We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views would have been spectacular without monsoon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linda Vista Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Linda Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Linda Vista Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arenal Volcano National Park, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Views would have been spectacular without monsoon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Horrible rain and wind during our stay, but can't fault the accommodations. Staff was helpful in directing us to the EcoZoo which was amazing. Room was as advertised, A/C kept it cool. You absolutely need 4-wheel drive to get there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    196
    47
    26
    7
See reviews for
101
227
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at the Linda vista with my wife and 9 year-old daughter, and we loved it. We all enjoyed the infinity pool, from which we could enjoy views of both Arenal volcano and Lake Arenal. Really, there were excellent views from just about anywhere on the grounds, especially from the large balcony of our room. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the whole place had a very relaxed feel to it.

While the restaurant was perhaps just ok, overall, of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica, this is the one I would return to above the others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We loved this hotel. The staff was great and the views are spectacular. We mostly just hung out at the hotel, watched the birds (amazing!) and saw the world transforming around us as the weather changed. The rooms are little rustic but very clean. The hotel is very close to the entrance of the National park and a short walk to the Eco Zoo (awesome!) and the Butterfly garden which we heard was great but didn't have time to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We booked online. We were in room 4.

The room:
Cable with lots of channels. Double bed and twin bed. Ceiling fan with no air condition. Bathroom had hot water. Closet with hangers and a safe large enough for a laptop that doesn't cost any extra to use. Room fours window had a direct view of Arenal Volcano.

Dining:
Breakfast was okay. Cereal, toast, fruit with optional eggs, ham, gallo pinto.

The grounds:
Quite pretty, the pool was nice and had a great view of the lake.

Getting there:
The turn off for the hotel is about 10-15 minutes past the town of La Fortuna and once you turn on the dirt road, it is another 15 to 30 minutes. depending on how fast you drive. It is a bumpy, dirt road.

Room Tip: Drive in during the day. 4x4 isn't required but is nice. The driveway up is a little steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was my 2nd stay at Linda Vista. It is well worth the 20 - 30 minute drive from La Fortuna. Had been looking forward to returning since my 1st visit in 2010. The view from the observation deck of the volcano and lake is incredible. This is the south facing side of the volcano which provides the best view when the volcano is active. The restaurant had excellent meals and drinks. I had some fantastic seafood and pasta. The "Tipico" Breakfast was also very good. Lots of fresh fruit,juices and excellent coffee to help kick off each day. Great staff, very friendly and informative. Special thanks to "Anna'" at the front desk as well as the rest of the staff. Looking forward to returning to this incredible gem perched up on the hill. Thanks again. John

Room Tip: I had room #10 which had 3 beds. So I had plenty of room to spread my stuff out on. The covered terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the 4th time. It's a great place. The view is unbeatable, the food is great and the people are awesome and very friendly. The road to get there is a little bumpy and not paved but it is worth the trip. We'll be back and would recommend it.

If it's cloudy it's tough to see the whole volcano. Nothing you can do about it. You're literally on a mountain so the views of everything else are great. It's worth it, enjoy.

Room Tip: Junior suite is plenty for couples. All of the rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel has one of the best views of both the lake and volcano in the area. Our room opened out to the view of the lake and volcano and it was spectacular to wake up each morning. The open air hot tub was also great for relaxation. All the staff were very courteous and helpful. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone.

The primary negative of this place is the road you need to take to get there. It's about 8km long, unpaved and VERY bumpy. It will be best to have an SUV or 4-wheel drive. At night the road is a bit intimidating so you have to take it slowly and carefully. The only other con I would say is the food... It was not bad, but just not that great... Meh!

Overall, this is a great place, beautiful ambience, spectacular views and decently priced. Well recommend others.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
6.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#13 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
6.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heliconias
Hotel Heliconias
#8 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linda Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linda Vista Hotel

Address: Arenal Volcano National Park, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linda Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda Vista Hotel is located at El Castillo, just 22 km from La Fortuna downtown. A perfect choice for hikes in the Arenal Volcano National Park or activities on Lake Arenal. There is, however, a nice range of amenities located at the hotel for those that would rather stay put. Guests will enjoy lounging within the hotel's unique three-tiered swimming pool, which affords spectacular views of the volcano, and relaxing jacuzzi. The Loma Linda Restaurant serves up a nice variety of international and national meals, including a large free breakfast every morning. Guests in need of libations can visit the bar, which is stocked with beers, wines, juices, liquors and more. The rooms at Linda Vista are clean and spacious. Tile floors extend to private terraces, where guests can sit and enjoy astounding views of the Arenal Volcano. All rooms are equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, a/c, and coffee maker. Wireless internet helps guests to stay connected to friends and family at home, while an in-room safe ensures that valuables remain secure. The Badilla's would love to share the secrets and beauty of this area with you and your friends or family! General Information Hotel Facilities & Services: Safe deposit box Mini bar Wet bar Swimming pool (for adults & kids) Jacuzzi Restaurant Bar Free WiFi Laundry Service - We accept all Credit Cards Accommodations: All rooms come equipped with a private hot water bathroom, ceiling fan, terrace, coffee maker, safe deposit box, and wireless internet. Standard Room - these rooms have one double and one single bed. They do not have a volcano view and can sleep up to three people. Junior Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini bar, hairdryer, satellite TV, and a private parking lot. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Master Suites - these suites have two queen size beds, air conditioning, mini fridge, hairdryer, private terrace, coffee maker, satellite TV, bathrobes, and an iron. They have a volcano view and can sleep up to four people. Honeymoon Suite - this suite has one queen size bed, air conditioning, mini fridge, bathtub, hairdryer, coffee maker, private terrace, satellite TV, PC station, and a private parking lot. It has a volcano view and can sleep up to two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Linda Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linda Vista Del Norte Hotel
Hotel Linda Vista Del Norte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linda Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.