND TWICE DAILY YOGA CLASSES ARE INCLUDED WITH EVERY OVERNIGHT STAY.On the hills of Rancho Margot, you will find our 17 deluxe bungalows. The Caño Negro river whisper will guide you to the most peaceful rest possible, only to wake up the next day with the loud call of the howler monkeys. Hidden in our botanical gardens are bungalows, equipped to house couples or families of up to 4 people. Each bungalow has its own terrace on which you may enjoy the incredible view while relaxing on your hammock with a great book. Bungalows feature Orthopedic mattresses and are available with two queen beds or one queen bed and two singles. Additional amenities include mosquito netting, rocking chair, table & chairs, and handmade soaps. Each bungalow is equipped with a private bathroom with shower.Our vision is to protect our sustainable rainforest facility but also to make it an educational playground for adults and children alike, where we can inspire a new generation of global citizens to continue ‘closing the circle.’Rancho Margot is a family enterprise where everyone is welcome. We’re living our dream, and we invite you to join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rancho Margot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Margot Hotel Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Margot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.