We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Vista Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Vista Lodge to your Saves list
Arenal Vista Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   25 km west from La Fortuna, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 5717, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The views of the Arenal volcano are just spectacular from this hotel. Also, in the morning you can hear the howler monkeys if you're not a heavy sleeper. Rooms at this hotel are nothing special, but it was clean. The bathroom is on the smaller side, but manageable. As with other hotels, only the basic soap was included (no shampoo or hairdryer). Our room had a fan to keep air circulating, which was nice. The hotel also had a small pool area, but it wasn't anything exciting. There are some paths on the hotel property that you can take into the forest, so that was nice. As others have mentioned, this property is remote and could be difficult to get to unless you rented a car. Also, there isn't any shopping or restaurants nearby, so you are entirely dependent upon the food they have at the hotel. The food at the hotel was decent enough, but nothing special. They had plenty of fruit and there was also enough food for us to eat well. The parking lot was a bit of a hike from the reception area, but you could drop someone off (with health issues) at reception and then park the car below. I was in a room further from the office and didn't have any WiFi access there. The WiFi signal was definitely the best right near the reception area. Also, this hotel did not have a telephone in the room (in case that's important to you). Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and the staff was pleasant so I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out at the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    14
    14
    8
See reviews for
18
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The view of the Arenal Volcano is breathtaking! However, if you're spending anytime in your hotel room, it's less than desirable. The rooms were dirty, the lock on the door was just a chain, and there are areas all around that are in need of repair (paint, chipped concrete, etc) The food was good!

Room Tip: Ask for the Volcano view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This sweet hotel is two steps below basic, but the staff is so nice, tries so hard to be helpful, is always cheerful, and the chef managed to make me delicious gluten free dairy free meals. We went into the rainforest behind the hotel and were all alone in this magical world where no one was within hearing distance. We didn't see any wildlife, but it was an amazing experience to wander in a rain forest. It poured while we were there and we were dry under the forest canopy. This hotel is not near anything, and the Interbus doesn't serve it. You have to go instead to the Arenal Observatory Lodge (nice views, good lunch, nice desk person who was very helpful getting us to Arenal Vista from Arenal Observatory) and take a cab from there ($25 or so) up a very, very bumpy road. Amazingly, we still enjoyed our stay there despite the fact that the sheets refused to stay on the mattress, and the amenities consisted of a bar of soap and two plastic cups!

Room Tip: All the rooms have good views, but if wifi matters to you we had good luck with it in room 34.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We checked in late (Around 11p.m.) and the man at the desk was more than helpful getting us to our room.

ROOMS: The Rooms were not anything fancy. However, they offered a nice view of the volcano. Overall the room was clean and spacious. We had towel animals on our bed.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast both mornings we were there was amazing. Their eggs, rice, beans, pineapple and other fruit was all delicious

Random things:
If you want a place close to La Fortuna, anything in the national park is probably not the best choice. From the parking lot to the paved road heading in to La Fortuna was 25 minutes alone. So, be prepared to do some driving if you are wanting to run into town to eat.

You park down a semi-steep hill from where the rooms are, so if you have any health issues, that might be difficult if you do not have anyone who can drive you to the top and then go park the car.

Wifi worked in our rooms, although we were in the rooms closer to the office building, so the others might not get it.

There was 1 fan in the room and with the windows opened, the room was plenty cool at night.

Overall, we stayed at this hotel for $50.00 (We had a groupon for half off the regular 100.00 price)

For 50.00 I would stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the office if you want wifi in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very simple hotel, oldie decoration and rooms very basic, no TV, no AC, but THAT VIEW!! you can see all the Lake and the Volcano in front of you from all the rooms and from the restaurant. The best place to birding, excellent trails on the property.
Is far from town, is nothing there, you need a 4x4 car or drive carefully, but very close to the National Park and the lake. Food is regular, towels are the worst, pool is small and old and furniture are old as my grandma! Service are very gentle.

Room Tip: Ask rooms from 30 t0 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Pro:
They leave awesome extras that make you feel special, like folded towels.
The room was clean
The staff was friendly
The food is Awesome!
The pool and hot tub are absolutely amazing.
The shuttle driver from San jose to Arenal was really nice and stopped along the way anywhere we wanted.

Cons:
They do not offer a free shuttle to the La fortuna area so unless you have your own car, you almost have to do a tour becuase paying for a taxi to each place is extremely expensive. (Although this was expected, I thought the staff would be more helpful in giving an honest opinion of the best things to do in the area instead of simply pushing there tours) However, we did the canyoneering tour with desafio (the one offered through the hotel) and loved it! and they helped us set up a taxi so that we could go Zip lining. We also went to the PAradise hot springs which I felt to be slighlty dissapointing. I loved the hotel but for me specifically, I was looking for more of a personalized experience where you get to meet more people and learn more about the country in the place you are sleeping.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view room if they have it available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Gorgeous sunrise views of the volcano and its adjoining lake while birds and bugs flourish in the sunshine. Clean rooms with balconies, good water pressure, big closet. It's not elegant, but the surroundings sure are! Meals are delicious, especially if you get a spot on the deck to look at the volcano. The staff members were friendly, efficient, smiling- there were tears after our last photos together!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Vista Lodge

Address: 25 km west from La Fortuna, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 5717, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in El Castillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Vista Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the northwestern region of Costa Rica, 30 minutes away from La Fortuna, in the BiologicalCorridor between Monteverde Reserve and Arenal National Park, our lodge rests marvelously in one of the surrounding hills of the Arenal Lake, enjoying a unique view of the Lake and the Volcano. Coming to our lodge, you will be surrounded by a dense tropical forest, where more than 300 species of birds can be seen, as well as 100 species of mammals and 2500 species of plants and orchids. The Hotel Arenal Vista Lodge was conceived from a prevailing necessity derived from the deficiency of facilities in the Arenal area. We felt the need for a place that took advantage of the natural beauties the area, while offering the national and international tourists the commodities they require in the Biological Corridor between Arenal Volcano National Park and Monteverde Cloud Forest FEATURES: • 25 comfortable rooms, each lodged up to four guests. • Every room includes a private hot water bathroom, walk-in closet and a balcony with spectacular view of the volcano and lake area. • Facilities equipped to care for disabled people. • Restaurant and salad bar with costarrican and international recipes. • Swimming pool, wet-bar, souvenir shop and a meeting room, natural forest trails. Internet facilities. Parking area with 24-hour security • Restaurant, which fits 90 guests, Bar and Souvenir shop • Conference room for 30 people and swimming pool with wet bar • Optional tours: hot springs, canopy, horseback riding, boat rides, transfers to Monteverde. We offer laundry service as well. Special offers for honeymooners, students, families and cycling groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Vista Hotel Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Vista Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.